A Kiss to Remember

A Kiss to Remember

by Teresa Medeiros

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Kiss to Remember 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 76 reviews.
Acanoffleas More than 1 year ago
Redonk Nutshell: Mistaken identity, amnesia, and desperation collide between a Duke and a gentlewoman hoping to cling to her childhood estate I love Teresa Medeiros, so it hurts me to admit that I had a hell of a time getting into this book. It dragged a bit for me to the point where I actually put it down and came back to it weeks later. The good news is I'm glad I came back to it because I ended up really enjoying it. Basically, we start out with a young boy, Sterling Harlowe, who is more or less "sold" to a rich relative so the relative can pass down his Dukedom to a male heir. Fast forward, and our little boy has grown into a dark and notorious libertine. When the estate his estranged mother becomes entangled in a bizarre claim by its tenant, Sterling takes it upon himself to make the trek to the house himself to, more or less, toss it's inhabitants out on their arse. What he doesn't count on, however, is being attacked by a tree limb and knocked unconscious. When Laura Fairleigh comes across a handsome man lying asleep in the woods she finds herself reflecting back to fairy tales and wakes him with a kiss. When the man can't remember a thing about who he is or where he comes from, Laura grabs the opportunity to inform him of their engagement. You see, Laura is desperate to hang on to her home, an estate which supposedly will remain hers if she marries before her birthday, otherwise it will fall into the hands of The Duke of Devonbrooke. Laura takes the man to her home and nurses him back to health, and in the three weeks leading up to their marriage, Laura and and he end up having something resembling a genuine attraction to each other. A problem arises, however, when Sterling takes another blow to the head upon their exit from the chapel after their wedding and remembers everything. Laura, to her horror, realizes she hasn't wed a nobody but instead her archenemy. What dragged for me was the beginning, the part where we get an idea of how dark and unconscionable Sterling is. Laura, and her family's introduction dragged for me as well. It wasn't until Sterling starts to assume his role as Laura's dream rescuer when things began to pick up. The best way to describe what happens when Sterling's memories return? A trainwreck. And I couldn't look away. You can't help but root for Laura, despite the blatant deception she attempted. In a way she gets her own comeuppance since she unknowingly besotted herself with her nemesis. Regardless, it's fun to watch these two wade between what emotions were real and what were imagined. Overall, I ended up enjoying A Kiss to Remember. Despite the slow beginning, once the action got rolling it trekked along at an unstoppable path through the end. The character development was stellar. A Kiss to Remember by Teresa Medeiros, 368 pgs, 2001 Rating: C+ Romance: 2/5 Raunch: 2/5
Guest More than 1 year ago
Another library experienced book. Bought it after trying to remember the name for nearly five years. Have it, read it, re-read it [more than 10x]. and still love it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the second novel by Ms. Medeiros I have read in the past year. I also read ¿Yours Until Dawn¿ and considered that a good novel so, I picked up another to read by her recently, ¿A Kiss to Remember¿. I have to say I preferred the first book more. If you like simple Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella or Grimm Fair Tales like style stories, then ¿A Kiss to Remember¿ might work good for you. It was a bit too simple for me. I just didn¿t buy the premise of mean, selfish Lord (Sterling Harlow) comes to town to toss our heroine (Laura Fairleigh) and her family from the manor house she has been allowed to live in, before he gets there he is tossed off his horse, hits his head on a tree and is found unconscious. Our heroine finds him, kisses him awake, finds out he lost his memory, she supplies his with information so, he becomes who she wants ¿ the fiancé, lover and future husband she wants and needs. He follows her lead for weeks as he knows no better. Of course¿in time, our hero Sterling regains his memory after weeks of living as a different man in a small country village and his friends help him to recover just before the wedding was to occur. Once his memory has returned in full, he remember he needs a wife and heir anyway, so he proceeds with their marriage as planned ¿ only he is not nearly as kind, thoughtful and pliable as he was earlier. Our heroine pays the price of practicing the art to deceive ¿ even if it was for the good of her family. The story has a satisfactory ending (as expected) as the earlier attraction between the two does not die out with the new relationship but, continues to grow. They put their differences aside and work toward a future together (with a few bumps along the way). For me, there was nothing new, interesting or really memorable in the book. I would call it a ¿cute¿ and ¿light hearted¿ story. Nothing wrong with that. I think