The King of Plagues (Joe Ledger Series #3)

The King of Plagues (Joe Ledger Series #3)

by Jonathan Maberry

Paperback

$18.53 $18.99 Save 2% Current price is $18.53, Original price is $18.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

King of Plagues 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This third Ledger novel took quite a while to get up to speed. Also it didn't give enough previous plot summary or character history. The main villains are back from the first novel, Patient Zero, which I read a while ago now so some history would have been helpful. I would have also preferred a little more of the supernatural or techno science kinda stuff we found in the other 2 Ledger novels. While this was still a good, exciting book it was more of a typical thriller novel than the unique Ledger novel I was hoping for.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The blast at the Royal London Hospital in Whitechapel left thousands dead and many more injured. One hour after the deadly explosion, retired Department of Military Science agent Joe Ledger arrives to investigate the carnage caused by the terrorist attack and un-retires in a rage at the lunatics who caused this horrific violence. Not long afterward, Joe and his team are attacked by assassins of the Seven Kings who plan to rule the world with iron fists. In Fair Isle in the Shetlands, a viral research facility is breached releasing Ebola. As other terrorist attacks raise the death toll around the world, Joe knows nothing about the Seven Kings except they seem to have much more resources than the nations of the world as this group uses modern weapons to release the Ten Plagues of the Old Testament to destroy the global economy. The third Ledger case (see Patient Zero and The Dragon Factory) is a great action thriller that grips the audience from the opening sequence and never loses the reader's attention until the final explosive confrontation. Clearly over the top of the Wall Street-German merged exchange, the London Stock Exchange and the Bombay Stock Exchange combined; fans will relish this fast-paced modernizing of the Passover plagues. Jonathon Maberry satirizes the stock exchange-military-religious complex; as Joe learns politicians and other world rulers are expendable purchases on a ledger sheet. Harriet Klausner
Sas11 More than 1 year ago
I finally get to read "The King of Plagues" and it was honestly okay. It was just too wordy...and incorporating real tragedies such as 9/11, didn't sit well with me. It wasn't like the first too books which I totally loved. However, Joe Ledger is still the bomb. He makes this book real fun to read. His " I don't give a rats ass" attitude keeps you wanting to read more. All the twist and secrets were surprising as well. I am still a fan!
Dinodavid More than 1 year ago
Mr Maberry, If you read this review Please understand that Joe ledger is now one of my new fantasy hero's. Along side Dirk Pitt and Jack Ryan. My take on this recent adventure with our Hero (Joe) is boring from the start of the book. I am 275 pages into a 492 page book (Thanks JW for the ton of pages, the longer the better) ANYHOW.....Bud, its boring and very long winded. They are so many subplots and back ground subjects that its hard to keep up. Man no hard feelings. I have spent many awesome times with your imagination and have "Dust and Decay" on pre order. So i do really love your world. Joe was shot in the ass on this book. The story is full of deep thoughts and tons of religious underlined meanings. It really is no fun. No hard feelings Sir, PLEASE. Joe is still my hero and you are still one of my favorite story tellers. Your Loyal Fan, D Medley
BiblioMicki More than 1 year ago
I feel hard for Joe Ledger the first time I opened Patient Zero. Now, three books later, he can still rock my world. If you read thrillers then you have to read this series. It is very well researched, and Maberry makes sure that all the players have the coolest toys. I gave it a great review on The Charlotte Geeks website.
SonicQuack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Joe Ledger returns to fight another band of oddball villains bent on world domination/destruction, one of which is the titular King of Plagues. The significant part of the book follows multiple threads, building history of the Seven Kings organisation through flashbacks, whilst Ledger and DMS deal with the current threat posed by sinister organisation. Where previous novels have been more team based, Ledger carries the action more or less on his own until the final quarter. The banter and team dynamic have been critical to the nature of the previous novels and therefore Plagues is far less rewarding as a result. There is time spent adding value to new characters which will bear fruit in the future, however the result here is a tepid action thriller in comparison to the previous entries. It's still got lots to offer though; the villains are despicable enough, the heroes macho enough, the scenario warped enough - you know what to expect so jump right in.
SandyLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Joe Ledger fights more than just your common, everyday criminal. He fought zombies in Patient Zero. A former cop, he is now a member of the elite DMS (Department of Military Science). Villains you thought died in Patient Zero are back to reek havoc. There is a shadow organization called the Seven Kings that has infiltrated just about every part of society all the way to the top. And they are duplicating biblical events, metaphorically, to fulfill their goals. By threatening family and loved ones, they can get innocent people to do their bidding. Santoro is the knife-wielding assassin who truly loves his work and loves the ¿Goddess¿ who is at the head of the Seven Kings. From London to Canada to a cruise liner off the coast of South America, Joe and his team, with the mysterious Church at the helm, are at a loss to figure the Seven Kings¿ next move. Toss in the Inner Circle of the Skull and Bones and you aren¿t sure if the world can survive. The author has given Joe his version of Dexter¿s ¿dark passenger¿ which he calls the ¿warrior.¿ Joe can switch from cop to warrior in the blink of an eye. This is a fast-paced thriller with a twist at the end which might give us another villain for the next Joe Ledger novel. If you haven¿t discovered Joe Ledger yet, it isn¿t too late to start. Joe is Jack Reacher and Repairman Jack rolled into one. Doesn¿t get any better than that!
cdhtenn2k10 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I think this one is kinda wordy. Maberry isn't afraid to write a long book with lots of details about people doing this and that (see the Pinedeep trilogy - the whole thing is about 300 pages too long), and this is no exception. 448 pages that could have been about 375. Also, I think Ledger's introspection is laid on a bit thick. I get it. The world is mean and Ledger is screwed up. That being said, this is still a pretty good book.The third Ledger story gives us some new characters and reminds us about some old ones. Maberry does a nice job of bringing those old characters back, and even sets up some future action for some of them. As I understand, there will be a fourth book, and it will be interesting to see how Maberry incorporates the world changing events that take place in this book, and to see how characters evolve.As usual for Maberry, the dialog is crisp and natural. The action is well described and makes sense. Major characters are well defined and nicely realized. The fault with this book is the length, not the prose.If you have been reading the Ledger series, then you will surely be pleased with this addition. If not, you will need to read the first two books to truly appreciate what is happening in this one.
debfromphilly More than 1 year ago
My husband loved this series!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
On to #4
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Drewano More than 1 year ago
The 3rd novel in the Joe Ledger series follows a similar script as the first two. Joe finds himself immersed in a situation which he must stop to save the planet. Although the patter may be the same the author, Jonathan Mayberry, does a good job of mixing up the type of trouble not only from book to book but also within the book. He also does a good job of mixing action and moving the plot along. I also like that all of the Joe Ledger books (so far) are good stand-alone stories so if you want to pick up the series without reading the first two books you really don’t miss anything. If you’re looking for a thriller with a lot of action and a main character who’s a bit of a smart ass, the” King of Plagues” is right up your alley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe it's that I didn't care about the targeted victims, but I never felt completely engaged by the ticking time-bomb. A side story dealing with the moral growth of a minor character was much more compelling and should have been given more weight.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Again an awesome read by Johnathan Maberry
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the Joe ledger series. I've never been into thriller novels because I've always been more of a fantasy buff, but the entire series has a bit for everyone and I love that. My only complaint is the year wait. I don't even care that it's a bit more wordy than the others in the series. A+ a model for others to follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You cant break this team, nor can you put this series DOWN... you race along with Joe, Ghost and his team to beat the best bad guys out. Bravo Maberry..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago