It's Not Summer Without You (Summer I Turned Pretty Series #2)

It's Not Summer Without You (Summer I Turned Pretty Series #2)

Audio CD

$66.75
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

It's Not Summer Without You 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 851 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so amazing. I enjoyed The Summer I Turned Pretty so much I just couldn't wait until this one came out. I really liked how some of this book was in Jeremiah's point of view and I liked reading about what he thought of her. In the first book I really was glad that Belly was with Conrad. But after reading this, I'm not sure who I think she should be with. This book is so worth buying! I loved every page of it! I cannot wait until We'll Always Have Summer comes out. I am excited to read what happens!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i think the order goes 1) The Summer I Turned pretty 2) Its not Summer Without You 3) We'll Always Have Summer
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this wonderful book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.
lmw324 More than 1 year ago
I purchased an e-copy of this book this morning as soon as I woke up--I've been eagerly waiting to read IT'S NOT SUMMER WITHOUT YOU since I finished THE SUMMER I TURNED PRETTY several months ago. As I've been reading the manuscript on my e-reader, I've been astounded by how beautifully Jenny has woven Belly's voice yet again--she is real and vivid, exactly how I imagined her to be. Jeremiah's chapters explaining how he fell in love with Belly last summer provide a fascinating new look at THE SUMMER I TURNED PRETTY. Although I loved the image of Conrad and Belly together in the first installment of the series, as I read this novel and see how Jeremiah sees Bellys, I cannot help but wonder if she picked the wrong brother. The romance is subtle and gut-wrenching in a way--the reality of the difficultly of loving someone who doesn't love you back is something to which I think everyone can relate. Han also beautifully captures the grief of losing Susannah--like Belly, I couldn't imagine summer--and the second book--without her. It's not easy to write a character that a reader can actively mourn alongside--but somehow, Han manages to do it. Jenny Han is a strong, vivid new voice in children's literature.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book and series was fabolous! It took me a week to ready all 3 books and i laughed and cried the whole time! Acoyple times i laughed or ghasped out loud in class all i can say is READ THIS SERIES!!!!!
Courtney-Nicole More than 1 year ago
For years, Belly and her brother Steven have gone to Cousins Beach to spend the summer with Conrad, Jeremiah, and their mom, Susannah. Belly wasalways used to be the one tagging along behind the boys, but last year, everything changed. Susannah got cancer and Conrad and Belly grew closer. Over the school year, more things changed. Conrad and Belly went out, Susannah passed away, and Conrad and Belly broke up. When Conrad disappears this summer, Jeremiah asks Belly to help him find Conrad. Belly agrees because she feels the need to apologize to Conrad for the way things ended. Over several days, Belly, Jeremiah, and Conrad come closer and further apart as events happen-events they never thought would come to pass. Belly also has to deal with other personal issues, such as her feelings about the boys and her best friend, Taylor. This book takes you through another summer in which Belly has to find herself and make decisions. It is a good book for young adults to read at any time, and it will keep you reading until you finish it.
abercrombieam97 More than 1 year ago
The saddening heartbreaking second novel in Han's triogy. After the death of Suzannah, it seems that the beach house won't be the reoccurring summer destination any longer. When news of Conrad running away travels to Belly's ears, will she and Jeremiah be able to find him before he misses his college tests? Then comes a new revelation, revealing the true reason Conrad's gone off, but will their combined efforts be enough to save the Summer house? Will they call in reinforcements, or will Mr. Fisher win and sell what's so dear to them all? And just who will Belly end up with? This book takes you on through each of these challenges, answering those questions yet bringing on new ones to be answered in Han's closing book of the trilogy. A book that will make you laugh, weep, and make your heart break just a little bit inside.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is one of the best yet! Ive read all three books, and ive spent a few nights till three in the morning either reading or just thinking about all of these books. This is the kind of story that keeps you awake at night going, " wow" or " who would id have chosen" If you havent started reading these books, buy it, then sit in your most comfortable and fav place because your going to be there a long time. The summer series rocks!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book more then life
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It tells a great story of love and its so sweet and greatly detailed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg this book is heart touching i feel like im in the book feeling all these things everyones feeling… i love this book and the one before it… it tells a story of how true love feels and how it can fall apart i couldnt put my nook down while reading this amazing story of a girl looking for true love with someone who is closed up but lets belly in and pushes her away in the end but still cares about her
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. I started off with "The Summer I Turned Pretty" and I was hooked. After loving the first book, I went out the buy both this one and the third book-We'll Always Have Summer. I LOVE THIS SERIES. This one is very special because you not only see the summer through Belly's eyes, but you also see it in Jeremiah's point of view. This book has you picking sides- Jeremiah or Conrad. This is a must read series for all teens. I would recommend it for ages 13+ due to some use of language and themes, but it is a wonderful book. When you fall into Belly's summer, it just makes you want to make it your own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The whole series is amazing! Love it so great
DanceBree17 More than 1 year ago
I totally fell in love with all the characters in The Summer I Turned Pretty, so i jumped at the chance to read the second book. Boy I was not disappointed!! There is a lot of emotion in this book, Susannah dying tragically, the normal routines not lulling everyone into a sense of bliss, fights with best friends, both guys and girls. But everything is handled so well by Ms. Han that it feels like you are seeing things from the inner circle. I don't know if I truly like how Belly acted in this second book. But I am glad for the ending. I think that she is spending time with someone who really does care about her. I wish that Cousins Beach was someplace that I could go to. it seems like the perfect place to get away from things and spend summers swimming and laying on the beach. I cant wait to get the third book now and see what happens when everyone is older and in college.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first one is my favorite, though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing
Martini-123 More than 1 year ago
I read The Summer I Turned Pretty and loved it. I have read it so many times I can practically quote passages. So I was really disappointed with the sequel. There was no deepening of relationships and the story line tended to drag on. It didn't really come to a conclusion and just left me hanging with more questions at the end then I had to begin with. It was still an okay read but I wish it had more of an ending. The only thing I really liked about this one is the several chapters told by Jeremiah. It was quite interesting to see things from his point of view. If you read the first one and want to know what happens you should read this, otherwise don't bother.
bearette24 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I didn't like this book as well as the other two in the trilogy. It felt like it existed mainly to get from point A to point B. The romance with Jeremiah was not wholly believable.
elaine-pearson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Second book in trilogy. Light but satisfying read. Y9+ girls
lms8esmith on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ever since she can remember, Belly has counted her life in summers, but this year may be her last year at the summer house. Susanne is sick again and Belly's relationships with Jeremiah and Conrad seem to be changing. I enjoyed the chapters where the boys told the story from their point of view. I also enjoyed seeing Belly mature.
Nebraska_Girl1971 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am just enjoying this series - easy YA read that makes a great beach read.
BrandisBookMusings on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It¿s Not Summer Without You by Jenny Han picks up at Belly¿s next summer. Since the events of last summer Belly has been on one wild emotional ride. She thinks she has her summer plans all figured out, but when you involve the Fisher boys nothing is set in stone. Since the death of Susannah nothing has been the same. Not her, her mother, not Jeremiah, and certainly not Conrad. Dealing with the grief from their loss has been difficult for Belly. Conrad keeps sending her mixed messages, her mother is distant, Jeremiah isn¿t there, and Taylor just doesn¿t understand. Planning for her first summer away from Cousins Beach doesn¿t exactly have Belly jumping for joy, because that¿s where she wants to be the most. Then out of the blue Jeremiah calls her with the news that Conrad is missing. It¿s off to Cousins Beach once again. This summer will be the one to change Belly¿s life forever.I just can¿t get enough of this series. Jenny Han has me reading them over and over. Every time I read them it sends me on a girly, emotional, crying, and heartbreaking ride. I liked this this installment, it follows the flashback format of the previous book, but still stays unique by showing insights into Jeremiah¿s point of view. I have to admit I found myself crying in this one too. At the end of this book I found myself heartbroken and hopeful all at the same time.
Jasprit on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
OMG I absolutely devoured this book, again I went through a range of emotions whilst reading this, sad and tearful about the loss of Susannah, frustration at Conrad, despite this the book is also full of love and laughter and I loved every second. Since the first book I always rooted for Conrad, but as this book included some chapters from Jeremiah, I just don't know anymore. Throughout the book you're always find yourself asking who will Belly finally pick? But again were left with an annoying cliffhanger at the end! I don't know how I'll be able to wait more than a year for the last book in the series!!!
sophilee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the trilogy, which began with 'The Summer I Turned Pretty'. It is far superior than the first in terms of character and plot development. In this novel, it is clear that Jenny Han really hit her stride. In this instalment, Belly teams up with Jeremiah to find a missing Conrad and save the summer house from Mr Fisher. In between, Belly reminisces about Susannah's death and the aftermath- as well as her 'relationship' with Conrad. In between the in-betweens we are treated to Jeremiah's point of view- so it is definitely a multi-layerd story this time around.However, I wasn't too keen on Jeremiah's chapters, as they did not enlighten us in anyway. In fact, it stalled the flow every now and then. Also, I started to get annoyed with 'Belly' as I thought it was about time she stopped people calling her that! Isabel is one of my favourite names and whilst Belly might be cute for a toddler with a little paunch, Is is sufficient for a rising senior!Although, I did enjoy seeing Isabel mature a little. Her voice still sounded young and she still acted like a spoilt child on occasion (such as at Susannah's funeral) however this is how Jenny Han manages to wonderfully capture the push-and-pull of adolescence. Overall, a solid four stars for this sequel.
laurenhagerty on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I still liked this book very much it was just that it still had the same gist to it. I know that it is the same book duo but there really wasn't anything new in it.