that some of the best scenes involved Laura¿s little sister Lottie and brother George ¿ their attempts to kept the two from marrying is great ¿ feeding Sterling wedding cakes made with bad herbs and spices, cutting down an angel from the top of the church with the hopes it would fall on Sterling¿s head and more. Needless to say¿by the end of the book, both children come to see the real Sterling and all take to one another but, the time it takes to get there and those scenes were the highlights of the story for me. Although I think this author is interesting and talented, neither of her stories have really gotten me hooked on her yet. She has really great potential and I keep waiting to read that one book that snags me in and makes me a believer of her. means. She has that light touch, fairy tale like plots that should please the general audience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+have+read+this+novel+so+many+times++that+I+have+lost+count.+it+brings++you+into+a+world++of+laughter+++and+faults+and+love+and+leaves+you+with+a+joy+as+sweet++as+the+smell+of+orange+blossom%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy a Teresa Medeiros book, but this one was only so-so. As in most romance novels, you must suspend belief and open your imagination, and this would be a great romance. Loved the hero and the heroine and the supporting cast, though. It was an enjoyable read.
Kassilem on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I went through the rest of Medeiros' books and decided this would be the only other one of hers that I'd like to read. So I did, and liked the first half of the book. Nothing phenomenal, but entertaining. However the whole time I was reading, I was cringing in anticipation for when Sterling recovers his memory, because I knew there was going to be hell to pay when he found out Laura had been lying to him about everything. That part wasn't as bad as I thought, but it seemed the book went downhill from there. And the ending... I didn't like the ending at all. Sterling seemed to be two different people throughout the book and anytime the two personalities tried to merge, it came off all wrong. Oh well. Recommended if you really like Teresa Medeiros, but otherwise you¿re better off reading 'The Bride and the Beast' or 'Charming the Prince' and then moving on to a different author.
rocalisa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have a love/hate relationship with anmesia and mistaken identity stories. On one level, the whole "being someone else" thing appeals to me, but the deception required doesn't. So I liked this story, but couldn't quite love it - even though it was (I a little embarrassed to admit) the amnesia that made me choose this particular book.If well done - and I'm still a little on the fence about that in this case - the characters should have good reasons for beginning and/or carrying on the deception. That doesn't mean there won't be trouble when the truth comes out, but with time there can be understanding as well.Laura's course of action is a little extreme, but plausible within the context of the story. The delevloping romance between her and "Nicholas" is nice and the revelation of his true identity well done.Sterling's fury at being deceived is entirely reasonable and seeing them eventually working it all out was nice to read.I think part of the problem is that Medeiros had to fit two romances in a single, relatively short novel. Both of them are between the hero and heroine, but they are quite different as they first fall in love as Laura and Nicholas, and then have to reconnect and do it all again as Laura and Sterling (and then Diana and Thane steal a bit of the story time as well).Some of the thematic resolution was beautiful. Laura tells Sterling that Nicholas was the man he might have been if his life had been different, which was a lovely way to look at the two incarnations of the man, as I don't believe you can fail to be true to your fundamental self, even if you don't remember who that is. With his emotional baggage taken away, Sterling had a time to find that fundamental self.His apology to Laura for making her his wife and treating her like his mistress was a lovely realisation for him to have - and something a few more romance heroes could do with figuring out.All in all, an enjoyable read. I'll certainly be happy to read Medeiros again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought I had read all of Teresa's books, but I guess not, this was a good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This did move a bit slow at first and I thought it was going to be one of those books I did,nt bother to finish. Towards the middle things picked up and I could not put it down. Although the book did not have the intensity of other stories I ended up really enjoyinng it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this authors books. This book was pretty good. The main characters were likeable. The story was a light but sweet read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read this book at least 8 times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fun and sweet book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago