Gravity

Gravity

by Tess Gerritsen

Hardcover

$16.85 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Gravity: A Novel of Medical Suspense 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 125 reviews.
Rose28RH More than 1 year ago
A little slow in the beginning but definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat for the rest of the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book would make a great SyFy movie but it wasn't my cup of tea. I enjoy most of her books but this one was out of character. I probably should have researched it a bit more before I bought it because it sure wasn't something that I would have bought.
WednesdayAddams More than 1 year ago
Tess Gerritsen has done it AGAIN! This story is absolutely amazing. It grabs you by your shirt and drags you into it and never lets go till the end. Can't say it enough that this is another mind-blowing read by the great Tess Gerritsen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the space jargon, it gave the story authenticity.
songbirdsue More than 1 year ago
WOW! This is full of thrilling excitement that you cannot put down. It is kind of like a combination of “Alien” and “Apollo 13”, with astronauts and space as well as genetics gone badly. It is not for the weak stomach though. I love the detail in which Tess Garrison delves. She is Fantastic at this genre. I love her stuff.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books that i have ever read. I highly recommend it. You will love it. It has everything that a good book needs and more. It will stand out in your mind.
redheadish on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Stephen King has it right when he said you should figure in the price of electricity wen you buy your first book by Tess because you will be up all night. I first thought I dont know if I would enjoy a med suspence on space travel but it didn't take long to not want to put this book down!
jenforbus on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dr. Emma Watson is training for her dream trip, a trip to the International Space Station. When tragedy strikes the family of an astronaut already on the space station, Emma's trip is fast-tracked. But when Emma reaches the Space Station her dream trip turns into a nightmare. A deadly virus is attacking the astronauts. Will Emma be able to stop the virus before it destroys the entire space station?Gravity turned out to be a little more in the realm of science fiction than what I normally read, so you'll have to take into consideration my bias as you read my review today. I listened to it on audio book, read by William Dufris. I thought he did a very nice job with one exception. He had a tendency to get overly dramatic. For people who like sci-fi more than me, this may be o.k., but the Doubting Thomas in me found it a tad over the top.For the most part, Gravity is very well written. This is the second Tess Gerritsen book that I've read and the style is strong in both. As a layman, I didn't notice any problems with logic. What I didn't particularly care for in this novel was the use of a couple of cliches. To avoid any spoilers (even though the book is 10 years old), I'll not mention what the cliches were exactly, but I will say they pretty much gave the plot away for me. I really didn't incur much surprise. What the plot does contain is food for thought. There are some rather disturbing issues that come up in the course of the plot. And you can't help wondering, which choice is the BEST choice? Is there a RIGHT and a WRONG?What Gerritsen doesn't disappoint on in this novel is character. She has a knack with developing sympathetic characters. She is also rather creative in naming her characters, but I'd like to see her have faith that her readers will connect the significance of their names, without her needing to point it out specifically.There was also a sub-plot in this novel that I really would have liked more development for. Typically I'm saying the sub-plot could be eliminated. In this case, it was paramount to the main plot, but I found myself wanting to know more about the characters involved in that part of the book.I think Gravity is probably an excellent choice for someone who appreciates the science-fiction element more than I do. I'm going to check out more of Gerritsen's medical thrillers that are a little more grounded in the crime fiction a little less in the science-fiction.
manadabomb on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I haven't read any medical/suspense books in ages. My treadmill is next to a bookcase and I just pulled this out and started reading. I've been reading a lot of non-fiction so this was a great distraction. And we know how much I like my medical lingo.Gravity leads us into the world of NASA as we watch Emma Watson and her team preparing to be sent into space to stay for 4 months on the ISS (International Space Station). Watson is a physician who is in the middle of a ugly divorce from her husband, fellow physician Jack. We can still see the hearts around them when they talk though...angry hearts but hearts nonetheless.Circumstances occur that cause Emma to be sent into space earlier, with another team. Once there, it's routing space station stuff, until experiments start going wrong. What happens next is an outbreak of "something" that is killing astronauts very quickly and very gruesomely. Everything is fast paced and we learn what this killer bug is at a breakneck speed.Pretty exciting and fun book to read.
caroren on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tess Gerritsen used to be a doctor, so it comes as no great surprise that the medical aspects of her latest thriller are absolutely convincing--even if most of the action happens in a place where few doctors have ever practiced--outer space. Dr. Emma Watson and five other hand-picked astronauts are about to take part in the trip of a lifetime--studying living creatures in space. But an alien life form, found in the deepest crevices of the ocean floor, is accidentally brought aboard the shuttle Atlantis. This mutated alien life form makes the creatures in Aliens look like backyard pets.Soon the crew are suffering severe stomach pains, violent convulsions, and eyes so bloodshot that a gallon of Murine wouldn't help. Gerritsen brilliantly describes the difficulties of treating sick people inside a space module, and how the lack of gravity affects the process of taking blood and inserting a nasal tube. Dr. Watson does her best, but her colleagues die off one by one and the people at NASA don't want to risk bringing the platform back to earth. Only Emma's husband, a doctor/astronaut himself, refuses to give up on her. As we read along, eyes popping out of our heads, all that's missing is one of those bland NASA voices saying, "Houston, we have a problem--we're being attacked by tiny little creatures that are part human, part frog, and part mouse."
jdy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not my favorite Tess Gerritsen novel, but it was okay. I'm not a huge sci-fi person, so when I starting reading about weird things inside the characters bodies, I got a little turned off. The good part was, it was a great story line of being in space, and the inner workings of NASA and the interest that captivated. Will always love Gerritsen's novels, this just wasn't one on the top of my list.
Darrol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An exciting tale about alien life forms and love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Genuinely sad to be done reading this. Such a great story. Very fast and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Different than anything else I’ve read from this author but not in a bad way. Awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are a syfy-realistic fan then this book is perfect for you. This book incorporates the realism of a real life Bioweapon that has the possibility of extinguishing every living soul on earth. The syfy influence in this book incorporates advanced medical bays in space ships and how the Biohazard adapts to human capabilities. The description that Tess Gerritsen uses throughout the book is very visual and takes your breath away. An example is when she describes the Biohazard as an indestructible organism that changes gives you an image in your head of something unimaginable. I found in the beginning of the book to be a slow read because the beginning to me made no sense to me about how it leads to the Biohazard. However, after the first few chapters, the tension begins to rise like brownies in an oven. The plot builds, builds, and builds till it can go no higher. Then, all settles. You then learn if mankind is doomed and everything on earth will evaporate like water on a very hot day, or if one woman will save all mankind and find where this biohazard originated. You will have to read the book to find out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the other books I read by Tess Gerritsen. Could not finish this one. I spent way too much time checking the glossary at the back of the book. Finally gave up! I'll wait for the movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of her best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Gravity. Ms. Gerritsen leaves room for the reader to use their imagination to visual the graphics in their mind. A very fast paced and enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Usually don't read books about space, but because this was written by Tess, I gave it a try. I can say, I was not disappointed!! I could not put it down, as usual for her books!! I can see this one being made into a movie!! I would most definately watch it.