Killing Patton: The Strange Death of World War II's Most Audacious General

Killing Patton: The Strange Death of World War II's Most Audacious General

by Bill O'Reilly, Martin Dugard

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Killing Patton: The Strange Death of World War II's Most Audacious General 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 423 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a 40 year student on the study of Patton and, having read every piece I can find on the subject, find most every one written with a bias or agenda pro or con of the man. Most of the 'cons' seem to show remarkable insecurity and tend to ignore 'results'. O'Reilly and his coauthor, in my estimation, probably have done the most objective job yet, rotten spots along with the good. I look forward to their next disection. Note: I paid for this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent! Highly recommended. This history book is gripping. Since my dad was a POW during WWII, I appreciated the inclusion of the facts, battles, and famous figures. The book is written in a short and very readable style for the every one to understand. I stopped several times to research, on the web quickly, some of the famous people. The authors included information that was fascinating for both men and women. Another great book is the novel, The Partisan, by Willian Jarvis. It just won an Indie Medalian Award. The setting is also during WWII and the plot is based on actual events. It has strong male and female characters. Both books deserve A+++++++++
Currdog More than 1 year ago
The book tells a very complicated story in a way that is easy to read and follow. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very readable and informative. I would recommend it to everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy history, you will enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was one of thoes books you do not want to put down,As a history buff I was facinated by the "inside his head" narative bill o'reilly so carefully researched and shared with us.A bit of a anticlimactic ending ,but a very good read,nevertheless.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Disappointing. Little on the mystery surrounding the details of the death. But good background of war.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good read; interesting theory.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish the author would have included information about Patton's childhood and life prior to the military so I could have a better picture of Patton.
Wes_K More than 1 year ago
A history book without citations contradicting the actual facts of events. Sensationalism and fluff. Example: The book claims that the battle of Falaise pocket was lost by Bradley halting Patton short of encirclement when its known the reason for the failure lies in the slow advance of the Canadian armies directed by Monty. If you introduce a new theory on events you must produce proof of your research and conclusions. You just can't make crap up! Reading is torture as the book randomly jumps time frames, locations, people and events. Not a serious attempt at anything but making money for the author(s).
literarymuseVC More than 1 year ago
Let me state from the outset this reviewer has absolutely no interest in examining this book for political purposes!  Instead, this reviewer’s father served in the U. S. Army under General Patton and had tremendous respect for his person and leadership. Thus, this reviewer’s fascination grew to desire to know more about this man who was loved and hated by so many in military and civilian circles!  While other books have been read about Patton, this is not a comparison or contrast review; rather it’s a stand-alone objective review of a book about a truly great man whose actions changed the course of WWII in Europe. O’Reilly and Dugard pose the theory that General Patton was killed because he was too outspoken and considered dangerous to others vying for power and vying to create a European order after WWII that would favor certain countries over other countries.  There is actually very little evidence for this so-called murder other than the accounts of those present at the time and reports that mysteriously seem to have disappeared or gone missing, with very little response from those who should have known about those documents.  Whatever happened, the story of this anti-Patton plot makes for fascinating reading! Some background is given to the backgrounds of Patton, Churchill, Roosevelt, Lenin, Stalin and other world leaders who were pivotal during the coming Second World War!  The authors examine these characters with what they know will fascinate readers – just enough personal and political information to whet the appetite for more – some of it unnecessary but which builds the “story” being presented. The authors tell the story of WWII battles led by Patton and that is also mesmerizing reading because it is also an intimate look at the political and military leaders making the decisions about the war.  We read about how Patton arrived in France and moved through that country into Southern Germany.  There a huge competitive campaign emerged in which Patton desired to be the first to reach Bastogne and later Berlin, a competition with Britain’s Montgomery that grew fierce indeed!   Patton’s verbal gaffes were amusing, inflammatory, truthful, lies, and totally destructive to policy, depending on who was the target of those comments and who was fitting them into or rejecting them into American military and political goals. In many ways, this book reads like a novel. One has to remind one’s self that this is the account of a real General whose life was almost larger than life for those who served under him or with him and whom one could accurately call a “shaper of history.”  Some have decried this account for leaving out certain facts about Patton’s attitudes toward Jews and political predictions or attitudes.  The reader must judge those accusers after examining what they know and don’t know about Patton and differing written accounts – fiction or non-fiction.  The best?  The worst?  Somewhere in between?  That’s for others to argue. This reviewer highly recommends Killing Patton as a great read about the man, the war, the assassination theory and one account of a pivotal period in world history!  
Appleseed73 More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed the facts of the events that were brought out. I had misconceived on some of them, and also the fact that Gen. Patton was so hounded by assassins. It never dawned on me that it could have been a premeditated event! It book needs reading, as the real info is presented, and a new light is opened on the tragic event. The fact that it was soo covered up and dismissed, and vital documents destroyed is very concerning. Jon C Illinois
D_G_K More than 1 year ago
This is the third "Killing" book I've read by Bill and Martin. Great read, fast paced and entertaining. Wish all my history text books were as entertaining reads as this one.
greg5 More than 1 year ago
An excellent review of the last year of WWII in Europe, the real Churchill/Roosevelt/Stalin relationship, and the background context surrounding General George S Patton's death.
Cowardly_Lion More than 1 year ago
Bill O'Reilly retells the last years of World War Two with clear points and interesting facts. Patton, of course, is the center of the book, but he, also, took us into the mind of Stalin, Churchill, Roosevelt, Eisenhower, and others. Hitler's final year and those with him. The political choices that would shape our world, even today, are brought out for tha reader to understand. I thought I knew the history well, but this book gave me more. Give yourself a treat! Read, "Killing Patton", it is so much more than I expected! Enjoy!!q
SharynR More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed all of O'Reilly's "Killing" books. This latest one on Patton is my favorite so far. I learned so much more history than I had known before. Everyone should read O'Reilly's Killing books to pick up historical facts.
JamesKS More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent bio of Gen. Patton's exploits during WWII. Filled with material that most people have never heard of. I got the opinion from the book that he was assassinated, something the government has tried to cover up since the end of WWII. Good read. Really got me to thinking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No doubt that Patton had an enormous ego, but he could back up that ego with results. He seems to be one of the few people that knew what the Russians were up to and that they could not be trusted. Was the U.S. willing to take on the Red Army and suffer massive casualties necessary to defeat them? Would the U.S. been willing to use the atomic bomb in Europe? Because of spies in the development of the A Bomb, Stalin was aware that the A Bomb existed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Typical read of the books by Bill O'Reilly in the "Killing" series. Gleaned interesting facts about General Patton and even more so about the politics of war. I enjoy these books as they are an easy read and leave you wondering if there is more to the story than we were lead to believe.
TheBell More than 1 year ago
Even if you are not big into History this is a good book to read as a reminder of impacts of WWII on our current times. Also, makes one wondered why The Greatest Generation was called the greatest!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The one star reviews by people who have not read this book are evidence of what the liberals epitomize, intolerance and bullying. Like every other socialist group we've seen before, their first goal is to eliminate any other voices thus eliminating democracy.
gullagej More than 1 year ago
Excellent fact filled history book. A lot of the facts were buried in footnotes. With a large quantity of footnotes it was tough to read with an E-reader. The footnote highlight took you to the beginning of the footnotes pages in the back of the book but not to the location of the actual footnote you wanted to read. It took too much time to find the footnote you wanted and then go back to the book section you were reading. It hurt the continuity of reading the book. There was a note stating the difficulty on using the footnotes on an E-reader but it was buried in the back of the book. Had it been in the ads about the book, I would have bought the paper copy.
dixiegirl65 More than 1 year ago
Bought this audio for a gift for my husband he enjoys history I just started to buy audio for him we have been lucky but this one he was very disappointed whoever reading the book read it too fast I should of bought the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Succint,Captive, Informative and Well Written. Regretably, it affirms our belief that the US Government in Not Truthworhy about Facts as they are - They do not believe as citizens we are capble of correctly handling the TRUTH! This test makes the point vividly! Thanks Bill Tom Dawson
bull52dawg More than 1 year ago
O'Reilly continues the tradition- The Trilogy got better & better and now PATTON- Meticulously researched ,expertly crafted- Patton is a damned good read- and I was alive during the actual events and followed them closely-A great story , told greatly