The Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death: Reflections on Revenge, Germophobia, and Laser Hair Removal

The Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death: Reflections on Revenge, Germophobia, and Laser Hair Removal

by Laurie Notaro

Paperback

$15.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death: Reflections on Revenge, Germophobia, and Laser Hair Removal 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quick, fun read.
McCreamy More than 1 year ago
I am planning on buying more books from this author. I laughed the entire time!
Angela2932ND More than 1 year ago
Somehow, I felt totally inappropriate, and perhaps immature, enjoying this book as much as I did, but I did, and I might not let too many people other than you know how much I enjoyed it! This book is laugh-out-loud funny! Laurie Notaro's experiences are quirky all in themselves, but it's her perceptions and wit, and how frighteningly close her thoughts are to your own thoughts about situations (but you'd refrain from saying them outloud) that make this book hysterical. Because this book is a set of her reflections, any chapter can be read on its own, and a few of the reflections did make me cringe (not in a good way)--like the bathroom humor, but over-all, it's a nice, non-serious, read that is guaranteed not to strain any brain cells.
GlassLady1 More than 1 year ago
This has got to be the funniest book I have ever read. I didn't dare take it with me for fear of making a fool of myself by uproariously laughing in the Dr office or other places where I usually take a book to bide my time waiting, A must read for the sheer joy of reading something funny.
EvelynBernard on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was a gift - I don't normally gravitate to humour. To my surprise, I laughed out loud on numerous occassions. It was easy to relate to the situations described by the author - after all, who hasn't tried a diet, moved, shopped, been on vacation.The chapter about waiting for the treadmill repairman alone makes this book worth reading - I would read more of Ms. Notaro's work.
curvymommy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had been waiting for this book for so long. I'm a HUGE fan of this author, and have loved all her previous essay books. In fact, they are some of the few books that have earned "keeper" status - I don't swap them. This book did NOT disappoint.HILARIOUS!! I was laughing out loud throughout, and I think I actually snort-laughed at one point even. The essay on "It's all good" was so so funny - I'm laughing again just thinking about it. The story of her adventures on a cruise ship - priceless! I could really relate to the whitewater rafting trip. I must be an idiot girl, because the author feels like a good friend to me. :)I stayed up all night (despite the fact that I had to be up at 6am for work, even!) reading this, because I could not put it down. Highly recommended! :) Can't wait for her next essay book!
LisMB on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
funny, funny, funny. I probably would not have normally picked this out, but I am a sucker for vintage carnival, showgirl, etc pictures and this caught my eye. So glad I brought this read home. I was laughing, giggling and smiling during these stories. Several times I couldn't catch my breath I was laughing so hard.I really really enjoyed this and bought a copy for my mother and one for a friend.
liblor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As usual, very funny from Ms. Notaro. A little too heavy on the germophobia for my tastes, but I definitely laughed out loud often (and I'm not usually a loud laugher!).
HELLOKITTYISPRETTY on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is SO hilarious. I discovered it from a blog I frequent. I found myself laughing outloud several times (ask Mike). I enjoy her honest writing style, attitude,and humor. On more than one occassion in the book - I've totally identified with her germophob antics and her embarassing moments. If you want a entertaining book after reading a heavy one (like Thousand Splendid Suns) I HIGHLY reccommend it. ps. if you have an iphone - this is one of the free random house books on Stanza. enjoy!
harperhaven on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It was ok. There were some laughs and it was a fast read.
agirlandherbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The latest Idiot Girl dispatches from Eugene, Oregon -- psychotic family members, buying a house, water in the basement, and helping a dog cross the Rainbow Bridge, then welcoming another. Don't read this book while drinking or eating -- you'll spew from laughing.
Liabee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very funny vignettes, if a little manic. I cried with laughter on the "C" train while reading about germs and had to put the book away.
Staciele on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Even though it wasn't the kind of book I was expecting, Notaro kept me interested and laughing!! I would read more of her stuff. Great for a light, fun read!
butterflybaby on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I got this book as a free download. I read it just recently when my husband and I went on a road trip. It was a great vacation read. Several times I found myself laughing out loud. The chapters are little anecdotes. I think anyone (mostly female) would relate to Notaro's view on things like germaphobia, revenge and dogs.
Kasthu on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was introduced to Laurie Notaro¿s books back in 2007, when I inadvertently stumbled across a copy of The Idiot Girls¿ Action Adventure Club. Since then, I¿ve read each of her collections of essays (except the one about Christmas), and I¿ve enjoyed them immensely. That¿s why I was thrilled to pick up a copy of her latest.Notaro¿s essay collections are laugh-out-loud funny, and Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death joins her sisters' ranks. By far my favorite essay was the one after which this book was named¿only the day before, I¿d had my very own sort-of Laurie moment behind the wheel of my car (except I didn¿t react nearly the same way as she did). I also greatly enjoyed Laurie¿s story about taking a cruise. I was a little bit put off by the potty humor in this book, but I guess that¿s what she¿s known for. Other than that, though, this book had me rolling in my seat with laughter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Horrible and not funny as was described
D_SS More than 1 year ago
I found this collection of stories very entertaining. I like to read before I turn the light off each night. The stories are just the right length to complete at least one each night.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
some vignettes were quite funny and enjoyable and some were a chore to read though. a married lady with no kids, so i do not have a lot in common. those in the same social situation may enjoy this more than i did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have never read anything from this author before. It is not my usual genre, but it had good reviews and I was looking for something funny for a change of pace. I was very pleasantly surprised. It was a quick read and I think that at one point I actually snorted out loud! It is a series of essayes or reflections on moments of the author's life. Very funny stuff! I think maybe not so much for the prim and proper, but I found her take on things (open-mouth coughers for example) to be my sense of humor entirely. I will definitely look for more from her! -- SPeeD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My husband hates when I read her books because I always stay up far too late dreading and wake him up with my giggling. Love her books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago