Hiss of Death (Mrs. Murphy Series #19)

Hiss of Death (Mrs. Murphy Series #19)

by Rita Mae Brown

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hiss of Death 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 79 reviews.
llh0803 More than 1 year ago
I have always loved this series. I even named my own cat Mrs. Murphy in honor of it. I loved how Ms. Brown developed her characters into real people with real life issues who also have a lot of murders happen around them! The first few books dealt with Harry and Fair's divorce and the aftermath of that and it was heartbreaking and hilarious at the same time. The animals were spot on in their commentary and they took an active role in the mystery investigations. These last 2 books have been so disappointing that it breaks my book loving heart. The animals are minor characters now, and I feel like she just keeps recycling the animal conversations from book to book. Actually I can look in past books and prove she is doing this. Harry has become predictable and boring and I am so tired of the big picture political/social statements that go on for pages. Dear Ms. Brown and Random house, if you are reading this hear the pleas of your readers and breathe new life into the series! There are so many more adventures and murders to be had with Mrs. Murphy!
fatcat77 More than 1 year ago
The latest Sneaky Pie mystery falls short of its predecessors. The plot is predictable, often wandering into political and social rants of the author's own agenda. Don't bother buying, it won't hold your attention.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just finished reading it last night and have to agree that this is the worst of the Mrs. Murphy series. I was very annoyed with the periodic political/social rants to the point I occasionally picked up a pen and defaced the book with my responses. The plot is thinner than most of Brown's books, in this series and her others. I figured out who did it well before the end, but there was rather little here that led up to it and there was little finesse as to how it all came together. I've enjoyed Rita Mae Brown's books for years and always look forward to them. I certainly am not going to give up on her, although if this trend continues I will be less inclined to rush into getting the newest offerings.
CozyFanPA More than 1 year ago
I've always looked forward to a new Mrs Murphy book. I've followed the characters since the beginning and feel like they're old friends. But Brown seems to have devolved into delivering long political and medical diatribes and doesn't even bother to research her medical facts (with just a very few exceptions, organs for transplant are NOT harvested at autopsy!). This will be the last one I read.
judy_from_mn More than 1 year ago
Unforntunatly I did not read the reviews before I bought this book or Cat of the Century. I also was disappointed in the political agendas. I have previously read all the Sneaky Pie mysteries and enjoyed them. Please come back to the straight mystery format. judy from MN
Tina Spagnola More than 1 year ago
I have read all in the series and am disappointed it seems as if the books have become a outlet for her ramblings about politics the actual story line is short but lots of fillers with her opinions
Linda2270 More than 1 year ago
I've loved this series for years but don't understand when we switched from mysteries to public opining on the government and a variety of other topics. Does Ms Brown not have an editor who can suggest that her books have become something other than a good mystery. Come on, Rita, back to mysteries, please.
DP55 More than 1 year ago
I usually LOVE this series but this one is not woth buying. I bought it for my mom site unseen and was sorry. Way too mcuh medical mumbo jumob. It gets in the way of the story. Don't need cancer treatment, I need a GOOD read!
ermb More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed this series before, but this one was a major disappoint. The book is just a plug for breast cancer research thinly disguised as a mystery. There was no humor, most of the interesting characters were missing, even the animals were flat. The soapbox was higher than ever, and I really get sick of Ms. Brown's assumption that no one who isn't from Virginia could possibly understand their idioms. I never thought I'd say this about a Mrs. Murphy book, but I want my money back, as well as the time I spent fervently hoping that the book would get better.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Crozet, Virginia, as she prepares to sell her first grapes, Mary Minor "Harry" Haristeen struggles with stage one breast cancer, but refuses to let the deadly disease prevent her from living. Thus with her husband Fair's encouragement the fortyish Harry signs up to participate in a 5K Run for Breast Cancer Awareness. However, before the race, Harry and her pets (felines Mrs. Murphy and Pewter, and incorrigible corgi Tee Tucker) find the corpse of popular Central Virginia Medical Complex operating room nurse Paula Benton. Harry met the OR nurse during one of her recent hospital stays and respected the woman who was a key organizer of the race. Paula apparently died of anaphylactic shock caused by a hornet's sting. However, Harry wonders if the woman was murdered as Paula had issues with former addict now drug counselor Thadia Martin. Both were attracted to Dr. Cory Schaeffer, who is almost electrocuted in an electric car, which further affirms the belief by Harry and her sleuthing team that someone murdered Paula and tried to kill the physician. The nineteenth Mrs. Murphy amateur sleuth (see Cat of the Century and Santa Clawed) is perhaps the most poignant tale of the long running series as the Brown tandem deftly focuses on breast cancer awareness inside of a well written whodunit. The cancer subplot supersedes the murder mystery summed up nicely in the Afterward by Ms. Brown's late mom: "You're going to be dead a long time. Do it now." Readers will enjoy the latest anthropomorphist mystery as the "real important characters" and the human support encourage Harry; who accompanied by her three pets investigate the death with the last word finally belonging to "maligned" Pewter. Harriet Klausner
hklibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I just loved this book! And sometimes that is NOT the case with Rita. She didn't get on her soapbox as much in this book. It was entertaining although the ending was so farfetched it was almost like something out of Disney. You just had to laugh. A quick read and a job well done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
<>
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gtg bbt
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beside the Warriors den sits a clump of thistles. If you push past them, a howelled out rock with a sandy floor. Nests sit.
Jazzikins53 More than 1 year ago
I truly was an avid reader of  the earlier books in this series.  I ran into this particular one as a book in my Nook archives queue that I didn't remember reading.  Within a few chapters, I recalled reading it.  And I also recalled why I archived both it and the next one in the series.  In her earlier books, I absolutely  loved Rita Mae Brown's quirky characters, her timing, her ability to allow the animals full personality and play.  So what turned me off so badly on this one?  The use of political cliche's masked as dialogue, was a big big factor early on in it.  I don't care that the author offers the excuse in the afterword that this is, after all, how these characters in that part of our country  would talk.  It took hold of me right in my brain, and I realized I couldn't  read the books anymore.  Her earlier use of the animals to do the same thing regarding religion should have been a tip off. Sorry, but if I want to read a politics oriented mystery, that's what I'll buy.  If I want a philosophy-religion oriented mystery, that's what I'll buy.  When I want a fun mystery using wonderfully created characters, including animals, well, now I'll go to Sofie Kelly's Magical Cats Mysteries.  Sorry folks, big thumbs down on the evolution of the Mrs. Murphy Mysteries.  Will re-archive the last two I acquired and fastidiously avoid any future ones.  My opinion only, your actual mileage may vary..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed thus series forever and I always will. Log live murphy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Oh, okay. Thanks," l mew, then l lead Autumnflower back to the first result, going around a branch.+Wildkit and Autumnflower
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Of course you can join! I'll need your full description (coat, markings, eye color, and three personality traits that describe you.) Put tthat in my den 'presidential agent series' result two s I can add you to the 'Cats of Horseclan list'. Thanks!"~Informing Whitestar
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To ur aid! R u in horseclan? Ill tell em!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go to overview ang click share then rate and review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Timereal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much. I am a big fan of Rita Mae Brown and she never disappoints.