In His Father's Footsteps

In His Father's Footsteps

by Danielle Steel

Hardcover

$26.09 $28.99 Save 10% Current price is $26.09, Original price is $28.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 11

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

In His Father's Footsteps: A Novel 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it one night. Could not out it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book so much! I could not put it down. Read it in two days!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is very emotional. I laughed and I cried. I recommend it.
LynnB888 More than 1 year ago
4 1/2 STARS! A powerfully compelling story of strength, love and gumption! We're magically thrust into a story of two people who face the worst and yet prosper with little more than the love they share and the clothes on their back simply because of their unique mindset of being grateful for every single thing they have in life. The two of them and the foundation they laid for their family simply made this story! The characters and early plot were complex and rich. The later story had a little less follow through but still gave a fulfilling conclusion. Overall I really enjoyed it! Through tortuous situations, heartache and loss, Jakob Stein and Emmanuelle Berger manage to hold on long enough to be rescued from their imprisonment in a German conservation camp. Knowing little about each other, but knowing a kindred spirit when they see one, they decide to trust in their friendship enough to wed before being sponsored to freedom in the United States and let their love brew and grow naturally. They find themselves living miserly in low paying jobs and hard conditions, but are thankful for how far they have come since losing their family, history and possessions to such horror. As the years pass, they lean on each other through it all and devote their lives to the son they were blessed with as they bask in their love. They try to teach him how important family is, and the proper work ethic to go through life with in order to never be placed in a position of having to pull yourself up from rock bottom. Their son Max grows into a well educated Harvard graduate who takes the knowledge and help his father shared with him to go on and prosper through real estate ventures to become an early success. He finds who he thinks is the love of his life and through an elaborate ceremony and opulent lifestyle sets out to grasp the world at his fingertips and go for a ride of riches and prosper. Years later he finds himself delighted with the birth of children, yet overworked and stressing more every day about becoming all that he can become while his marriage seems to get worse by the day with a woman that isn't at all what he was expecting. Finally finding himself faced with a dire situation, he must reevaluate his life and struggle like his parents before him to make sure his family is at the top of his mindset as he forges a new life from the ruins he's climbing out of.
Anonymous 9 months ago
A soul searching story about life! A Must Read
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
In His Father’s Footsteps by Danielle Steel takes us back to April 1945. Emmanuelle Berger and Jakob Stein are in Buchenwald when U.S. troops liberate the camp. Jakob had been in the concentration camp for five years and his entire family was exterminated. Emmanuelle was near death when the soldiers arrived. To avoid separation, the pair marry and relocate to America with the help from a sponsor. They work hard at labor intensive jobs and live in a small, dingy apartment on the Lower East Side. One day, Jakob meets Israel “Izzy” Horowitz, a diamond dealer, who offers him a job. Jakob learns the business quickly and is soon Izzy’s right hand man. As Jakob makes more money, he invests it into real estate. Jakob and Emmanuelle have a son, Max who they dote upon. Max attends the best schools with the determination that he will never struggle for money. Instead of following in his father’s footsteps after graduating from Harvard, Max wants to make his own way in the business world. He marries Julie Morgan at a lavish society wedding and installs her in a luxurious home with a large staff. Max is a successful business with a beautiful wife, extravagant home and children. However, he feels that he cannot have enough money and is constantly at work rarely seeing his wife and children. A tragedy makes Max see that he has a failing marriage and is setting a poor example for his children. While Max achieved the American dream, he neglected the basic lessons his father taught him. Can Max turn his life around? In His Father’s Footsteps is a well-written and engaging story. It is an emotional novel that takes us from horrific Buchenwald to the lavish Upper East Side. We follow our characters as they set out to achieve the American dream of becoming successful and having a family. Can you imagine living through the horrors of a concentration camp? It will indelibly leave its mark on a person as we see in this book. I could feel the characters emotions and struggles. The choices the characters made was based on their experiences. I thought the author captured the time period and the various settings. I admit that I enjoyed Emmanuelle and Jakob’s story better than Max’s. Max, though, was raised differently which caused him to make decisions that we may not like (or agree with) but were understandable. I appreciated the epilogue which nicely wraps up the book (we would expect no less from Danielle Steel). While there is some predictability to the story, it did not hinder my reading pleasure. I have been reading Danielle Steel’s books since I was twelve years old and I never get tired of reading her novels. I am giving In His Father’s Footsteps 4 out of 5 stars (I liked it).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so good I read it in 2 days. Great story line. Throughly enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Begining was great. Than at chapter 15 it went downhill too unrealistic and i hate when they say i love you after knowing them 2 days it kills the book for me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved reading about the holocost knowing something good happened to some of the people. A very touching story that started in an unbelivable time.
