A Highland Christmas (Hamish Macbeth Series)

A Highland Christmas (Hamish Macbeth Series)

by M. C. Beaton

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$6.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Highland Christmas (Hamish Macbeth Series #16) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
InSpirit More than 1 year ago
A great introduction to this author's writing. Enjoyed the well described atmospheric Scottish Highland settings. Familiarity with locations mentioned added to my enjoyment and the reality of the story. Definitely could picture the Christmas attitudes resisting celebration due to religious heritage and loved the actions of our protagonist in bringing that feared celebration into so many lives. A fun, quick reading addition to my Christmas shelf ! Looking forward to exploring more by this author...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this short book. Well written and cute for a Christmas story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having read all of the Hamish McBeth series, I found this to be not only one of the best, but also one of my favorites. Maybe I was just in the mood for a story filled with the coziness of a highland holiday, maybe having suffered through a long and very hot summer I was ready to be transported to a world of snow and icy winds, quirky characters and a satisfyingly warm hearted ending. Whatever the reason, this one hit the spot for me. Read it very slowly as it is very short and you won't want to skim over a word of this very entertaining tale.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This may have been my quickest read of the year. (It was only 130 pages after all.) I read it in about two hours all together. I loved this book! I haven't read M.C. Beaton for quite a while, and I'm glad to be reminded how much I enjoy both the Hamish Macbeth series and the Agatha Raisin series. This was one of the coziest cozies I've read, and the theme was, of course, centered around Christmas, which was just what I was in the mood to read! In A Highland Christmas, the constable of the Scottish village Lockdubh, Hamish Macbeth, investigates the disappearance of a cantankerous old woman's cat and the theft of several boxes of Christmas lights and a tree from a neighboring village. I absolutely adored how Hamish brings the cases to a close in his own inimitable style. I won't say any more about the plot, for fear of giving away spoilers, but I will say that reading this is almost guaranteed to fill one with Christmas spirit, and to warm the cockles of the iciest heart. This book would have thawed even Scrooge or the Grinch! My only complaint is that it was such a wonderful, yet short read it left me desperately wanting more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hamish Macbeth is missing his vacationing family this Christmas. The Scottish highlands are dour and so are the people around him. With his usual flair he manages to solve two mysteries and brighten the season for others. Well-written and a just right read for this time of year!
susiesharp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fun christmas cozy!I really enjoyed it and will be looking into more of this series!
lycomayflower on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A Hamish Macbeth mystery from the middle-ish of the series, though the first I've read (I have seen all of the television series based on the books). Light on plot, this installment could be called "Hamish Saves Christmas." It's a light, quick, pleasant little book, and just the thing for a cold (almost-) winter afternoon's diversion from longer, heavier reads in the works.
drebbles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's Christmas time in Lochdubh, Scotland, although it doesn't feel like it. Christmas decorations have been banned in the village, at least outside decorations. Constable Hamish MacBeth isn't too happy but he has his work to keep him busy. Someone has stolen some Christmas trees and lights from a nearby village; a lonely elderly woman has lost her cat and seems afraid of someone or something; and a young schoolgirl seems to be hiding some secrets. Hamish's methods may seem unorthodox, but he will solve these problems by Christmas day. "A Highland Christmas" is a very good but light entry in M.C. Beaton's Hamish MacBeth cozy mystery series. It's a slim book, a little over one hundred pages and there are no real mysteries in the book, outside of the missing Christmas trees. Despite the brevity of the book, M.C. Beaton still squeezes in all the elements that I love about the series: Hamish's ability to outwit Detective Chief Inspector Blair; his pining for Priscilla Halburton-Smythe; his mooching free meals; and the various characters that make up Lochdubh. In many ways the book feels like a Christmas gift for Beaton fans (a stocking stuffer, perhaps). Everything in the book is wrapped up neatly as Hamish solves the small mysteries and manages to bring happiness to several people. The ending is particularly delightful and I couldn't help but smile as I finished reading the book. Readers will love the Christmas gift Hamish gets. "A Highland Christmas" is a quick and enjoyable read - perfect for this busy time of year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series, I had to start from the beginning.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story was as very good. I will want to read more of his stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Christmas story. It's differentn than the usual Christmas story, great fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Made me love hamish all the more-
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a introduction Hamish the bobby easy going and well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago