King of the Wind

King of the Wind

Hardcover

$16.92 $18.80 Save 10% Current price is $16.92, Original price is $18.8. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

King of the Wind: The Story of the Godolphin Arabian 0 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
mirrani on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It seems like all the "classic" books about horses follow the same mold; the horse is born, grows up, learns how to handle humans, goes through a casting out period where they are treated horribly and become separated from the people they love, then somewhere toward the end they find their family or human again and all is restored in the world. This book fits right in with that category, so why do we all love it so deeply?The story of Sham is the story of hope, of struggle through hardship and the return to grace. It is also the story of the strength in friendship. But more than all of this, it is the story of a great horse who was made great not by his deeds, but by the deeds of his children. King of the Wind captures the essence of Sham's greatness, showing it to the readers in a way that his actions were never allowed to do, all while describing the experiences in the most beautiful and heart-touching detail. Horse lovers and fans of racing will find that this book is so all-encompassing that they simply can not put it down, because after a while you realize you don't see the words on the page, you see the image of the experience in your mind.Easy to see why this was a Newbery winner and is still a must read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
King of the Wind was a wonderful novel, one of the best horse books I have ever read. Not only am I a horse lover I am also an Arab, so I understood a lot of what it meant. I loved this story and I would recommend it to anyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm only on page 55, but what I've read so far is really good; very well written. I like horses, and I don't know a lot about them, but I really like this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When a son of the desert is shipped to France as a present of the Sultan who knew how bad his life with get. Sham(sun) a fierey bay arabian bears the wheat ear and a white spot, misfortune and fleetness. When the stallion is harshly abused, could the fire within still burn for his small mute horse boy(Agba). M. Henry's books are like no horse books. She has a way of taking you away, and pulling you into her books. I have no words against her books, they are magicle. A great choise of adventure, history, and passion for something other than the human race. Good for readers of all ages.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A horse is born in the royal stable of Morocco, Africa and mute boy is put in charge of the colt. Together they travel to France, make friends and foes,be put in jail, and find a good home. The horse then becomes a race horse.This book is animal fiction and is very good.The author is Marguerite Henry. I like this book because I love animals and because it is a touching story, filled with excitement. There are races with big prizes at stake, a royal stable and many more things. This is a great story about a horse and a boy. Filled with excitement,sadness,joy,and love. This book is for readers around the ages nine to one hundred. This is a great story so read this book!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the best tales ever told!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm only 12 and I have just finished reading this FABULOUS book! It catches your attention unlike any other book i've read. I admit I have a severe (well to me it's severe!) problem with motavation. Personally, I dislike any book that I'm FORCED to read a.k.a. for school. But this one was different...it wasn't boring and I didn't skim through it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has been one of mine and many others favorite book. Recommended for horse lovers. This story follows the journey of a mute stable boy named Agba and the colt Sham.Throughout the story Agba and Sham are blessed by the kindness of people and the harshness of life, but at the end of the story Sham becomes 'King Of The Wind'. This story is truly remarkable; it follows the life of a horse and his boy from Shams birth to his mournful death. Truly a great piece of literature.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I give King of the Wind, by Marguerite Henry five stars because it was an outstanding book. The book begins in Morroco with Agba, the horseboy, and Sham, the colt. They are sent to France with five other horseboys and their colts as a gift to the young king. They are sent away because they are not in the best condition from the harsh trip, and end up living on the streets. After awhile a kind English gentleman takes them to his home in the English countryside. There Sham and Agba grow stronger. When they upset the gentleman's son-in-law they are once again sent away. After having some unpleasent adventures they end up in the stables of Gog Magog. There they are under the care of the Earl of Godolphin. When a horse named Roxanna comes to see the Earl's finest horse, Hobgoblin, Sham and Roxanna fall in love instead. Agba and Sham then get sent away to Wicken Fen, the bog-type land that is disliked by many. When Roxanna has a colt that looks exactly like Sham they are called back. Sham is called King of the Wind by Agba because of the speed that he and his colt posses. This was a great book!! Other books that you may want to read are Misty of Chincoteague and Stormy: Misty's Foal.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book kept me interested the whole time. I reccomend it for readers, ages 9-15.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Its a really touching story. Its about how a young boy, who is a mute devotes his life to a horse. I recommend it to everyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
King of the Winds now and forever will be a classic. It was simple enough for a ten year old boy to read and meaningful enough for any adult. Horse lover or not you really should read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read and reread this book when I was a child. I was always reading, particularly animal books, but this one always held a special place. Twenty years later, I still remember this tale with wistful fondness, and pass it along to young readers at every opportunity. For those who live in other worlds through books, this is a classic!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is really good. You can't put it down! Agba rocks!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I would recommend this book to anyone who likes horses or just thinks that they are the best animal in the world!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I remember reading this book as a very young child in elementary school. It immediatley became my favorite book, and still is. At the time we owned and arabian horse named Midnight, and I can remember fondly riding him and pretending that he was the Godolphin Arabian. I did so many book reports on this book, my teachers had to force me to read another title. It is a wonderful and beautiful story, bound to be anyone's favorite.
Guest More than 1 year ago
King of the Wind is a good book. Agba, a horse boy in Africa, gets a foal, which takes him to England by the Sultan's order. This story is exciting because Agba's foal makes it all the way to run the New Market race. The book gets smoother as you read. It's amazing because the horse 'Sham' has a lot of foals. Unbelievably Sham's foals are in the New Market race. I highly recommend King of the Wind for people who love horses.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this is one of the best books ever written. I think that everyone should read this book. I read nearly every week.