Debi_2014andBeyond More than 1 year ago
While I often enjoy reading new authors that I find on NetGalley, there's also a certain level of comfort when I'm able to select a book from an author such as Danielle Steel.  Heck, my mom and I have been reading and enjoying her books for probably about 30 years and we know we can count on reading a book that we can consistently read cover to cover and be confident that the plot will be good and the characters will have the same drama and love as our own families. Today's book is In His Father's Footsteps by Danielle Steel, and once again, we were provided with a classic Danielle Steel book. I'll admit that sometimes I find that Danielle Steel's books can be repetitive and that gets on my nerves a little bit, but In His Father's Footsteps didn't read that way at all.  I will also admit I usually don't like to read anything "historical", so I was a bit surprised when I dug right into this book. I thought it might be a difficult read for me given my genre preferences, but Ms. Steel had just the right mix of storyline to keep me engaged. The book opens with Jakob Stein and Emmanuelle Berger, former prisoners of war during the Holocaust, being freed.  They are ready to start a new life together in America. They have been through tough times together in the concentration camp, so they decide to trust that friendship with grow into love so they wed before being sponsored to freedom in the United States. The story follows them through their life as they adjust to a new country, new jobs, and new family.  As the years go by, Jakob and Emmanuelle depend on each other and grow into love as they devote their lives to their beloved son. They try very hard to teach him how important family is, as well as teaching him the importance of proper work ethic.  Throughout the decades, Jakob achieves success in the diamond business through his talent, faith, and hard work, and shows his son that America is truly the land of opportunity.  As their son, Max grows older, he has the determination that he was not going to struggle for money like his parents. When he graduates from Harvard, he throws himself into work.  Max wants to follow his father’s example by working hard, making money and finding the a life partner.  He falls for Julie and marries her, but after the birth of children, he realizes that his wife is not the woman he thought she was. As a result, Max finds himself struggling and moving forward with perseverance learning what it means to walk in his father’s footsteps while at the same time trying to set an example for his children. In His Father's Footsteps is a typical Danielle Steel story full of love, hardship, and loss. I really loved the characters in the story too. I'll admit the history of the story also drew me in and I couldn't even imagine having to endure the life Jakob and Emmanuelle did during their imprisonment in the camp, but how they endured and prevailed was so awesome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Get comfortable and enjoy.. You will not want to put this book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this from the first page! Characters are well developed and plot is riveting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quick read. Fun because I was in Germany while reading this book.love your books Danielle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WHY WHY WHY DO YOU THINK YOUR BOOKS ARE WORTH $15.00 PLUS TAX FOR MY NOOK????? YOU DON'T EVEN LET US SHARE THEM WITH OTHER'S FOR THAT PRICE. YOU SHOULD GET OFF YOUR HIGH HORSE AND LOWER YOUR PRICES. DONE READING YOUR BOOKS FOR THAT PRICE.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
1945 When the Buchenwald concentration camp in Germany was being liberated, a prisoner named Jakob Stein, age 25 from Vienna, helped the soldiers liberating them. Jakob speaks 4 languages. His friend, Emmanuelle Berger, age 23 from Paris, had given him bits of food during their time in the camp. Now, Jakob has lost all of his family and wealth. Emmanuelle’s mother had been a seamstress in Paris and she had learned sewing from her. They decide to marry so that they can both go to New York as refugees. Their sponsors are Rachel and Gary Rosen and they have jobs in Mr. Rosen’s factory which makes women’s dresses. They learn that their studio, jobs, and pay are very minimal and they must agree to work for the Rosens for a year. They agree, but when Emmanuelle becomes pregnant and so as soon as their year is up, Jakob gets a new job with a diamond merchant named Izzie. He is very kind and generous to Jakob and becomes Grandpa to their son, Max. When Izzie dies, he leaves everything to Jakob. Yet all the time they have been in New York, Emmanuelle is still afraid that it could all come crashing down like when the Germans invaded. As Max grows and becomes a successful businessman himself, Jakob and Emmanuelle are very proud of their son. But when he meets Julie, from a very wealthy family that is not Jewish, Emmanuelle is convinced she is not the woman for him. The story continues as the reader follows Max and Julie’s marriage and the trials they face. Can they make a go of their marriage or, as Emmanuelle predicted, is Julie not the woman for him? This is a good story told in the smooth, conversational style of author Danielle Steel. As often found, there is some repetition in her writing, but it’s easy to overlook because the basic story is well-written. I’m sure readers will enjoy this book. Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The cost of this authors books are to expensive. Why again........,.