The Heart and the Fist: The education of a humanitarian, the making of a Navy SEAL

The Heart and the Fist: The education of a humanitarian, the making of a Navy SEAL

by Eric Greitens Navy SEAL

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Heart and the Fist: The Education of a Humanitarian, the Making of a Navy SEAL 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 135 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a retired Teacher/Dean and if I could, I would have every high school student read this book. Eric Greitens started on a humanitarian path at an early age but he soon learned it wasn't enough to help people, you also had to protect them, hence "the Heart and the Fist."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Heart and the Fist walks through Erik Greitens life as he finds and successfully lives a life of purpose and meaning. As a sophomore in college Greitens decides to study abroad. He realizes how fortunate his life in America compared to his fellow students in China. His time in China inspires him to go on a series of volunteer trips to refugee camps and orphanages. His interactions with suffering individuals lead him to the military where he strives to do more than donate his company and temporary help. Thank goodness I was forced to read this. Had it not been for a grade weighing on this novel or my word to a dear friend that I’d complete it, my book marker wouldn’t have budged past the middle of page eight. But by the end of chapter one my obligated read had become more than tolerable. It was clear that Eric Greitens is not your typical astound novelist; his story was not romanticized with riddling metaphors to draw a description, he merely spoke his story in a voice that brought a much needed humanization. With such impressionable images of the outside world and heroic acts on behalf of Greitens and his fellow men, Greitens’ “I’m-just-stating-how-it-was” voice allows his experiences and self to be relatable and understood on a personal level. Greitens struggled with living in a world where heroes are more or less well paid for personalities and talents, and that the pursuit of happiness ends in a life of economical success. His accomplished quest for a purposeful life shows how one is able to push past the areas where there are mainly good intentions and fluff being pumped through veins and redirect ones’ ambitions into areas where freedom is a privilege not yet obtained. Greitens illustrates that in under privileged lives charitable donations and volunteered time, although very much appreciated and helps each life tremendously, does not stop the violence, the corruption, the poverty; band-aiding and cleaning a wound does not stop more lacerations from occurring. It is this revelation Greitens comes to know and act upon that makes him such an exceptional inspiration. The novel exemplifies that peace does not mean the absence of war and happiness does not mean the absence of suffering and Erik Greitens is one grand guy. -LC
jls24 More than 1 year ago
If you ever think you've got it rough, then read this book. Greitens does a wonderful job of telling it like it is in other countries and describing his SEAL training. He manages to do this without coming off as cocky or full of himself. Greitens is the perfect example of how Americans can give back to society. Definitely an American hero!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Heart and the Fist is a informative well written book, by Eric Greitens. The author is telling stories about himself and his life as a soldier and a civilian. Each chapter is a different journey into another time in his life or another country he visited and helped out in. the book is easy to read and hard to put down, I would recommend this to anyone who is in search for an easy read and some important life lessons. There is a lot to be liked about this book, it is written in a way that puts the reader in the situation that Eric was in. Also I like that there is a lot of lessons that Eric learns from his journeys and the reader can learn from them.
DSFetters More than 1 year ago
Well written and inspiring personal story detailing the author's background and how it led him to join the U.S. Navy's SEALs and start his foundation, The Mission Continues, which helps wounded and disabled veterans engage in a second career of service by getting involved in community-based service organizations.
ChicChic325 More than 1 year ago
Greitens brings you through his life in a way that weaves the good the bad and the inspirational together to inspire you to get involved. His book is not without criticism of volunteer programs of the US military- but he does so in a way that is constructive and makes you think- is there a better balance between security and communication? Read this book if you want a better understanding of the two ways of international diplomacy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Full of hard earned wisdom served up with humility and compassion for others.
Worth_Cadenhead on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was an outstanding book. For one thing, it was written by a Rhodes Scholar. For another, it stands apart from nearly all books on the topic of international relations. Most will take the side of pacifistic help, but don't fight or the other side of the coin: Kill 'em all, let God sort 'em out. I believe Mr Greitens sums up his theme well when he says: "The world needs many more humanitarians than it needs warriors, but there can be none of the former without enough of the latter.¿ I'd recommend this book for: Everyone
co_coyote on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The news about Osama bin Laden caused me to want to learn more about the Navy Seals. This book was the first to catch my attention and was not the kind of book I expected it to be. I can see why it had five star reviews on Amazon. I had no idea Rhodes scholars like Eric Grietens would find themselves in the Navy Seals, but I'm glad they do. It restores some of my confidence in the US military and the often difficult job they do. Call this an antidote to the Jon Krakauer book about Pat Tillman, Where Men Win Glory.
GreenSpectre on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book. Eric is pretty modest, or so it seams, discussing his early education, getting into college, and then becoming a Rhodes scholar. He shows the need for both humanitarian and the warrior in today's word.
Glenajo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In The Heart and the Fist, Eric Greitens wrote a modern day hero story, at least for me. I totally enjoyed following his journey around the world as a volunteer and then into SEAL training and beyond. Greitens meets the challenges of today¿s youth with a strength and maturity and leads the way for others to follow him into a stronger, deeper life. Greitens writes of the suffering clearly, but allows the humanity of the suffering to shine through. Instead of using his thorough education to fill his pockets, he shows others how it is possible to be educated and a warrior. His descriptions of SEAL training are interesting and eye opening, as are his observations as a `more mature¿ trainee. I loved this book, and as a teacher, I wish I could get every teen-ager to read it.
BigSix More than 1 year ago
This is a really good story. His experiences outside the military make him the perfect warrior.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first half of the book describes the heroic acts of our soldiers, sailors and airmen as they fought our enemies in the Middle East. The second half covers their unselfish acts as veterans when they returned home and chose to help others facing overwhelming challenges. Both the "heart" and the "fist" of our military forces are impressive and inspiring. This book convinces the reader of the value of their efforts at war and at home - - and, for me, the important need to support their efforts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was in the military for 10 years and had the pleasure to work alongside Seal Teams. These people are incredible. Their mission is beyond fighting and service. This book was truly extraordinary. I didn't want it to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice book, not a lterary masterpiece but interesting character and his transformation. Not as good as I expected.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very inspirational and well written book . Enjoyed every moment
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No chest beating at all. You can feel the man's sincerity in every word.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago