Killer Run (Tourist Trap Mystery Series #5)

Killer Run (Tourist Trap Mystery Series #5)

by Lynn Cahoon

Paperback

$15.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 30
MARKETPLACE
8 New & Used Starting at $10.87

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Killer Run 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like the Tourist Trap series but this one and the last have left me wanting a little more. Cute stories, don't get me wrong, but they had the "formula" feel to them. You knew when things were coming. And to be honest if the word "treat" showed up one more time, I was going to lose my mind. I'll definitely keep reading this series though. Love it's cozy feel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series. Very enjoyable lightreading . Will buy more .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Less of a mystery than a feel good wordy novel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love these books! Lynn Cahoon had done it again! I can't wait for the next book in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series. Short but sweet.
PollyBennett 10 months ago
A fun addition to the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice esape and enjoyed the characters and story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Debb23 More than 1 year ago
I had a harder time with rating this book. I love the series but this book fell a little short for me. The repetition of "stay out of it" and " I told him that I would stay out of it" got a little tiring for me. Greg who I usually love was stiff and really very little in it except to say "stay out of it" and give Jill a kiss. There wasn't as much interaction with characters to draw me in as quickly as other books have. Jill's lack of business sense, amazes me sometimes, you need to do more than read a book to run a business, thank goodness for Aunt Jackie. Maybe it was just me. I did enjoy the mystery although there were things I would of questioned but were always let go. The side story of the vandalism of the train store was good, it kept me guessing. The murder was good, I figured out most of it and I did like the ending. I do like most of the characters, I just wish there was a little more of interaction between them. I did get a couple of laughs in places, which I always love. I will continue on with this series as I do love it.
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Killer Run - Tourist Trap Mystery Book 5 Author: Lynn Cahoon Published: 8-18-2015 Publisher: Kensington Books Pages: 198 Genre: Mystery, Thrillers and Suspense Sub Genre: Cozy Mystery, Amateur Detective, Women Sleuths, ISBN: 13: 9781601834171 ASIN: B00TNBLXX0 Reviewer: DelAnne Reviewed For: NetGalley Rating: 4.25 Stars I received a copy of "Killer Run" from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review. Description From the Publisher: Jill Gardner—owner of Coffee, Books, and More—has somehow been talked into sponsoring a 5k race along the beautiful California coast. The race is a fundraiser for the local preservation society—but not everyone is feeling so charitable… The day of the race, everyone hits the ground running…until a local business owner stumbles over a very stationary body. The deceased is the vicious wife of the husband-and-wife team hired to promote the event—and the husband turns to Jill for help in clearing his name. But did he do it? Jill will have to be very careful, because this killer is ready to put her out of the running…forever! My Review: Jill Gardner is the main character of "Killer Run", but all the characters in the series are well developed as are their interrelationships. In this, the fifth book of the series, the murder surrounds a 5K run. Even the victim was done in such a way as to make you wonder why she hadn't been taken out long before. Jill actually uses some caution while investigating and questions everything she finds out. Something most protagonist do not normally do. There is a bit of humor and a touch of romance woven into the plot the provides obvious and obtuse clues that keep the reader guessing. The Tourist Trap mysteries are a great series to read. They are quick reads usually just a couple of hours, so that you can read them in one afternoon. "Killer Run" is a definite must read that I gave a rating of 4.25 out of 5 stars. I hope you enjoy it and the other books in the series as much as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The tourist trap mystery series is a fun read. Great for the beach or an escape from the daily grind.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts We return to California and the Coffee, Books, and More shop in Sandy Cove. Jill and Greg are all set to take off on an Alaskan Cruise right after the Mission Run Event. Well there plans go South when a dead body is found during the race next to the running trail. The dead woman is part of a public relations firm that was hired to promote the event. Between you and me, I was so happy she was the victim. She was a real witch that rubbed me and others the wrong way quickly. She must have really ticked someone off to get killed. If that isn’t enough to force Greg to cancel their getaway, there is a vandal on the loose and their only target seems the model train store. They are pretty persistent and damage is escalating. While Jill has the week off and Greg is tied up at the station, she decides to get a little redecorating done on the house she inherited. Of course, she is going to stick her nose into both investigations, this is Jill we’re talking about. The trouble is she may push someone too far and end up on a permanent vacation cruising right on up to the pearly gates. All our favorite characters return and again the dialogue is spectacular. Aunt Jackie continues to bring the humor. Her gentleman friend Josh is the one the found the body and ends up in the hospital himself. That doesn’t slow Jackie down much at all. She has plans for him, plans for Jill, Jill’s home, the bookstore/coffee shop, and plans to keep Sasha, their part time employee busy too. All with a big smile on her face. This is a great set of characters. As someone that helped organize events like the Mission Run, this story rang pretty true to life. The corporation or the group running the show gives just enough information for local groups to set up their individual event. Then they show up on the day the event is to take place and complain about the way things are set up or doesn’t meet their expectations. Been there, done that, and like in this story the local event was a great success in spite of corporate’s ideas. Well, except for the dead PR woman :) Lynn Cahoon has written another story that draws the reader in from the start and entertains us thoroughly. The plot twists are tight and truly unexpected. I was totally caught off guard by some of the guilty parties. The two cases intertwined so well. A nice blend of daily life, romance, mystery and mayhem. I really enjoy this series. Murder on Wheels comes out February 2 and now I am all caught up and ready for it!
Chatting-About-Cozies More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed every story in the Tourist Trap series.
AWilcox777 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this series. The characters are well developed and the mysteries keep you guessing. Lynn Cahoon has a great series going here and she knows how to keep you wanting more. I can't wait for the next in this series to be released.
Majorly_Delicious More than 1 year ago
This is book #5 in the Tourist Trap Mystery series. This installment finds Jill helping with South Cove's 5k run when a dead body is found. Like the other books in the series, this one finds Jill playing detective and putting herself back in the middle of murder and mayhem. This book contains very enjoyable characters but the mystery element just wasn't there for me in this book. I found the storyline to be lacking and just a little too predictable. With that being said, the book is still a very enjoyable read and a good addition to the series. I received an eARC of this book compliments of the publisher via NetGalley for my honest review and opinion. All ratings and opinions stated are my own.
Tiggedy2 More than 1 year ago
When I read the first book in this series, I knew it was going to do well. But I didn’t come close to conceiving what a runaway hit it would be! I really enjoy the characters in the Tourist Trap series. They’re not perfect. Not even series lead Jill Gardner. They all have flaws. Some of them are aware of them and some aren’t. You can’t get any more real life than that. I have to say, I was happy to see the victim in KILLER RUN murdered. LOL Harsh I know, but I didn’t like her at all. As far as victims in mysteries go, she had it coming. Author Lynn Cahoon has smooth and easy writing style that made me want to keep turning page after page. This story had plenty of twists, turns, ups and down to keep me guessing. And once the killer was revealed, I was holding my breath through the excitement. A very action packed scene indeed. Without giving anything away, if I had been Jill, I may have murdered Aunt Jackie during this scene. ;-) It would have been easy enough to get away with. Killer Run was a perfect installment to a wonderful series. I look forward to what Lynn Cahoon has planned for the next book!
rhonda1111RL More than 1 year ago
4 STARS Jill Gardner is back in her 5th Tourist Trap Mystery. I kept in suspense for most of the book. I like this series. There are so many familiar characters that make this more than just a mystery story. I want to see what they are up too next. I like the characters. It is a involving story. Jill is the owner of Coffee, Books and more. She is planning on going away for a week on a cruise with her boyfriend Greg king the local detective. First though is the fundraiser 5K walk for Mission funds she is sponsoring. Jill is always wanting to read a book calling it research. I can get behind that kind of work. Setting for Killer Run is South Cove, California. A small coastal town. Right after their last planning meeting comes in and announces they are supposed to be helping promote it and help plan it. They are both good looking and snobbish. Because they failed to do their part there is trouble with the run. There is also vandalism of one the business in town. The owner tired of it asks Jill to help find them and stop them because her boyfriend is not doing it. Jill agrees to help look into it because she knows Greg will be busy solving the murder. I have read all 5 book of the series and have enjoyed them and will keep looking for more books by Lynn Cahoon. I was given this ebook to read by Net Galley and Kensington books, Lyrical Underground. and in return I agreed to give a honest review of Killer Run and be part of a Killer Run blog tour
CozyMysteryLover1 More than 1 year ago
Killer Twists!I was given a copy of the e book for my honest review Jill Gardner is the owner of Coffee, Books, and More which is located in South Cove, CA. She is also the liaison between South Cove City Council and the business community. She is continuing to renovate her home and is looking forward to her romantic Alaskan cruise with Greg King, South Cove’s local detective and her boyfriend. When Jill is asked to sponsor The Mission Walks first 5K run, she has no idea just what she is getting herself into. As the owner of the property that the South Cove Mission Wall was found, she hopes that sponsoring this race will help move along the paperwork to get her property on the historic mission list. When Sandra & Michael Ashford, owners of Promote Your Event, the company that is assisting with the 5K fundraising show up late for a meeting, Jill can’t help but see that this dysfunctional couple is set to explode. This story weaves together other events happening in South Cove, like the mysterious vandalism happening at The Train Station, a local store located next to Diamond Lille’s, South Cove’s local diner. Why is this store the only one being vandalized? Does it have something to do with the falling out between the shops owners or does someone else have a vendetta against Harrold, The Train Station’s owner? Jill’s Aunt Jackie seems to be having a tough time facing getting older. When Aunt Jackie and Josh Thomas begin a regimen to get healthy and agree to walk in the 5K, Jill doesn’t foresee the turn of events leading to a gruesome death. Jill and aunt Jackie set out to so some sleuthing and find themselves in the middle of the investigation. This book does well as a stand-alone and offers stories inside stories. I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to others.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
What a fun read. This was my first by this author, but I will be reading more. This is another little cozy mystery that even though it was 5th in the series, I had no problems reading it. I loved the story and the setting. A small town in California near the ocean. Aww, I can smell that salty air and feel the breezes. The characters were like able, even though a few were a little quirky. I loved the nosy and crotchety old aunt. She cracked me up more than several times in this book. It was definitely an entertaining read and I thoroughly enjoyed kicking back and spending a few hours with these characters. Thanks Kensington and Net Galley for allowing me to read and review this book. I definitely recommend it!
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
Killer Run by Lynn Cahoon is the fifth book in A Tourist Trap Mystery series. Jill Gardner is the owner of Coffee, Books, and More (CBM). She is also the liaison between South Cove City Council and the business community. Jill is working with Darla Taylor to host their first annual South Cove Mission Walk. After the meeting about the walk Sandra and Michael Ashford arrive (she was busy changing clothes to make sure she had the right outfit to arrive on time as well as arguing with her husband). They are the owners of Promote Your Event and were hired by the California Mission Society (no one bothered to call Darla or Jill during their months of planning for the event). Jill is hoping the South Cove Mission Walk will help her application for getting the wall in her backyard declared an historic landmark. Everything goes well during the walk until Jill is called away to help her Aunt Jackie. Jackie’s boyfriend, Josh Thomas collapsed during the walk. Nearby they found the dead body of Sandra Ashford. Jill’s boyfriend, Greg King is the town’s detective. Jill and Greg were going to be leaving in a few days on an Alaskan cruise. Greg does not feel he can leave until the case is solved (he is dedicated—to his job). Jill has to call their travel agent, Rachel Fleur (who previously dated Greg—talk about awkward) to see about a refund. Harrold owns The Train Station in town. Most of his business is actually done online, but there are some people who come to town just to go to Harrold’s shop. He has started experiencing some vandalism issues. Someone puts paints on his windows, then breaks in and destroys a beautiful model town. Harrold asks Jill to investigate the crimes and find the culprit. Since Greg did not want Jill getting involved in Sandra Ashford murder case, Jill takes the case. However, since Jill did not go on the cruise, she has a little too much time on her hands (she decided to go ahead and take the days off since it was already scheduled). Jill is working on renovating one of her guest bedrooms, but she still has time to sleuth. Will Jill solve the cases? Can she keep ahead of the killer and not get into trouble with Greg? You will have to read Killer Run to find out! I enjoyed reading Killer Run. It was a cute story. I give Killer Run 4 out of 5 stars. While Killer Run could be read without reading the previous books in the story, it really helps to have read them (there will be references you will not understand). I liked how the writer tied the cases together in the end and use the misdirection. Despite the writer’s attempts at pointing the reader in the wrong direction, the mystery was easy to solve. I had it solved before they even found the body (it was obvious). I like the characters and the town. The writer has a nice writing style that makes the story easy to read. I look forward to Lynn Cahoon’s next novel. I received a complimentary copy of Killer Run from Kensington Books and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The review and opinions expressed are my own and are not influenced by receiving a free book.
TessT More than 1 year ago
This is the 5th book in Lynn’s popular Tourist Trap Mysteries. Set in South Cove Ca. the series follows Jill, a former divorce attorney, who is now living her dream in her own little shop, Coffee, Books and More. With the help of her fascinating Aunt Jackie things may get a little crazy. Jill’s boyfriend Greg who is a detective for the P.D. does try to rein both Jill and Jackie in. Jill has a bad habit of not being able to mind her own business. Every case that Greg is assigned, Jill is right there with her offers of help and her ideas of what should be done. When Greg had to cancel the cruise they were to go on, due to a murder in town, Jill was right there to help investigate, even though she had promised not to. What ensues is a wonderful romp through South Cove, thanks to Jill and Jackie, and of course Lynn. FTC Full Disclosure - A copy of this book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.
ethel55 More than 1 year ago
A 5K fundraising run in this beautiful little tourist town sounds like it would be a great event. But being South Cove, Jill's aunt and new boyfriend Josh Thomas stumble over a body while walking the course. In addition, there is vandalism going on at the hobby train store, Jill is redoing an upstairs bedroom and there is a food truck for sale to multiple bidders. The reality of Jill's boyfriend's job sets in when they have to cancel a long awaited cruise because of the murder. While I think Jill and Greg's relationship will always survive her interfering ways, she tests his patience quite a bit in this mystery when she and her Aunt Jackie go sleuthing in nearby Bakerstown. The end seems like it's leading to another story, which is great. I really enjoy visiting these characters is South Cove and look forward to more resolution about the Mission wall in Jill's backyard. The publisher provided a free e-copy of this book for review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boring plot. Lacks cohesion. Not up to the standard previously set by Cahoon. Hope she is not running out of ideas. Stephanie Clanahan