Island of the Blue Dolphins

Island of the Blue Dolphins

Other Format(Unabridged; Library Edition)

$39.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Island of the Blue Dolphins 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 986 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book when I was in 4th grade. That was 15 years ago and I still remember the story from beginning to end. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading and the knowledge that can be gained from it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I remember reading Island of the Blue Dolphins when I was eleven. Recently I found my old copy, dusted it off, and started from the beginning. I could not put the book down. It was just as fresh to me as it was twenty-five years earlier. This is a book all ages can enjoy. I'm looking forward to reading it to my daughter in a few years. Scott O' Dell beautifully created a strong female protagonist that figured out a way to survive against the odds.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Island of the Blue Dolphins is a very good book. I love books that have the ocean in them. The book tells the story of a girl named Karona. She is left on the island for 18 years. While she is waiting for a ship to come get her she must build shelter, gather and hunt food, and fight her enemies the wild dogs. I thought this book would be a regular old book with a beggining, middle, and an end. I sure was wrong! Karona even befriended a wild dog! I recomend this book for ages 9 and up. If you are younger than 9, and you like true stories you will enjoy this book.
David_Bremmerton More than 1 year ago
Author Scott O'Dell tells the story of Karana, an Indian girl living alone on the Island of Blue Dolphins. It is a fantastic story of survival as we travel with Karana on her quest to survive, forge for food, clothe herself, and seek shelter on the beautiful island. A very good read. Definitely recommended. Perfect for passing the time.
TexasStarVA More than 1 year ago
My favorite book from childhood, based on the true story of a young American-Indian marooned on a deserted island for 18 years. Her resourcefulness, strength and keen observation of nature make this book a must read! Enjoyable for all ages!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is about a Indian Princess who was left behind when the rest of her village left after a terrible tragidy toke thelives of many of the braves (men) inclouding her father the chief. She learn how to survive on her own wether she is rescued from the island is for you to find out. Injoy the book I know I did. Island of The Blue Dolfins is a very good book for teenagers, young adults, and kids. This is a book with no bad language curseing swearing or anything that a parent would not approve of there kid reading, I myself being a
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. It is one of the best books ive ever read and I have read a lot of books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To people who say this book is bad STOP IT NOW. Anyhow this book is so great i had to say that
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a good book. I enjoyed it a lot. Every word I read I became more intrigued into the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whene we read this book in class i was happy whene we got to read it! This book tells a tragic tale of a indian girl who ls stranded on her home island whene her tribe leaves her, and now all she has left is her brother(for a little bit) and the willderness !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Everlone should have this book, so get now!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great!I am 10 and I read it shortly after I turned 10. This book is a well written book about a girl stuck on an island.Even though every thing is against her she survives and lives her life. This is also a TRUE story.I extremlly recommend it!!!!! Book Lover Girl!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book ims amazing!! Highly suggested!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I ? this book. It is about a girl who gets left on an island alone and must survive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a really fun true story this girl has to survive by herself on a island for 18 years I absoulutely LOVE IT !!!!!! please read it it is totally whorth it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a good read for people who like survival books. I liked it because it had fights and hope. The main character is trying to live on a island by her self. It does not work when bad people come and try to take her. She has to fight wild animals and some of them killed her brother. I give this book 4 stars but the ending was poor. If the ending was a little better it was 5 stars. This book is good for people who like animals and survival stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I WENT SO FAR!IM IN CHAPTER 18!!!!!!!I LOVE IT I LOVE IT I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. In English we had to write a book review I used this book. Now everyone wants to read it! I love this book!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
People say she was ten, but the found her when she was like, 56, and they think that her so called brother she went back for was actually her own child. So she was about 28 if i am right. If you dissagree, plz reply to Katniss. YES, THAT IS MY REAL NAME? Katniss Athen Sawyer. K.A.S.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You will absalutly love this book the first page I read got my attention right away Good job Scot O'dell
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a kind of a sad. It's about a girl who lives by herself after her dad and brother dies and the ship left her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I saw this book I wasn't intrested,but when I read the book I fell in love with it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...That all the tweenie-boppers saying they hate this book spell every other word wrong? Maybe they should spend a little more time reading - having a preschooler's grasp of grammar is only okay if you're a preschooler. Food for thought. Anyway, this book is beautifully written, and will surely sing to your heart. All about growing up and having a will to fight in order to live.
wz12 More than 1 year ago
Each year at Christmas I give the grandkids a book I read growing up. This is one of those books. It is a great read if you are looking for adventure and appreciate the resilience of the human spirit. I would recommend this book to young and old alike.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Island of the Blue Dolphins is a great book for both adults and young children. It is a fantastic story to relax and read, or find information. The book puts together an intense, spiritual story of a girl who faces many problems.