Highly Illogical Behavior (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Highly Illogical Behavior (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

by John Corey Whaley

Hardcover(Library Binding - THIS EDITION IS INTENDED FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY)

$26.46 $29.40 Save 10% Current price is $26.46, Original price is $29.4. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Highly Illogical Behavior 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Bookyogi 8 months ago
I did not expect to listen to this book all in one day, but once I started I found I couldn’t stop. 16 year old Solomon is an agoraphobic who hasn’t left his house in three years and Lisa is determined to “fix” him and use his story of mental illness to get into a top college. Along with her adorable and engaging boyfriend they form a close friendship. What I liked: The easy humor. The characters are engaging and funny, slightly sarcastic, with a dry sense of humor which is pervasive throughout the story and lives in all the characters. Solomon, even though dealing with a significant mental illness, is relatable, likable, intelligent and funny. The story is told flipping back and for from Solomon to Lisa’s perspective which successfully gives us a full understanding of all parts of the story. Clark is a cinnamon roll who you can’t help but love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A 16 year-old boy, Solomon Reed, struggles with a disorder called agoraphobia. Ever since "the fountain incident" in middle school, it has been three years since he has gone outside. He suffers with severe panic attacks and horrible anxiety. Lisa Praytor comes along with her perfect boyfriend, Clark, and she wants to meet Solomon to try to "fix" him or make him better. But, the main reason she wanted to meet him was so she could get into the second-best psychology program for college. In order to get into the college she will have to write an essay explaining her "experience with mental illness". So, will she end up writing the essay for herself or for Solomon? Find out by reading John Corey Whaley's "Highly Illogical Behavior". I personally loved this book, it was funny, clever, and even contained a little romance. There were parts of the book I was not expecting which made me want to keep reading it more so, I definitely recommend reading this page turner you won't want to put down.
alyssayuri More than 1 year ago
After a year and a few days owning this book, I finally read HIGHLY ILLOGICAL BEHAVIOR. And it was beautiful. I finally decided to read this because it's Pride Month and I haven't read a book with the main character as an LGBT rep. though I read this in a couple of days, I actually put this off. and since it's so hot and i can't sleep properly I actually read it quickly than I expected. But it wasn't the heat that kept me from sleeping, it definitely was this book! and i am regretting i put this off. I am in love with it! I love the characters, the plot, the flow of the story and just everything about it! ... except for the little itty bitty thing that I thought was left unanswered for me. Anyway, the plot was cray for me. there's this girl who wants to fix a mentally ill person. yeah the girl is cray. and it sounds so wrong in so many levels. but i think Sol's story is the one that makes it more enticing! and Sol's the one that makes the plot so good! As the story goes on, there's this beautiful friendship that's formed and I cannot help but feel for all of them. The characters are superb! Besides Sol, Lisa, and Clark, there are these minor characters that shine very much. Sol's parents and Grandma are so cool! and I understand that because my parents are awesome too. The main characters though are just hands down amazing. Though Sol has mental illness, the author made it clear that he is still a functioning human being. And that made me realize that it's the same for real people with mental illness too. I swear! this is why i love reading books, i get a glimpse of other people's lives even though it is a fiction book. Anyway, it also shows that sometimes the normal people are the ones that have something wrong with them. the story flow is so good. I feel like I'm in Sol's house too. Like I was part of there little group playing games and watching TV. and when we are getting to the climax of the story, I was almost tearing up. My eyes were getting wet because of the feels. i got totally emotionally invested in the book. and that doesn't happen often! i even had my phone ready to snap photos of those quotes that speak so much to me. This book was just truly beautiful! and this could be a competitor for the best reads I have for the year. And since it's John Corey Whaley writing, he throws curveballs. And those curveballs just went straight to my heart like it was the catcher's glove. I'm so happy I read it. It's perfect for the summer and it's perfect for Pride month!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The charecters are intresting, the plot unpredictable, and evrything loveable
DevinsBookHub More than 1 year ago
Highly Illogical Behavior is one of the more unique books I've read, since it's not every day you encounter a book where the main character has agoraphobia, which is the fear of crowded spaces or enclosed public places. In fact, the protagonist, Solomon, hasn't left his house in three years. He has no friends and plans on keeping things this way for the rest of his life. Or so he thought. One day a girl named Lisa who went to his old school before he switched to homeschooling stumbled across an ad for a dentist Solomon's mom worked at. She questioned if it was his mother, as she was curious what become to him, so she made an appointment for a checkup at the dentist. Unlike Solomon, Lisa has plans that don't involve staying at home for the rest of her life. With college nearing she wants to get into the second best psychology program, but needs a killer essay to guarantee her acceptance into it. She decided she will work with Solomon so she can fix him and write all about the experience in the essay. After the dentist appointment it's agreed by everyone that she can visit Solomon and hang out for a while. Solomon and the rest of his family don't know a thing about the essay, though. They all think she wants to be Solomon's friend with no hidden agendas of any sort. As with any scenario, an idea such as Lisa's is much more easier said than done, with all kinds of road blocks along the way. It was a fun read, even humorous at times, and I enjoyed seeing Lisa, her boyfriend Clark, and Solomon all grow closer together as friends. I felt that the ending of this story was really good, everything came together in a way I didn't quite expect. I thought it was very clever, so props to John Corey Whaley for that. If you liked Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green, I think you'll like Highly Illogical Behavior too.
booookworm More than 1 year ago
i just love reading books where the main character is having a tough time and the parents are SO wonderful and understanding!!!! such a good book to read if you want to understand someone with anxiety.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read a couple of other YA books in the last 2 months that touch on mental illness, but this one really goes there. Lisa is determined, no, desperate to get out of town. Everything she does is geared toward getting good grades and progessing through high school in a way that will get her into her desired college and away from the mess that her mother has made of their lives. Even her choice of boyfriend, Clark, a good looking and sweet natured athlete seems to be more a matter of calculation than emotion. When she needs to write an essay on her experience with mental illness in order to get into the college that will make all her dreams of escape possible, she remembers the kid who one day stripped off at school and lay down in the fountain...and was never seen again. Solomon has panic attacks and agoraphobia and hasn't been out of the house in 3 years. He doesn't think he can be fixed. So when a strange girl suddenly befriends and takes him a little outside of himself, can he decide to get better? A wonderfully written story and a moving look at mental illness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MariahEllis More than 1 year ago
John Corey Whaley has hit another home run. Highly Illogical Behavior was a quick read with alternating points of view. The conversations and situations between the three main characters (Solomon, Lisa, and Clark) were believable and filled with the perfect balance of humor, heartbreak, seriousness, learning, and feels. This is a story that is going to stick with me. Please do yourself a favor and pick this book up. You will fall in love with the characters and be reminded that maybe, humanity isn't as bad as it seems.