Junkyard Dogs (Walt Longmire Series #6)

Junkyard Dogs (Walt Longmire Series #6)

by Craig Johnson

Paperback

$14.68 $16.00 Save 8% Current price is $14.68, Original price is $16. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 26
MARKETPLACE
29 New & Used Starting at $3.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Junkyard Dogs (Walt Longmire Series #6) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 78 reviews.
suzbluz More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. Our library only has 2 Longmire books and I just could not put this one down. The first 4 pages made me laugh out loud. Johnson has a gift for humor mixed with the serious. Since getting hooked on the new Longmire TV series I just had to read Junkyard Dog and loved it. I lived in Wyoming for a couple of years, Laramie to be exact and his description of the snow, cold, and wind though haunting, beautiful and dangerous is the reason I now live in Florida. :) Still that area of the country is fascinating and rich with history. This series of books is a genuine tribute to the mysterious appeal of Wyoming.
Buffalo52dog More than 1 year ago
Good read for a rainy day. Longmire rules!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend all of the books I have read in this series so far. Well written, great characters, good mysteries with a dose of humor thrown in. Plus, Craig Johnson knows Wyoming. I have been passing these books along to my friends and they are all hooked on them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great as always, the humor, the suspense! My husband and I love Longmire. What a gifted writer.
nana-et-al More than 1 year ago
Like all the previous books in this series by Craig Johnson, it is excellent. Before I knew it I'd finished the book. I also enjoy reading the Penguin readers guide at the back of the book. It's always very informative.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Craig Johnson has created a thrilling series set in the hard scruff plains of Wyoming. His characters quickly become living breathing people and you feel like you can feel the dirt under your boots while reading. Longmire is a real hero, a tough yet compassionate, and emotionally vulnerable man. Vic.... well let's just say that I' like to have dinner with Vic for just one evening.
TheReadingWriter More than 1 year ago
Craig Johnson's books, read by George Guidall, have something of the wise old dad about them. No matter that Walt Longmire, sheriff of Wyoming's Absaroka County, is not so old he doesn't lust after his deputy, the apple-assed Vic Moretti. That just makes him more of a man. And man he is. Bearing all manner of physical insult, he comes out on top once again, chasing his quarry through an 18" snowstorm high in the hills surrounding Red Lodge, Montana. The ridiculous nature of the events that set off a chain of murders can only be based in truth because no novelist would create such stories for fear his tribe of readers would leave him for dead. In interviews Johnson tells us that he gets the basis for his outrageous stories from his friends in the police, so the one about the man cleaning the chimney in the middle of the winter with a rag soaked in kerosene, and tied with a rope to the bumper of a Durango, has got to be true. Hard as it is to believe. But it is the home-smoked flavor of these great western stories that make this series so...home grown. This is a series I allow myself to savor like a fine cigar. I pace myself, withholding the pleasure of beginning a new story until I feel I have earned a special treat. They are soothing to the soul, funny to the bone, candy for the brain, and oh-so-reassuring for those among us who fear wisdom eludes our public servants.
maggie70GA More than 1 year ago
Craig Johnson brings all the 'characters' in his novels to life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As usual he comes through with another great book! Quick read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
On+to+Walt+Longmire+series+%237.++++++++++I+love+Craig+Johnson%27s+writing+style%3B+++I+can%27t+get+enough%21%0A%0A
magnumpigg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thought this the weakest of the series so far. The dialog was snappy as usual and the locale/surroundings as comfortable and familiar as an old pair of shoes but the crime took a while to get going and it just wasn't that interesting a crime.
cathyskye on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
First Line: I tried to get a straight answer from his grandson and granddaughter-in-law as to why their grandfather had been tied with a hundred feet of nylon rope to the rear bumper of the 1968 Oldsmobile Toronado.It's February, and it's cold enough to freeze the balls off a brass monkey in Absaroka County, Wyoming. As much as Sheriff Walt Longmire would like to stay inside his nice warm jail, folks just aren't going to accommodate him. An old man (and owner of the town dump) has been dragged behind a car. One of his deputies is suffering from "bullet fever", so Walt gives him the task of tracking down the owner of the severed thumb found in a cooler there in the junkyard. His Pennsylvania deputy, Victoria Moretti, is trying to buy a house, and it seems to have made her a tad ill-tempered. The owner of a new housing development that borders the junkyard has to have his feathers smoothed down....What's a sheriff to do? Especially when an interesting side business is found in the dump followed by the discovery of two bodies. Winter refuses to behave itself (as if it ever has).It is such a pleasure to read a book written by Craig Johnson. He is a born storyteller. He can make you laugh. He can make you cry. The Wyoming setting and every single character is etched crystal clear in your mind.There's a reason why I live in the Sonoran Desert: I am not a winter person. I do not "do" cold. When I discovered that this book took place in the winter, I quite literally shivered. However, Craig Johnson is one of the few writers who, for me, can put poetry into a season I loathe. Try this on for size: "It was Monday of the second week in February and people talked less because their words were snatched from their mouths and cast to Nebraska. I had an image of all the unfinished statements and conversations from Wyoming piled along the sand hills until the snow muffled them and they sank into the dark earth. Maybe they rose again in the spring like prairie flowers, but I doubted it."I have come to view reading a Craig Johnson novel as a visit with a beautiful place, as catching up with a group of characters I've come to know and love, and as an exercise in deduction as I try to identify The Bad Guy. Junkyard Dogs satisfies on all these levels, and Craig Johnson continues to be an author that I wish everyone would read at least once.I'm willing to bet the farm that, for many of you who do sample his writing, it will be the start of your own love affair with Absaroka County.
