Hero

Hero

by Samantha Young

Paperback

$15.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hero (Seeds of Life Giftcard Series) with Flower Seeds 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 87 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved everything about this book. Did not put it down all day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just really liked everything about this book! This author hasnt disappointed me yet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This entire book was about a weak heroine chasing after a man who mistreated her from day one. I like this type story if the heroine gives as good as she gets but that never happens here. Everytime her treats her like crap she can't wait to fall all over him. Not my cup of tea. I can't believe all the high ratings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Samantha Young is The best !!!
Lisa_Loves_Literature More than 1 year ago
So let's just say that this book was one that my checkout from the library expired when I was at a VERY important point in the story, at 75%. It was almost a whole month before I got it back to finish listening to. It expired right before I went to Apollycon and got to see the author for the second time. Once again you have the "secret" that one wants to keep and the other doesn't, which is something in a lot of stories for drama, but in real life I don't think would happen. But I loved so much about the book. Once again Young writes wonderful characters, especially the side characters sometimes. In this case it was Caine's neighbor Effie. I loved her so much! And then to have the characters that you felt you loved turn out to be the ones in the end that weren't the ones you should love, so much drama and emotion, and another wonderful book from Samantha Young.
Book_Sniffers_Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Right off the bat you know this is going to be a good story. You know Caine is going to be resentful and that he’s going to make Alexa jump through hoops. However, it was a bit annoying that he does this throughout the entire story. I mean, the big secret of who she is is revealed within the first chapter. So, it’s not like half the book is Alexa hiding who she is from him. So, when she gets fired from her job and Caine decides to pay her to be his personal assistant, you know he’s going to put her through the wringer. Their banter was great and I loved seeing Alexa’s snarkiness pull some emotion out of Caine, but it was frustrating with the way he’d let her in and then push her away. There came a time where I wished Alexa would just walk away because she was beginning to seem like a bit of a doormat. Not only was Alexa’s relationship with Caine a little strained but apparently Alexa’s father is part of a very wealthy and powerful family. Only her grandfather knows who she is and keeps in contact with her… but only in secret. No one else knows that he makes contact with her and he wants to keep it that way. So, the few times they bump into each other while at galas and various events, her grandfather acts like he’s never met her before. Again, Alexa just tries to let it roll of her shoulders and makes excuses for him. And again, this happens all the way up until the end of the book. I guess that while I enjoyed the story, I didn’t care for the way Alexa allowed herself to be treated. You get the sense that no one has ever chosen her. Her mother kind of turned her back on Alexa when her father came back into the picture, Caine refuses to commit to her and pushes her away when she gets too close, and her own grandfather won’t acknowledge her for fear of upsetting the rest of their family and creating a scandal. Maybe if the people in her life weren’t so crappy, or if Caine wasn’t such a douche to her, or maybe if Alexa put her foot down and demanded some respect, I would have enjoyed the story more. However, While I really liked the story as a whole, I found myself getting irritated and bored that it just kept circling back around to the same issues over and over again.
JM21 More than 1 year ago
Do I even have words for what I just read? YES I DO! This book was insane from page 1! I loved how the action just started right away. So complex and so heartbreaking and beautiful. It kept me awake until the wee hours of the night lol and I knew I had to get back to reality. #adultingsucks Lol I can sleep later …MUST…FINISH…BOOK! It was so hard to get through all the hurtful things he would say and thank goodness she had Effie because my gosh. Talk about GUT WRENCHING! If words could literally cut you his were the sharpest blade out there. I know they both have issues and they both try to do the best they can but ahhhh I wanted her to focus on herself and see where she could be on her own for a while. The way the story unfolded though was just beautiful and I understand why Caine is that way and why Alexa is a fighter. I WAS SO SHOCKED about her half-brother. I thought it would be him but then he hired a hitman my gosh and then confronting her dad. OH EM GEE! That is so brave. This story was perfection and literally shows you that hope is such a strong feeling and to always follow your intuition. I can’t wait for Henry and Nadia’s novella! Some of my fav quotes: Being honest had been scary and it hurt, but at least I wasn’t a coward. "Right then Caine was just a guy waiting on his girl. Except . . . I wasn’t really his. “Did you ever really grow up, Lexie?” I shot him a saucy look. “I did in all the places that matter.” Like always, triumph rushed through me at the sound of his answering laughter. As sad as it was, sometimes there really was too much damage between people. Sometimes we were better apart than we were together.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrific! I love this book!! Amazing! I purchased more books from Samantha Young after reading this book!!! Two Thumbs All The Way UP!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was pretty good for what it was
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved, loved, loved this book! Great plot, characters and sexy scenes! Plus it was all in one book not three separate parts.
BookWorm221 More than 1 year ago
