Hit and Run

Hit and Run

by Lurlene McDaniel

Hardcover

$8.37 $10.99 Save 24% Current price is $8.37, Original price is $10.99. You Save 24%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
MARKETPLACE
21 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hit and Run 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 80 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the book so much i read it i 2 days
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The setting of the book Hit and Run by Lurlene McDaniel is in Ashville, North Carolina. The book has 4 narrators, Analise, Jeremy, Quin, and Laurie. The protagonist in the story is Analise and the antagonists are Quin, Laurie, and Jeremy. The over-all mood in the book is suspenseful because you don’t know what is going to happen to Analise or if Laurie or Quin are going to confess, sad because Analise has been in the hospital for about 6 months and is not getting any better, and guilt because Laurie is blackmailing Quin into dating her for the popularity and they both know what they actually hit that night and if Laurie goes to the police she will get in trouble too. The theme is hopelessness because the people in the book are trying to find hope after a tragedy has happened. The plot summary is this girl was coming home from babysitting and got hit by a car. The highway clean up crew found her the next day and she was rushed to the hospital and was said to be in a coma and a few broken bones. She has to have brain surgery and is donating her hair. Laurie realizes that they hit Analise and not a deer. Laurie talks to Quin about the night they hit something and she manipulates him into dating her until he graduates so she doesn’t tell and mess up his chances of college scholarship. Analise's doctor says she has three months and she just wants to be free. The next day Laurie goes to the Hospital knowing they won’t let her in but tells the front desk that her name is Amy Cartwright, which is Analise’s best friend, so they let her in. Analise knows someone new was in her room when Laurie walked in. When Laurie walked in she broke down and Analise took it offensively. Laurie and her best friend are fighting, her mom is disappointed in her and her dad has left them; however, all she wants to do is disappear. Some major events are that Quin hits something on his way home from a party and Analise gets hit by a car and is in coma. Analise is in critical condition at the hospital. Laurie blackmails Quin into making her popular but that back fires on her and she feels guilty. The doctors say that Analise has 3 months to live. Also, Laurie fakes being sick so she doesn’t have to go to prom with Quin and she confesses to her mom about the accident. Laurie writes a letter with all the evidences about that night to Amy, the book editor for the school. The people get what they deserve for hiding a serious crime. In the book the high point is when Laurie blackmails Quin into dating her exclusively and when she comes face to face with Jeremy, Analise’s boyfriend, and has to decide who she really wants to be. Towards the end Laurie goes to rat Quin out to the police, and we are going to see if Analise is going to live. I thought the book was very inspiring because how the girl, Laurie fessed up at the end no matter what was going to happen. The strengths of this book is how well it was written. I loved how descriptive it was when Analise was narrating about how she wanted to be free and just fly away. There were really no weaknesses of this book I found all of it very well worded. My overall reaction to this book was very interesting and it taught a good life lesson. I recommend this book to others because of how it keeps you interested and motivated to keep reading to find out what is going to happen to everybody. In conclusion, you learn how one careless mistake can change your life forever. Also, you acknowledge how you should always own up to
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book at school. IT IS THE GREATEST BOOK! Jeremy's love for Analise is so strong. You should so read this book if you like love books or if like books that makes you went to read more. One more thing I thought Quin was a cheeter. So read the book so good.
cvosshans on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you like stories where the lives of several interesting characters intertwine with some drama, suspense, a little blackmail and deception then this book is for you. The main characters, Analise, Laurie, Quin and Jeremy find their lives tangled within each others after a serious accident. Unlike McDaniel's usual genre of writing, this quick read is 192 pages suitable for teen readers who might enjoy the 'soap opera' tangles and deception. None of these characters would be my friends but then again, they don't have to be.
skstiles612 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hit and run is a story told through the voice of four different people. Before I give my review I must say it was an emotional read for me in many ways. Lurlene McDaniels' books are always emotional, but I had several connections to this book. I'll try to be brief. As I read the opening, which were the thoughts of Analise I thought of two people. First was a boyfriend I had in my senior year. He was injured in a motorcycle accident and his parents were told he didn't understand anything going on. I wrote letters of encouragement to him and his parents read them to him and placed them under his pillow. He came out of his coma four months later and his mom called and said he'd asked for me because of my letters. He'd heard them. The second person was my cousin who'd had an accident and she also lay in a coma for several months. She talked about being able to hear what people said and understanding them but at the same time she was unable to communicate back with them. My final connection was with Analise's parents. Three weeks before my sons fifth birthday, while he and two of his cousins played in the front yard a truck ran off of the road into our yard and hit my son. What made this so heinous was the driver kept on going, making a delivery and telling his customer he thought he'd hit a kid. The only reason he was brought back was because a man making a delivery across from our house chased him down and brought him back to await the police. The cold heartedness of this man I equated with pure evil. He claimed he had not hit my son, my son hit his truck. My son lived, just by the grace of God, and outside of a permanent back injury is well enough to be in the military. This was an excellent book. One that I could not put down. Quin is an athlete pushed by his father to let nothing stand in the way of his athletic career, not a girl and not a hit and run accident. Laurie is the girl who is so pushed to fit in with the "in" crowd by her mother that she will throw out what she knows is right to get what she wants. What she wants is Quin. Analise is the victim of a hit and run accident. She is locked inside her body unable to communicate with those she loves. Her boyfriend Jeremy proves he loves her by staying by her side all the way through the book. This is a hard look at right and wrong. Something I know teens can relate to. I loved this book and before I take it back to school I will lend it to my daughter who first introduced me to Lurlene McDaniel's books. Sorry I made her wait so long.
willowwaw on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The only good thing about this book was that is was a fast read. I didn't like how it was very spacy and didn't have a very clear flow. It did have some nice values that came about in the end, but I didn't feel that retribution was made. I wouldn't recomend this book to anyone.
hockeygalscores on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A sad, dissapointing book. The book is slow at the beginning. It goes slowly to the climax-where it ends within five pages. This book is highly unsatisfying. You may read the first page, and say wow this is good. But in the end you are left with more dissapointment. It was a decent plot, where you see all points of view. McDaniel had the right plot, but she just couldn't pull through when she wrote it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Contained tension
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Could not put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book every every one needsto read this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book!!! I read it a year ago and now I'm hooked on any books by this author. She's amazing!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who wants to read the best book ever. Its HIT AND RUN baby!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KianaB More than 1 year ago
I have been putting this book off for awhile now. But I totally regret it, I wish I had read this book earlier. It is great. The summary on the back of the book actually did not really catch my eye. It was actually the picture on the front of the book. It seemed interesting and different from any other book I have ever read. When I read the first couple of chapters, I was definitely hooked. It is not a slow book at all, what so ever. It keeps you wanting to read more, and thats what it did to me. If you are the type of person that loves mystery and romance, this will definitely get you going. I am looking forward to reading another novel by Lurlene, hopefully it will be as good as this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its not the best book she as write,but its worth the read and money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book really makes me want to think hard before i get in to another car or even go on a date at all! LOVEEE ITTT!!!! :))!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it. On my nook i read a sample. I want to read the whole thing. It seems good the way everybodys rating it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sara Ewell More than 1 year ago
One of my favorites
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a very good book but it was also VERY pridictable, but otherwise it was great.