kraaivrouw on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Junkyard Dogs is the sixth book in Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire series and I have no idea how I missed these books before now. Craig Johnson is funny - not in a trying-to-hard-forced kind of way, but in a certain twist of phrase and mind that sees and shares the humor in life kind of way. Walt Longmire is a widowed sheriff who's not getting any younger. His territory is a small town in Wyoming and he knows it like you know your childhood home. Joined by his deputies, most notably his on-again/off-again girlfriend Vic, Longmire is tasked with the day-to-day law enforcement of a small town where occasionally someone gets murdered.This is a Western, in the sense that it's set in Montana and has a Sheriff and even real live Native Americans, but its Western flavor is the least important thing about the book. Rather it's the storytelling, the sense of place, the dry humor, great characters, and plain old good storytelling.In Junkyard Dogs there is a complicated set of interconnected events having to do with an eccentric old man who runs a junkyard, a developer, and the developer's mother (who just might be in love). I really enjoyed how all the plot elements had pieces of history to them - the characters share a place and context within their small town and these play out across the broader plot line of the crimes.Mr. Johnson almost makes me want to move to Wyoming - except for that whole snow over the roofline thing. I hate to be cold. This series has been optioned for a series on A&E called Longmire. The series has great casting:Walt Longmire - Robert Taylor (from The Matrix)Victoria Moretti - Katee Sackhoff (from Battlestar Galactica)Henry - Lou Diamond PhillipsIf the writing on the series is as good as the writing in this book, I'll be a regular viewer.
JWood43 More than 1 year ago
Probably my favorite Johnson Longmire novel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starts very humorously I was reading in bed and laughing out loud. The descriptions of the cold really make me feel the frigid cold. I really did not guess who the killer was until near the end. I suspected who that the killer was more than they appeared to be early in the novel. Just a really good mystery all around
Angie_Lisle More than 1 year ago
This has been my least favorite book in the series thus far. I figured out the last book (The Dark Horse) before I should have but it was because my health problems gave me some insight that most readers probably wouldn't know. This book wasn't like that - this book isn't as polished as the others in the series. There are at least two spoilers scenes that jumped out at me because the conversations were out of place and my immediate thought was: why bring this up right now? There's more important stuff going on...oh, wait. It would only be brought up if it tied in to the case somehow. And most of the clues I needed to solve this crime were right there in those scenes that felt out of place. Thank you for trying Mr. Johnson but you didn't get one over me this time. And I do expect better, because one of the things I like about this series is that I wasn't able to solve the first books until I was supposed to - I was along for the ride with Walt. This book made me feel too far ahead of him. However, this book continues building the romances slow and steady, just the way I like. And the romantic plot-threads are what kept me going through this book because I have no idea where these romances are headed (and I want to know). I prefer romances written by men and targeted at men, they feel more real to me than bodice-ripper romances, and this series, taken as a whole, is a superb example of how romances should be done.
MaraBlaise More than 1 year ago
Action from the beginning to end just the way I liked it. The first four Longmire books I read was ok, the fifth was really good, but this one was truly amazing. There was just so much in this book that I loved. The case was interesting and never dull and the ending was surprising. There was a lot Walt and Vic, which is always great. And of course poor Walt who always gets hurt and ends up in the hospital.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Andrew_of_Dunedin More than 1 year ago
I've been reading (or in some cases, listening to the Audio CD version where George Guidell reads to me) Craig Johnson's Longmire series in order.  So far, Junkyard Dogs has been the most fun of all the books in this series.  Much as Dana Stabenow did with Breakup, the author realizes that a serious series sometimes needs a lighter touch as a change of pace – and Craig certainly did that with this book. We have a family who has run a local junkyard for years.  Developers are trying to convince local zoning to change the rules and force them out.  The owners are resistant – they've moved once before, and in both cases, they were there first!  (Oh, and might there be ANOTHER reason or two why the family doesn't want to leave their current location?  And might there be closer ties to the junkyard family and the developers than is apparent at first glance?) Not going to say too much – just going to pat author Craig Johnson on the back, offer to buy him a Ranier Beer, pass on my highest recommendations to the next potential reader, and move on to the next book. RATING: 5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago