Hooked: A Thriller About Love and Other Addictions

Hooked: A Thriller About Love and Other Addictions

by Matt Richtel

Paperback(Reprint)

$18.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hooked: A Thriller About Love and Other Addictions 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was so hooked I couldn't put the book down until I had finished it! I can't wait for his next book to come out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hooked not only is an exciting read that I could not put down, but more telling of how much I enjoyed it were the lingering thoughts long after I finished reading the book. I found myself thinking and talking about the societal issues of people¿s reliance on technology in their daily life and wondering how real Richtel¿s description of this situation could be. This is a great book that is a must read for those not only in the technology industry, but also those who want to be up to speed on the latest political and societal problem that might soon face the world. You will find yourself hooked on discussing Hooked with your friends.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In a San Francisco Internet café, a woman leaves a folded note on the table of writer Nat Idle, who picks it up along with the book he was reading and follows her outside. As she drives away, he opens her note that reads ¿Get out of the café ¿ Now!¿. A nanosecond later an explosion rocks the café. ---- While everyone in the Marina District think terrorism, Nat thinks Annie as the handwriting is hers. Although she died four years ago when she was swept to sea from her sailboat, he recognizes his late girlfriend¿s handwriting on the note. HOOKED, as he never moved past Annie¿s death, Nat begins questioning those who lived. Meanwhile the house of one of those who survived, aspiring author Simon Anderson, catches fire, which increase Nat¿s theory of a conspiracy but the motive eludes him. He decides to visit Annie¿s family starting at their questionable business Strawberry Labs where they do a lucrative drug trade that he always wondered if it was legal. Like a bulldog he cannot let go even when attempts on his life occur. ---- Though the flashbacks to the relationship between Nat and Annie add depth of understanding to his personality, they intrude on a fascinating personal thriller of a man needing to know how his allegedly dead first love leaves him a note that saves his life. The story line is action-packed but owned by Nat¿s run as he seeks the truth that no one seems to want to let him have. Fans will appreciate Matt Richtel¿s exciting amateur sleuth thriller starring a seemingly everyman HOOKED with an obsession that propels him to continue in spite of the odds overwhelmingly that at worst he will die while at best he will know nothing. ---- Harriet Klausner
MrsRJ on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Nat Idle, a freelance journalist who decided after graduating from medical school that he was better suited for a career writing about versus practicing medicine, left the required resendency program and never looked back. The novel opens as Nat sits in a San Francisco Cafe, reading a book when a woman places a folded note on the edge of his table, then, without pause quickly exits the cafe. He picks up the note and attempts to follow the mysterious woman outside, only to catch a brief glimpse of her speeding away in a red Saab. He then reads the note¿.¿Get out of the cafe¿Now¿! It was much more than the words that grabbed Nat, it was the script - it was Annie¿s handwriting. Annie, his deceased girlfriend, for whom his heart still ached. How? His swirling thoughts are interrupted, as at that very moment the cafe explodes, knocking him off his feet.This single terrifying moment changes Nat¿s life once again, and launches the story into overdrive. Richtel takes the reader on a fast paced journey, full of relentless action and drama. With the added dimension of Jason Singer narrating, readers can easily visualize the sharply etched, strong characters Richtel created, especially the ruthless, clever and devilously ingenious Kendle family. The exact circumstances surrounding the loss of Annie aren¿t explained until later, which adds to the nail biting tension and myriad of questions that urge the reader on. Nat appears to be a hopeless romantic unable to bury the past and move forward. But this too will be revealed as yet another ingredient carefully woven into this meticulously designed high tech web of deceit.Hooked is absolutely the perfect title for this debut novel from Matt Richtel. Undoubtedly after this reading experience, there will be legions of fans hooked on Richtel¿s complex plots, endearing characters and strong delivery. Hooked will leave even the most astute suspense thriller fan in awe of Richtel¿s ability to weave the unimaginable into the very fabric of reality. You will never again surf the web or check email without a quick thought and then shake off the idea as ludicrous. But is it? Or¿ are we already, hooked?Happy Reading! RJ xx
folini on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My expectation for this book were high. On the back cover the author talks about it as an exploration of our addiction to computers, cell phones, and electronic devices.

After reading it, I can say this book is just a thriller, not even a brilliant one. Technology and the addiction to Internet and tech gadgets is not analyzed or even part of the plot, it's just a background. It seems a perfect script for a lightweight Hollywood movie.

A perfect companion for a Sunday afternoon on the beach. No much more...

historycycles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was "hooked" on this book after the first chapter- Nat, a medical school graduate turned medical journalist receives a warning, a note dropped on his table at a cafe, to get out. When he does leave, the cafe explodes, killing several and wounding even more. Stranger still is the fact that the note dropped on his table is from his former girlfriend- who supposedly died several years before.Now, he's being watched by the police as a possible suspect in the bombing, along with another victim whom he befriends, but he becomes suspicious of her role in the explosion.Each chapter leaves you hanging, forcing you to start the next chapter to get answers, even when it's late at night, you have to work the next day, and the bed is calling.Although a compelling read, near last quarter of the book, the technology becomes somewhat implausible; hard to believe and incorporate into an otherwise good storyline. Perhaps I've read too many mysteries, but at the same point where the book lost its technological believability, I could see the ending as clear as straight shot down a darkened corridor with daylight shining through at the doorway. An "A" for Richtel for the effort, but a good story undone by the ultimate ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ho -hum, a big mystery. Ho-hum another fire. Ho-hum boring characters. Ho-hum. Lots of secrets. Oh dear.things are not what they seem. Get it,right? It wasn't good At any level.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MissJody More than 1 year ago
First off, the character development was POOR. I did not feel a connection to the key players. Next, the plot was very messy, as I felt slightly lost throughout the entire book. I feel as if some pieces of the plot were written in haste, while other parts were stagnant. I kept hoping for resolution and clarity; I was horribly let down. Additionally, I feel as if the conclusion was rushed. The answers to the reader's questions were never blatantly, fully answered. Due to the rough plot, the reader NEEDS resolution in the conclusion, and it never happened. Overall, the theme was fresh. I liked the creative ideas; however, I would recommend this to no one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was hooked after reading the first few pages. The book takes off at break-neck pace and never stops for a breath. I loved the way the author wove specific San Francisco/Silicon Valley details into this thriller.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a fast-paced and creative novel that breaks out of the predictable, by-the-numbers mode of the typical thriller. It is extremely visual and always keeps the reader off center until the ending. The suspense is palpable almost throughout. Matt Richtel is giving Chrichton a run for his money this summer. I look forward to further books by this author.