The Ice Limit

The Ice Limit

by Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child

Hardcover

$30.24 $32.00 Save 6% Current price is $30.24, Original price is $32. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ice Limit 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 100 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read everyone of Preston & Child's books except for Thunderhead and have thoroughly enjoyed every single one of them. I just haven't read anyone else who can write like these guys. Ice Limit was a great read although I have to admit that I much prefer the Agent Pendergast series. For those of you feel like the book ended abruptly, go the Preston and Child website and click on Ice Limit. They have provided a Webilogue which pretty much tidies up the ending. They have also announced that there will be a sequel. Can't wait!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I expect much more from these authors!! They had a great plot idea and made me care about the characters. However, not only did the story crawl through most of the middle of the book, but the book ends horribly!! The way all the storylines were resolved left me utterly unsatisfied! Characters were killed off (in my opinion) needlessly, and others were permanently disfigured, but we don't find out how!! Last but not least, the only place to read the epilogue is online!! And I only stumbled across that by chance!! Seriously?! I suggest picking up Relic or Thunderhead by the same authors. Much better books!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The one thing that disappointed me about The Ice Limit was the fact that it took awhile to actually get to the action. While not as scary or gory as their other books, particularly Cabinet of Curiousities, Relic, and Brimstone, it is more scientific than gruesome. The ending was by far the best part, making the surprise ending to The Relic pale by comparison. It doesn't seem possible that the last sentence is the end. It's a cliffhanger that you can't possibly see coming and one that will leave you craving for just one more page.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An awsome and nail biting book. Technically flawed, dont dig too deep just enjoy. I think the best novel from either writer since The Relic. A true edge of the seat thriller. With a Heart stopping ending. Even a sad poinent scene with Sally Britton and the engineer. This book blows away anything from Crichton and many other more well know science ficton/fiction writers. A must read/listen to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
New and exciting concept in adventure. Read it in three days. Couldn't figure out the ending till I got there, and it was a surprise then. Highly recommend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much. The characters are well defined, the suspense is captivating and the story line is believable. I am impressed with writers who don't waist my time on endless gore or sex just for shock value. I am pleased when a story keeps my interest and I love being able to actually visualize the settings. Thanks guys. This book was well worth my time and money!
auntmarge64 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I ran across this book on a list of novels set in Antarctica. While Antarctica actually isn't the setting, most of the action does take place in the islands off the southern tip of Chile during winter. Funded by one of the world's richest men, a group of engineers and scientists attempt to remove the heaviest meteorite ever found from a small Chilean island so it can be displayed in a new museum in New York. The expedition is threatened by a rogue Chilean destroyer captain who is suspicious of the group's intentions, and at the same time the mysterious meteorite, unlike any ever found in more ways than weight, seems to be responsible for a series of deaths. This is an extremely fast-paced thriller with a vocal following which has convinced the authors to write a sequel (unpublished as of this writing, July 2010).
punxsygal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fast paced thriller. A group sets out to retrieve a meteorite from an island off the southern coast of Chile. Heavily financed, carefully planned, the expedition lays plans on moving the largest single object moved by man.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Torgan More than 1 year ago
A slow methodical thriller. Emphasis on slow, though not sure how exciting you can really make the recovery of a big "rock". I found the idea of Eli Glinn and his EES crew very fascinating. Being able to secure success by studying failure. Unfortunately the book goes into very little detail as to how Eli's process actually works. We're just supposed to believe he has studied all possible avenues of failure and all probable outcomes to the point he is nearly omnipotent. Or we are at least until the very end where he gets his comeuppance, due to the true random nature of life, and his refusal to accept that sometimes failure occurs even when all precautions are taken. The tragic deaths of some of the characters whom you were only starting to get to know was surprising and somewhat disappointing, but maybe that was the point. All in all I found this to be one of the weaker stories from this pair of authors. I've read the Gideon Crew books, and the Pendergast series, and while I'll will be interested to see where they take this story in "Beyond the Ice Limit", it occurs to me that while I always enjoyed the slight supernatural twist to these stories, with what took place in "The Lost Island" and "The Ice Limit", these stories are now moving away from the probable into the truly unbelievable. I just hope the Pendergast series, which resides within this same world, doesn't go down this same path.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait to read Beyond The Ice Limit
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suspenseful. Surprising ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters were all interesting, dialog was right on point to create the expedition they were about to take and pull it off. I found it movie worthy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy all their works!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this is nearly as good as Relic. The story is interesting without being fantastical. And, the particular landscape - Cape Horn - is fascinating in that it is a populated place (or nearly so) and yet so wild and dangerous. I wish these two would put aside the Pendergast series for a while and write more books like this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago