Lady Be Good

Lady Be Good

by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 1 week

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lady Be Good 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 112 reviews.
Romance_rookie More than 1 year ago
Lady Be Good is loosely related to Fancy Pants, another book by the illustrious Susan Elizabeth Phillips, AKA SEP. Kenny Traveler is a professional golfer who has been suspended from playing in tournaments for bad behavior. He is determined to clean up his act and lay low for a while to get back in the good graces of the golf commissioner. He has been asked to chauffeur Lady Emma Wells-Finch around Texas as she does research for a paper. She is the head mistress of a private institution for young ladies in England. She has never been attached to any scandal and is looking to ruin her reputation. Her motivations are complicated. Put Emma and Kenny together and they are fire and ice. God, I love SEP! Her books entertain me endlessly. Right off the bat, Kenny and Emma both mistake the other. Emma thinks Kenny is just a hot body with no brains and Kenny is struck by Emma's beauty but once she opens her mouth her bossy demeanor has got to go! Kenny loves toying with Emma's serious, straight-laced personality and shaking up her world. Boy does he ever! But don't let Emma fool you, she shakes up Kenny's world and surprises him at every turn. He thinks she is going to react one way, but she never fails to turn the tables. I really enjoyed this story. Kenny and Emma's characters are great. Kenny is a super, spoiled rich kid with whom nobody has ever really gotten to know. Emma is practically an orphan who has never had a family to call her own. These two manage to find and balance each other out. Emma is the first person to really see Kenny. I love that the major focus of this book is these two characters and their relationship is front and center. Susan Elizabeth Phillips is a master story teller and this is a wonderful read. Fortunately, for those of you who haven't ever had the pleasure of reading her can start with this one. Even though it is loosely connected to Fancy Pants you don't have to have read that one to enjoy Lady Be Good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of S Phillips' books & can't say this was one of her best ones. The characters were funny,but,the story was way drawn out,unlike her other fast paced books. Still a good read though
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it.I love love LOVE it! And that is all I can say. Susan E. Philips is an amazing writer who can make you addictive to any of her books. I love this book and espeacilly the characters. You're in for a good tale , if you decide yo read Laby Be Good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As many times as I've read this story, I enjoy it just as much as though it were the first.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
On of my favorite books by her. I've read it numerous times. Even though you don't have to I recommend reading Fancy Pants first. Fancy Pants is not as good but there are reoccurring characters. Lady Be Good is funny and you can't help but loving the main characters.
BookChick79 More than 1 year ago
I found the beginning of the story a little dry, and equally found the story line at times unbelievable. However, by the end of the novel, I was excited to see what happened and it turned into a real page-turner for me. I loved the two main characters and all the supporting characters had such life and interest that it only enhanced the book more. The twists and turns, were at times unbelievable but it kept the book interesting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Have read many of SEP books - all are really good - this one had me laughing out loud several times... loved the characters. I really enjoy when characters from other books come back to visit.
Amy_Atwell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kenny Traveler, currently suspended golf pro, is offered a chance to redeem himself if he behaves himself while playing tour guide to a visiting Brit scholar. Lady Emma Wells-Finch arrives in Texas for her working holiday hoping to immerse herself in a scandal large enough to break her engagement to a wealthy Duke who¿s blackmailing her with her job.Kenny thinks Emma is bossy, too controlling, too much like his mom. Emma thinks Kenny is lazy but soon realizes he¿s smart, reliable, and really very seductive. It occurs to her that an affair with Kenny is just what she needs. It occurs to Kenny that an affair with her will land him in even more hot water. Great Texas locales, great secondary characters, Phillips keeps us right there with Kenny and Emma and shows us straightforward character growth. Sparkling dialogue and a couple GREAT twists to the plot--oh, and her sex scenes are really well written, clever, unique, and heart-wringing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You can't go wrong with Susan Elizabeth Phillips! You really can't go wrong. All of her books are fun, funny and engaging. (I've read them all multiple times.) This one is one of my favorites though. It's pacing is wonderful. The characters are 3 dimensional- all of them not just the leading man and lady. Both Kenny and Lady Emma are "fish out of water" in their own ways and their road to finding where they each belong is well worth the journey.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great read from a master writer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But it was so embarrassing in the beginning. You really felt bad for Emma for the way he acted towar her. Funny but also fairly mean... imo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago