Just Grace Goes Green (Just Grace Series #4)

Just Grace Goes Green (Just Grace Series #4)

by Charise Mericle Harper

Paperback(Reprint)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Just Grace Goes Green (Just Grace Series) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Grace tries to save the environment as well as her best friend Mimi's heart from being broken as her cousin Gwen thinks Mimi gave her her favorite stuffed animal to keep! Can Grace save the environment? Will Mimi be heartbroken forever?! Read to find out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just grace goes green is a great plot and it really teaches you to take care of the earth.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
This is the fifth book in the JUST GRACE series for younger school students. Grace is in the third grade. Her teacher, Miss Lois, is teaching a unit on going green. Grace and her best friend, Mimi, have to do a project for the unit. Mimi's older cousin is coming to visit and both girls are excited. This is a great series for upper elementary students who are struggling with reading. Grace is likable and funny. There are also many facts about what pollution is doing to our planet. Did you know that every time you flush the toilet that you use 3.5 gallons of water? When you compare that to families in third world countries who live on only 10 gallons a day, that makes you think. My favorite part was when they had to design a superhero costume for conserving the planet. That was super creative and something I am going to steal for my own class!
shelf-employed on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Just Grace Goes Green continues the adventures of elementary schooler, Just Grace, so named because of the multiple Graces in her class. In this 4th installment of the series, Grace¿s class is learning about recycling, and her best friend, Mimi, has a cousin coming to visit.While there are some amusing parts, such as when Grace goes shopping for a birthday present for cousin, Gwen,¿Mom said that she liked the present I picked out for Gwen so much that she thought I should have one too. Mom said it wasn¿t fair for both Gwen and me to have one and not give one to Mimi. Then on the way home from the store Mom stopped at a bakery and we bought cupcakes. WHO IS THIS MOM? It was like a shopping alien had taken over her body or something,¿other humorous attempts fall flat, or appear to be targeted at adults. What elementary school reader will understand this reference to the Vapors 1980 hit, ¿Turning Japanese?¿¿I could tell what we were going to have for dinner the minute I walked into the house. Mom has this silly way of asking Dad to order sushi for dinner. ¿ When Mom wants sushi she plays her special sushi song on the CD player. I don¿t really know what¿s called but the main part of the song say, `I¿m turning Japanese oh yes I¿m turning Japanese I really think so.¿ It¿s kind of like their secret code.¿While a laudable attempt, much of the recycling message comes across as too academic. In several instances, the author uses Just Grace¿s recycling or endangered species lessons to itemize factual information,¿6. Red pandas are endangered because their homes are disappearing. People are cutting down their trees to use the wood and then building farms and towns where the trees used to be.¿A final criticism is the author¿s choice of Just Grace¿s final recycling project ¿ promoting the continuous use of disposable water bottles, decorating them to make them more attractive for re-use. I realize that there is no firm scientific backup for the claim that toxic chemicals may leach from disposable water bottles, however, there is certainly a suggestion that it may be possible. Given the fact that so many other recycling projects are possible, why did she choose this controversial one? Additionally, by having the characters decorate their bottles with glitter and glue; one can only assume that they won¿t be well-washed before re-use.Perhaps if I had read the earlier books, I would have formed a better bond with the main character and been slower to find fault. Overall, I think that the Just Grace series is popular (the many sketches and graphics interspersed throughout the story are simple and cute!) and has great potential for finding a loyal following of third and fourth grade readers; but for me, this particular title falls flat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like it ,its funny , lovable. Not bad. Just grace is good for eight year olds.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh my gosh!!!! I absalutly LOVE the Just Grace series i cant stop reading it !!!!!!!!!!!! i hope you love it as much as i did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the just grace series! They are absolutly wonderful! You should give them a try! This is the 4th book of the just grace series.