The Inheritance: And Other Stories

The Inheritance: And Other Stories

by Robin Hobb, Megan Lindholm

Paperback(Original)

$16.17 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.17, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Inheritance: And Other Stories 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
dentlhlpr More than 1 year ago
Excellent collection of short stories. I love the other's opening remarks about how the story sort of came to be. I have read a lot of her books and always look forward to more.
harstan More than 1 year ago
This ten story collection showcases how talented Margaret Lindholm is as both her pseudonyms have published super shots and novels. The introduction will fascinate fans of "both" writers as to how the two names and their distinct styles came into being. Part I focuses on the Lindholm persona with seven modern day profound science fiction and fantasy tales that place people in subtly extraordinary situations; five of them previously published between 1989 and 1993 all worth making the "Cut". These also include two award finalists ("A Touch of Lavender" and "Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man") and two new shorts ("Finis" and "Drum Machine"). Part II provides three Robin Hobb medieval-like fantasies with two previously published (the novella "Homecoming" and the title tale "The Inheritance" both in the Realm of the Elderlings). The final contribution "Cat's Meat" is a new story. All ten entries are well written and affirm why Margaret Lindholm as Megan Lindholm and as Robin Hobbs is critically acclaimed. Part of the fun is to compare the writing styles to see if the reader can draw the conclusion that Duane Wilkins did. Though I still fail to see what he saw except that in each contribution regardless of size the star(s) are fully developed and that in either persona this winning anthology affirms the talent of Ms. Lindholm. Harriet Klausner
djmng on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
great book of short stories by robin hobb and her other pen name megan lindholm. I'm not usually a fan of short stories but these were all absolutely engaging and once i started reading i couldn't stop.
bgknighton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I always find it interesting to follow an author's development. You can see how she formed the ideas for her long fiction in some of these stories. Some of them are raw, she has definitely gotten better with age and practice, but I have to say I really prefer her novels. I much prefer it when her female characters have more spunk and fight in them.
BeckahRah on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I¿m not usually much of a short story reader. I like my novels. But I snagged an Early Reviewer copy of Robin Hobb¿s The Inheritance: And Other Stories, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE her Mad Ship Trilogy and the Dragon Wilds Chronicles, so I was actually kind of excited to win this one. I¿d never read anything by her alter ego, Megan Lindholm, so I was dubious about that half of the book, but I was pleasantly surprised.Great stuff. Solid Science fiction and fantasy.A Touch of Lavender ¿ I thought this was a literary piece at first, and was disappointed, but it turned out to be an intriguing sci-fi story instead about an alien named Lavender who falls in love with a human woman. The story is told from her son¿s point of view, who watches in horror as his mother becomes addicted to the slimy excretion of the alien¿s skin and falls into the all-too-familiar downward spiral of a junkie¿s life.Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man ¿ Not my favorite, but short and sweet. A writer who has given up on her dreams finds mystery and romance with a customer who claims to be a magician, but keeps vanishing at inopportune moments ¿ often leaving her to pay the check.Cut ¿ This one gave me the creeps. A somewhat morbid and perhaps a little too realistic tale set in the not-too-distant future. It¿s about a teenage girl who wants to free herself from the `bondage¿ of sexual desire, and her mother and grandmother¿s desperate attempts to keep her from mutilating herself.The Fifth Squashed Cat ¿ A hitchhiker shows two women how a special bone from a dead cat contains a special kind of magic¿for some. Strays ¿ A strange young woman escapes into a hoard of stray cats to escape her abusive family life.Finis ¿ A vampire story, with a bit of a twist. Better than some vampire stories I¿ve read, and short enough to keep me from becoming impatient from yet another vampiric tale.Drum Machine ¿ One of the more forgettable stories in the book. I¿m honestly having trouble remembering what it was about. Something to do with standardizing standardization. Everyone¿s the same, all the time, even the music.Homecoming ¿ Yay, Rain Wilds! This was my favorite story in the book. A peek into the history of Bingtown. This is the tale of the very first settlers in the Rain Wilds and their struggle to fend off the madness and survive in a harsh and magical land.The Inheritance ¿ Title story. A grandmother dies, leaving her granddaughter virtually nothing ¿ except a wizardwood pendant, which comes to life and helps the cast out grandchild of a Bingtown Trader reclaim what is hers.Cats Meat ¿ Yet another cat story, although it was a good one. The father of Rosemary¿s son returns after abandoning them three years ago. He demands access to the home and the life she has built up from nothing but a run-down cottage. He threatens Rosemary and her son, and their only hope for salvation comes in the form of the disgruntled cat who shares their home.Altogether, it was a delightful anthology. Very original, and I loved getting to revisit the worlds she¿s created. I may have to re-read the Liveship trilogy again, even though I have a stack of new books a mile high awaiting my attention.My only complaint is that there were too many cat stories, and that most of them involved dead or dying cats. I¿m not a cat person anyway. I don¿t think they¿re smarter than people or dogs, they can¿t solve mysteries, and they¿re neither sensitive nor special. Take them away, thank you. That being said, I also don¿t enjoy reading about them being tortured, boiled, or eaten.I hope she writes some more Rain Wilds books soon.
kmaziarz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Robin Hobb is one of my favorite authors, and though I knew she also wrote under the name Megan Lindholm, I had never read Lindholm previously. This anthology was a great introduction to both of the author's signature styles. In reading the Lindholm stories, I discovered that I had actually read one of them before, "The Fifth Squashed Cat." It was a story that stuck with me for a long time after reading it the first time, and still resonated this time around. Though I do have to say that the story which most sucked me in was the first, "A Touch of Lavender." The world created in the story unfolds with perfect timing, bits and pieces dropped along the way, building a picture of the strange, dangerous place lived in by the young protagonist.Being a fan of Hobb to start with, I of course enjoyed the stories set in the world of Hobb's most intriguing creations, the Elderlings. The real stand-out here was, again, the first story, Homecoming. I find the Rain Wilds and the ruined cities there to be a fascinating setting, and I loved getting a glimpse at the early years of that civilization. The second Hobb story, The Inheritance, was certainly enjoyable, but I felt it was also a bit...uninspired. It didn't have quite the emotional depth I've come to expect from Hobb.Over all, this is a most satisfying collection. Whether you're a Lindholm fan, a Hobb fan, or a fan of both, you will find much to enjoy here.
TheDivineOomba on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book surprised me - I was expecting a book filled with well written, but mostly generic type stories. Instead, I get a wonderful book with stories of magic, but character driven with very original plot. If I had to say something about how these stories feel - its reads a more down to earl Urusula LeGuin. So, onto the reviews!A Touch of Lavender- This is one of the weaker stories of the anthology. It tells the story of a boy, his junkie Mom, her alien love, and the little sister that is a bit odd.Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man- I liked this one. We get a story of a down and out writer who meets a magician. Only he keeps disappearing and stiffing her with the bill. Cut- An odd story about a near future where teens have total control over their sexuality. Its a story about the current rights of teens to have control over things like birth control and STD prevention taken to a new level.The Fifth Squashed Cat- A story about being surrounded by special people with a particular sort of magic, and not having it yourself.Strays- One of the more bleak stories in the book - a young girl is at the end of a line of abuse. Her new friend is torn between helping her or staying out of trouble.Finis - A vampire story with a twist. That is all. A great story with a different sort of vampire than the current fads.Drum Machine - Conformity is everything in this world where standardization has become the ultimate standard, even down to the music and children. Homecoming- This is the best story in the whole book. Here we have a story of a pampered artist, the wife of a powerful lord, who travels to an unexplored land with husband. During the journey, secrets are revealed, but more importantly the narrator find strength that changes her.The Inheritance- this is the title story of book. A woman gets turned out of her home when her grandma dies. On the advice of a magical pendant, she moves to the city and regains what her grandmother lost years ago. Cats Meat- When the father of Rosemary's child decides to come back, Rosemary needs to find ways to protect her, and her young son, All with the help of her cat. Who in typical cat fashion helps in a way only a cat can.
leahsimone on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is my first time reading any of Hobb's Lindholm stories. Perhaps my favorite aspect was I had no idea where she was going with each story despite her introductions to each. She writes with a gritty sense of realism that pulls you in immediately and keeps you invested despite the strangeness of the fantastical or bazaar elements. My favorite of these would have to be A Touch of Lavendar, Cut, Strays and Drum Machine. In her introduction to Cut she says "I like to think...that I write stories because I have a question. Not the answer, mind you, but just the question." I found myself thinking about the stories for a time afterwards wondering how I would feel and what would I do in those situations.The second half of the book is her more well known fantasy writing as Hobb. I am about half way through and enjoying those as well although in a different way. After reading Homecoming, I am really looking forward to reading her Realm of the Elderling series. Recommended.
SomewhatBent on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Inheritance: And Other StoriesRobin HobbHarper Voyager (2011), Edition: Original, Paperback, 400 pagesThe many voices of Megan/Robin/Lindholm/Hobb. A collection of short stories ranging from Bingtown and Rain Wild to a suburban Sears and more. There is a delightful cast of characters and creatures; from cats to 'coons, vampires and aliens. The tales stand well on their own, but some provide glimpses into worlds we're familiar with from her other books. Nice pace and lengths for those times when you just have a short time and can't get entranced in something you can't put down. A fine selection of 'tea time' reading.
Unreachableshelf on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have read all of the Robin Hobb novels, but the three stories included here were new to me, and I had never read Megan Lindholm stories before; I knew that the Lindholm stories were said to be a very different style from those the author rights as Robin Hobb, and they are. I am happy to report that I like them both.The Megan Lindholm stories are twisty little self contained tales, as likely to be SF as fantasy, and the fantasy is a quieter sort of magical realism. I think fans of Neil Gaiman's short stories would be a natural audience for them.The Robin Hobb stories are all set in the Realm of the Elderlings world, and are best appreciated as a part of the larger series, as some concepts are only hinted at that the full series explains. I found "Cat's Meat" somewhat anticlimactic for spoilery reasons that I won't mention, but even in that case I enjoyed the chance to revisit the world.
Helcura on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've long been a fan of Megan Lindholm, so I quite enjoyed the first half of this book. I was surprised, however, by the fact that I also really enjoyed the second half of the book. I've always found Robin Hobb to be a good, but tedious writer. These shorter stories worked well for me and interested me in her work. Megan/Robin clearly has two very different styles depending on which name she is writing under, and this book is a good introduction to both. Worth reading - it may open up new frontiers for those who are a fan of one pseudonym or the other.
tortoise on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I quite liked "A Touch of Lavender", the opening story in this collection, about an a young girl and her impoverished mother dealing with an alien refugee culture, and "Finis", a vampire story whose character dynamics were interesting enough to support the story despite a perhaps overly-telegraphed twist ending. Unfortunately, the rest of the book didn't live up to them. "The Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man" was overly cutesy; most of the rest of the book seemed pointlessly depressing, often with hamhanded political messages thrown in (as in "Cut" and "Drum Machine"). There was also a recurring theme of "people who like to analyze things don't get to appreciate the joys of life" that I found seriously unpleasant (probably most present in "The Fifth Squashed Cat", but it recurred throughout).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Erick Sassone More than 1 year ago
Read evrything do far and own all the books on paperback.