Heretics of Dune

Heretics of Dune

by Frank Herbert

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, December 16

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Heretics of Dune 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 83 reviews.
FanofLetoII More than 1 year ago
Heretics of Dune has more action than the previous book in the Dune series, if that is what you are looking for. My interest in this book, however, is inm the follow up to Leto II's incredible sacrifice--the continuation of his "Golden Path". In saving humanity from itself, Leto had to bring the civilization to a standstill until the creation of a human who could fade from precient awareness. Now in this book, 1500 years later, we see the rteturn of the peoples who scattered--the murderous Honored Matres. Where did they originate? Why are they so viscious? This is only the first book to tackle that question--and the conclusion of the series. Never has there been a more complex creation-with incredible philosophical insight to human nature and individual deep awareness-in a fictional epic. Leto II himself is probably the most complex fictional character ever created.
brjunkie More than 1 year ago
Personally, I felt this novel was too long and too slow paced for my liking. However, it deals mainly with the Bene Gesserit, which I like a lot. They raise another Duncan ghola from a small boy, while keeping a watchful eye on Sheeana on Rakis. The Bene Gesserit are threatened by the return of the Honored Matres from the Scattering, and the secret the Tleilaxu have put in the new Duncan ghola. I did like the character Miles Teg, and his amazing Mentat abilities. His involvement help to keep some of the story interesting and to move along. I don't mean this as a bad thing, but the best was the last few chapters of the book were things really start to unfold. ( I would recommend this book as a first time read of the Dune series.)
Guest More than 1 year ago
What would happen if a Bene Gesserit turned evil? We get a terrifying glimpse of their power when the Honored Matres come burning and murdering back into the "Old Empire". The brutal Honored Matres enslave their populations with terror and addictive sex. The Bene Gesserit Sisterhood watch in horror as their precious planets are destroyed one by one as the Honored Matres search for their Chapterhouse. The great Bashar Miles Teg is called back into service to help defend the Sisterhood from the chaos. The mysterious Bene Theilax scheme for domination of the galaxy, the ancient priesthood on Dune are invaded by the new and far more dangerous Face Dancers. In this Dune Chronicle, the Bene Gesserit and their amazing powers are fully explored and threated with extinction. An exciting and imaginative addition to the Dune pantheon. Heretics and Chapterhouse are by far my favorites. Like I said, BENE GESSERIT RULE!
DirtPriest on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Much more action here, my complaint being that the reader is simply a blind witness to a plan unfolding behind the scenes. Every new scene has, surprise, surprise, a pre-planned encounter. There was no real sense of watching a plan evolve and come to fruition, just idly watching from the background with no involvement or trying to decipher the plot. Still, however, the great story continues on. Very satisfying and a page turner nonetheless, really ramps up the excitement for Chapterhouse: Dune, the final Frank Herbert volume.
collingsruth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I actually felt like this book was a return to form. Leaving all the old characters behind leaves so much more room for exploring this universe and new storylines.
Radaghast on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first three Dune novels had a clear direction and overarching plot. The fourth was an excellent start to something knew. But somethings missing in Heretics of Dune. Herbert's vision begins to fade. Still great, but no longer excellent.
danconsiglio on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I will never, ever get sick of stories about giant sand worms. Not sure what this says about me, but I'm OK with that.This is the last of the Dune books published in Herbert's lifetime. Like God Emperor, this one takes place thousands of years after its immediate predecessor and drops the reader right in to a now unfamiliar history. It's obvious that Herbert had become interested in the other secret societies of his universe by the time he got to this one. The protagonists are all Bene Gesserit and we get to see much more of the Tleilaxu than in any of the other books. I'm a total sucker for overly realized universes.In all Heretics of Dune is a good read with some very strong female characters and much more directly described action than any other Herbert book that I have ever read.
aethercowboy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Leto is dead. Rakis is slowly becoming a desert planet once again, and the sandworms are starting to reappear.And there's a girl who can control them with her dances!While normally revered by the religious, and called Shai-hulud, Sheeana, the one who dances for the worms, calls them, instead Shaitan, which, as you may quickly determine, grinds the gears of the religious elite.Duncan Idaho (and who could very well write a good Dune book without including him), or rather, his Ghola, is being raised by the Bene Gesserit, in order to make the perfect controller for the prophesied Sandrider. Though, attempts are made on the life of Idaho, and those taking charge of him must go into hiding.Slowly, the fates of Sheeana and Idaho meet, and forever change the pattern of the known universe (but what Dune book doesn't end this way?).Enjoyable if you liked the other REAL Dune books, and just want more. Some, though, who loved the original Dune a lot do not seem to favor the F. Herbert sequels. I haven't quite figured this one out, but plan to eventually.
Waianuhea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not one of my favorites of the series. I'd rather re-read Dune Messiah.
MSWallack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I remember reading this when it first came out in the early 1980s and finding it to be a somewhat boring and difficult book (not as difficult as God Emperor of Dune...). So, when I decided to re-read books 5 and 6 (Chapterhouse: Dune) in the series prior to reading the newly published book 7 (Hunters of Dune) I wasn't sure if my memory was correct. (I've read the first 3 books in the Dune series several times and God Emperor twice, but I'd only read Heretics and Chapterhouse when they were originally published and, frankly, didn't remember them very well.) Unfortunately, my memory was correct. The book wasn't so difficult now that I'm older, but it was still pretty boring. The action and adventure that drew me to Dune in the first place were mostly lacking from Heretics and Chapterhouse; rather, Herbert spent most of his time having his characters converse and ruminate on certain aspects of humanity. All fine and good, but a little action would have helped. I'm glad that I re-read these books as having failed to do so would have made Hunters of Dune less enjoyable, but books 5 and 6 of the DuneI/i> saga simply are not as engaging as the earlier volumes (note that I say engaging, rather than good; the books are very good if the subject matter and storytelling technique are what you want).
DCArchitect on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The chance to once again inhabit Mr. Herbert's universe makes up for the lack of momentum that 'The Chronicles' exhibit after 'Dune.' While 'Dune' is required reading for any Sci-Fi fan (and highly encouraged reading for everybody) only dedicated sci-fi readers will need apply here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Most readers don't make it this far but Heretics does a wonderful job of continuing to introduce new characters that deserve to be immortal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story reveals more of letos design and redeems him.
Adam_Gentry More than 1 year ago
Strength fuels opposition, victory ignites it. 1,500 years have passed since the time of Leto II, the God Emperor. His fall marked the beginning of the Famine Times, prompting many to leave the known universe. Now the descendants of that Scattering have returned, in numbers that dwarf the empire they left behind. Only the Bene Gesserit stand against them, buying time while their plan comes to fruition. Once more the fate of mankind hinges on two special children. One is a young Duncan Idaho, the latest in a long line of gholas; the other is a child of the desert, Sheena, who has the power to command the worms of Rakis. Heretics of Dune has everything fans have come to expect from a Dune book; a young protagonist groomed for a specific role, a strong female who challenges authority, and a plethora of complex ideas; ranging from the nature of power and strength, to the unavoidable inequality created by social hierarchies. And yet…something is missing. Throughout the story there are numerous references to a looming threat on the horizon, but within the scenes themselves there’s little sense of urgency. Dialogue dominates every scene, a mix of heated debates that hint at a grand plan, and intellectual discussions that blatantly state the underlying ideas instead of quietly hinting at them. Flashbacks and summaries break up the monotony with warm memories that help to personalize each character. Unfortunately it’s the characters themselves that create the biggest problem. Most stories begin with a disruption, and spend the rest of the story trying to restore order. But the Bene Gesserit, who dominate the story, have all passed through their trials. They are stable, strong, and implacable. In every situation they know exactly what to do, and they never hesitate. Against such opponents the antagonists struggle to keep up, engaging in brief skirmishes that quickly fizzle out, before finally mounting a proper offensive at the two-thirds mark. This forces the protagonists out of their secure routines; creating opportunities for younger, more dynamic characters to take center stage. The last quarter is as strong as anything in the Dune series, with an ending that feels fitting, if incomplete. Overall Heretics reads more like a prologue than an actual story, a necessary precursor to the real story, Chapterhouse: Dune. +Strong Dialogue *Complex but unchanging characters *Numerous brief references to complex ideas *Underdeveloped Plot -Weak, repetitive scenes 3/5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kind of the low point of the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having found Dune after the mini-series, and Children of Dune; comparisons of the movies with the actual book story, places it all into perspective. An example is the sequence where Paul faces the Reverend Mother, you actually understand what is going through his mind as he inserts his hand into the box, what is racing through his mind, all of the emotions, and feelings. Frank Herbert wrote a great series, his son continues the saga.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago