The Grass Is Singing

The Grass Is Singing

by Doris Lessing

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Grass Is Singing 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The world of Dick and Mary Turner is one I would not want to visit in person, but that doesn't mean I can't appreciate what Lessing has accomplished here. About half way through this relatively short novel, I simply could not stop turning the pages. This is both a masterful study in character (and its dissolution) and a trenchant social commentary. Since reading this book a few weeks ago, I've passed it on to two other readers who've had an almost identical reading experience. This is the sort of novel that would work extremely well in a book discussion group. Much to ponder and debate.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Entering the world of this novel is depressing enough, and the slow pace and denouement do not justify this entry into darkness.
DebSimon More than 1 year ago
Quiet and soft, yet heavy, dark, deep; a true masterpiece. Fiction by Doris Lessings, awarded the Nobel Piece Prize in literature. Not a book for the faint of heart. This book was Published in 1950 about a woman slowing going mad in an isolated corrupt south African society. It sent shivers down my spine I've never experienced before. I'm almost afraid to read her other work, yet fascinated by author Lessing's incredible genius.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Doris Lessing and I know I will read more. Definitely worthy of a recommendation to my book group.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the most moving and powerful books I have ever read. I felt their sadness and despair as if they were my own. Pitied their inability yo see and change.
hampusforev on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very powerful. I really disliked Mary at first, but she grows on you with some sort of weird compassion. She is quite the bitch, sure, but you don't want her to end quite like she did.
jwhenderson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While the title sounds rather lyrical the story is anything but that. This is the story of Mary and Richard Turner, who farm the land in South Africa in the forties when apartheid is the rule. Mary is an intelligent woman who makes a a fateful choice in Richard for her husband. Living with Richard, who is ineffectual and unsuited to the life of farming, soon leads Mary to depression. She grows progressively bitter and takes her frustration out on the black servants that help run the farm. In spite of the darkness of the story, a tragedy that verges close to melodrama, the writing of the author in her first novel is lucid and imaginative. Lessing plumbs the psychology of Mary's depression and her marriage with Richard effectively, building suspense all the while even though the reader knows the outcome from the first page. It is the prose of Doris Lessing and the clarity of the structure of her novel that makes this one of the best first novels that I have ever read.
branful on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Like a great master looking back on his/her young folly. I feel a master's touch here. Hard to believe it was written by an author around 30 years of age.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Doris Lessing has done a masterful job of describing the challenge of living in the Bush surrounded by nature and the challenges therein. The relationship between the whites and the natives is both sad and difficult to realize as a part of our history. The mental erosion of the characters is gradual and complete but compelling to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Depressing. Hardly any dialogue and soooo.. descriptive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Really interesting-- I actually didn't listen in class the whole time I was reading it, as I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It gave me a prefect view. And i think u can have a look at it?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Strange, haunting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wanders in