Samantha Young can do no wrong! Finally! Hero by Samantha You, one of my favorite writers, since she announced this standalone book I just couldn’t wait to read, and even though the wait felt really long, I can say it was totally worth it. The only downside to loving her books is that I end u reading them very fast and when they are over I just want more. In Hero we meet Alexa and Caine and from the very beginning the book captivated me. That first chapter is certainly unforgettable. Alexa and Caine are connected to each other in a way I’m sure neither of them like. In the past Alexa’s father was involved in a terrible event that changed Caine’s life completely and now years later after Alexa finds the truth about her father, she can help but feel a pull towards Caine, at first she just wants to apologize for her father’s actions and maybe be friends but later as she gets to really now him she can help but fall in love with this enigmatic character. On the other side we have Caine, someone who is still resentful towards Alexa’s family for what they did to his family and wants absolutely nothing to do with her, but after doing some thinking he decides to make Alexa suffer and the best way is by hiring her as his PA and making her run all over town doing errands for him. The interaction between Alexa and Caine is one of my favorites to read; that bickering and back and forwards in their relationship, had me laughing and swooning at the same time, and when things start to get more intense with them it felt natural and real. Both Alexa and Caine have ghosts in their pasts and they make it difficult for them to start a relationship, a real and lasting relationship, but one thing I did like was the ability that Alexa had to never give up on her love for Caine, even if he was making it really hard for her, I could relate to that kind of love and respect and also devotion towards another person and the absolute knowledge that maybe you can’t change someone or how they feel about you but you can still loved them and if you feel it worth it, fight for them. The book had so many revelations that I could help but gasp a few times. Definitely a new favorite book.
IHOTTIMAMI22 More than 1 year ago
love love love this book!!!!!! I'm begging for a 2nd sequel!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Always love Samantha's creations and this one was no different!
JoannaDursi More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! I cannot believe I haven't read anything else of hers besides On Dublin Street. Caine can definitely give Braden a run for his money. Caine and Alexa are tied to each others pasts. When he finds out who she is, he turns her world upside down. Their story had so many different elements to it that it was fast paced and I just couldn't put it down. One thing I love is a good epilogue and this one was GREAT! Definitely one of my favorites. - "Will it ever be enough?" - "Do you ever want it to be?" - "I'd spend my last hours inside you if I could."
Karenls1956 More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worth the read. Enjoyed it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was excellent!
megankylene More than 1 year ago
I was in the mood for a fun read so I started searching through the books I have and thought I'd pick up Samantha Young's latest book. I am so glad I did! While some of the book made me roll my eyes, I really liked the dynamic and romance between Caine and Lexie. If you like office romances, you should pick this one up. Alexa Holland is the granddaughter of Edward Holland, an heir to a diamond fortune and one of the wealthiest men in Boston. Though no one in the Holland family knows that Alexa is part of this famous family, except for her grandfather. Due to her father's secret affair with another woman that ended in her death, Edward cut him out of the family and in turn never acknowledged Alexa as their own. (Are you following that plotline? Bear with me.) Alexa is successful in her own right as the assistant to a world-famous photographer, but her boss fires her after a photo shoot with Boston's hottest bachelor, Caine Carraway, goes awry. Caine is part of Alexa's father's troubled past. The women who he was having an affair with was Caine's mother and he has always carried a grudge against them. So when Alexa revealed her last name to him, he went off and the whole photoshoot went to the crapper. Caine's outburst gets Alexa fired leaving her begging him to help her get her job back. He does one better. He offers her a job as his personal assistant but the catch is that Caine isn't exactly nice to her. Remember the Holland family grudge?  Caine makes her life a living hell, making her all over the city, shopping for his groceries and breaking up with his lady friends. Alexa has had it with his jerky ways. And makes it known. But there's obviously more to Caine's less-than-nice ways. Underneath that resentment is carnal attraction and he finally lets it all out. The two start a secret sex-only affair. While a bit cliche, for some reason the romance part of the book worked for me. Yes, I could write an essay on how big of a jerk Caine was (most) times but I'll save my breath. I liked Caine's broodiness and Alexa's resolve to break through his emotional barriers. Towards the end Caine was a jackhole and I wanted to slap his across the face. But this book was entertaining and I liked it. Like I said earlier, I didn't like Caine and Alexa's shared history and family backstory. Not only was it confusing and hard to follow but it was over-the-top. I could have done without some of the dramatics in the end. Geesh. Check out Hero by Samantha Young when you're in the mood for a quick read with an office romance with plenty of steam! This one will be sure to hit the spot! 3 stars * I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm so glad this is a one-book-wonder instead of being part of a series! I loved everything about this book and Samantha Young is becoming one of my favorite authors! Sexy and lustful, mixed with real emotions and feelings... PERFECT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed everything about this book! Really good read. Great characters and a great story. I appreciate Authors that give you a whole book instead of a couple of chapters, then make you wait months for the others. I was blow away. Could not put it down until I was finished.
A_Lauren More than 1 year ago
Really good read - love the characters