Good At Games

Good At Games

by Jill Mansell

Hardcover(Large Print)

$31.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Good at Games 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun enjoyable easy read although somewhat predictable it still entertained and delighted with the cast of characters which to me was a plus since Ms. Mansell wrapped everything up in one book unlike other authors who leave you hanging and need to purchase 3+ books and frankly by the time you read the 3rd your DONE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, the protagonist is the kind of girl that girls would never want to be friends with, but guys usually like - dishonest, good looking, self centered, superficial, immoral and fickle. I didn't want her to win or lose, I just wanted her to go away.
TC60 More than 1 year ago
Love the characters. I enjoy all of her books
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Suzie was attracted to Harry (who was a cop) at first sight. Suzie lied to him to save her brother the ticket that would cost him his license. When seeing her again, he asked her to dinner. I just couldn't get into this story. It just seemed to drag on. After reading about half of it, I still couldn't get into it. **I received an ARC of this story in exchange for an honest review
gaele More than 1 year ago
The second I’ve read from Jill Mansell, Good At Games carries all of the fun, humor and crazy situations that I have come to expect (and appreciate) in my Brit Chick Lit writers. I actually prefer the “across the pond” perspectives, it feels more comfortable to me, and it just seems that I don’t find that issues (multiple characters to meet, head hopping, a gentle meander into multiple plot lines) don’t seem to rankle. So – we have Suzy as the ‘primary’ character, as all things sort of revolve around her: her ex-husband, the alcoholic in recovery former rock star Jaz and his stick-figure girlfriend Celeste, Suzy’s brother Rory who manages the real estate firm they both work at, her uptight (and wholly distasteful) sister Julia, her bff Fee, Harry the cop and his yummy brother Leo and the housekeeper/mother figure and the unknown element of Lucille. There are a LOT of characters to get to know – but the primaries are well built and have interesting quirks that clearly speak in their voice. It is head-hoppy with multiple POV switches happening although there is a rhythm to them: those little voices that give background and a ‘feel’ for the character that may have been lost in the sheer volume of people and events. And events there are: flirtations, a chattering dog, cultivating real estate clients, a slow track to Rory’s unwinding, spotlights and quiet moments, a budding singer with zero songwriting skills and a rock star who can write beautiful songs but is afraid to try. Two failed engagements, some infidelity, a hilarious couple who overheard Suzy’s heartfelt discussion with Baxter (the dog) and their ability to never forget her voice (or what she said). It’s full of positive attitudes (Suzy is confident, determined, and full of heart) and honest friendships with people who know your every quirk and near every secret- but are there anyway. It’s light and fun and if you just ‘go with” the multiple characters and their voices (interior and exterior) you will find that while Suzy is ostensibly the ‘pivot point’ in this story: all moments seem to circle back to her, but the true standout character here is friendship and love, even when life throws in a brick and a curveball. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
This book was SO much run to read! A large cast of quirky characters, so many humorous situations, such very real conflicts...all working out to an HEA (for most of them) in the end. The pages practically flew by; it definitely didn't feel as if it was more than 400 pages of reading! I'll try to keep this spoiler-free, so it might be a little sparse on the details. I really liked Suzy; she was easy to relate to. A failed first marriage (she was way too young, he was way too famous--and an alcoholic; but they stayed friends and a now dried-up Jaz was another endearing character), loves chocolate but not too fond of exercise, leaves bottles of nail polish in random spots (you never know when you'll want to put on a new coat, after all), she's also on the curvy side so she feels a bit less-than some of the super-tiny, super-skinny characters. (She's somewhat Bridget Jones-like without all the smoking and obsession over losing weight and dying alone. The humor and breezy writing style of this story is very similar.) Suzy's got a successful real estate career, though she does work for her workaholic older brother. Early on their mother has died, and just after the funeral Suzy and her siblings get quite a shock, one that changes pretty much everything they thought they knew about her up until that point. Suzy, the youngest in the family, had always yearned to be close to her mother but felt pushed away; early on the new development didn't at all help but a later one finally gives her some closure. Way too late to give her a good relationship with a living mum, but still... Reasons for 4 rather than 5 stars: There is an awful lot of character head jumping--sometimes multiple POVs on a single page--that did take a bit to get used to. (ARC formatting on mobi files is also sometimes a bit "off"--the finished product might have a space or something between character shifts; that would make it a little easier.) There's an awful lot of coincidences here (who ends up buying Suzy's mother's home, for example) and at least one very convenient plot device (how Suzy finds out about how her mother really felt about things) that remind the reader that this is, after all, fiction. The "good guys" get their HEA, and the "bad" ones end up with less-than. But I'm not complaining. I had so much fun reading this one that it was pretty easy to overlook any minor criticisms and get lost in the fun of an entertaining story. Plus, she makes us wait to the LAST PAGE to see Suzy get her HEA--so keeping on reading was a must! Rating: 4 stars / B+ I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars! This was a fun and entertaining book. There were so many couple twists in this story. No one ends up coupled with whom they are with at the beginning. The way that comes about is a hilarious and fun journey through the words of Jill Mansell. I spent an enchanting evening reading this book and definitely recommend it. The characters are quirky, fun, likable (for the most part) and enjoyable. I really wasn't ready for the book to end. I had come to think of these characters as friends and did not want to see them go. Huge thanks to Sourcebooks for approving my request and to Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest review. This was not my first Jill Mansell book and I definitely look forward to the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago