The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You're Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are

The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You're Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are

by Brené Brown

Paperback

$9.60 $14.95 Save 36% Current price is $9.6, Original price is $14.95. You Save 36%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You're Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 119 reviews.
20MAKAYLA11 More than 1 year ago
This concept is a gem that needs to be studied and practiced! Our struggle for perfection, fear of being seen as "different", fear of being disliked, un-accepted and so many other crippling aspects of "being human" all make us vulnerable to sickness, and misery. This wonderful book endears us to living an authentic life, whole-hearted living and accepting the fact that what makes us different also make us unique and special. We need to embrace our authentic selves and STOP trying so hard to please everyone else by being the way we think THEY want us to be. Yes, it sounds easy on paper but the truth is that, of course, this insight makes more sense than anything else I can think of! This should be on all of our bookshelves!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Realy teaches you that nobodys perfect and you dont have to be and you should take pride in your inperfections once in a while. I would recomend this to a friend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book. This book has helped me to relax and enjoy life instead of worrying all the time about being perfect. It's high expectations of ourselves that lead to stress/anxiety and this book helps open your eyes to realize you can be who you are and no one is going to care that you aren't perfect. I will probably end up reading this book again in a few months. It has really changed my perspective on things.
Charles_Merrick More than 1 year ago
An excellent and practical treatment of a ususally unspoken element in understanding/treating depression. I have read many books on getting to the root of personal depression issues and this one cuts to the chase with clarity and a refreshing sense of humor. I feel very inspired by the information and instruction in this book and by the author herself. Her description of her personal process with shame/imperfection really touched a chord within me and I am looking anew at my own journey towards a healthier outlook on life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book brings forth a simple, but very important concept of accepting our own self. What makes the book so great is that it is easy to read and relate to because it comes with Brene Brown's personal experiences and not a lot of analytical mumbo jumbo.
room145teacher More than 1 year ago
Have not finished the book yet, but so far I like what the author has to say. The irony is that this ebook has some technical difficulties that have prevented me from finishing it. I'm not seeing the gift of this particular imperfection.
Brasseur More than 1 year ago
I bought this title in book-form for my son and in CD form for us. The author is a brilliant speaker (and writer) and she should have read her own book. The reader on the CD was quite annoying to me --- frequently sounded too perky and not serious. The information is presented clearly and there is much to learn about the consequences of feeling shame and how to work around and through it. The advice is pragmatic and non-preachy. Worth referring back to ----- all the more reason to buy as book and not CD.
MommaC04 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best "self help" books I've read so far. Teaching me how to let go of preconceived notions of what others have of me and so many other things.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
even if you only have time to read the table of contents, your life will be changed! I encourage you to read it cover to cover. Breathe. And then read it again. Thanks, Brene!!!
EJOB More than 1 year ago
No matter who you are, you should be able to find something in this book to help you with living your life.
Joanne Rome More than 1 year ago
Such an easy yet compelling read.
JenRene More than 1 year ago
If you ever really wonder what makes people truly authentic, you won't have to wonder anymore after reading Brene's book. She so completely, deliately and tranparently shares how authemtically we can find ourselves i f we dig deeply within this complex self called our soul.
HOMELESSINCHEYENNE More than 1 year ago
EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT
fraskel More than 1 year ago
The heart knows the Truth through Brene's courage and willingness to share her life's work through her own embodiment is truly amazing. Her authenticity is breath taking there are no words to truly describe her beautiful spirit.
lmnKS More than 1 year ago
Brene Brown is a good author. The book is well written and good advice. It's a nice book to add to your collection.
ChrisMayorga1 More than 1 year ago
The Gifts of Imperfection is a beautifully written book that every reader will love.
AceFriedman More than 1 year ago
The concept of this book is teaching people how to have self worth, and how to nurture and develop it. The author definitely knows what she is doing and would like to see more from this concept and would be interested to check out some other topics as well.
WitchyWriter 25 days ago
This might be the very best nonfiction book I’ve ever read. Aside from writing-craft and various neopagan subject matters, I don’t read a whole lot of nonfiction. Nowhere near as much as my sister, who has all that excellent knowledge and interest in learning theory, child psychology, and various other enriching topics. Still, I would go so far as to say everyone should read this particular book. It’s that good, and that important. I fell in love with Brene Brown’s TED Talk on the power of vulnerability. Everything she said felt so RIGHT and in line with how I thought everyone should be living their lives. This book takes the meat of that talk and pulls you deeper into it. Expands on everything, makes it really sink in. Now, just because I think everyone should read this book, I wouldn’t say that we are all ready for it. I happened to pick it up shortly after my transformative HG Dark Night of the Soul, and the timing was perfect. Having a horrible illness, being so sick for a long period of time, opened me up to look at life in different ways. I’ve been re-arranging my priorities in a major way, and really analyzing where I’m at, where I want to be, and why there’s still distance between those two. So a book on how to embrace imperfection to live a more wholehearted life—well, the timing was just right. One thing I really love about this book is how it presents concepts based on Brown’s research findings, but doesn’t give you that checklist sort of “do this and prioritize this and you’ll be happy” that we so often see nowadays. Brown offers mini guideposts on how to foster more of some of the concepts she says are important for wholehearted living, but she tempers all of it with the admission that it’s a constant process. That we all need to try all the time to cultivate a wholehearted life, and that we aren’t perfect (indeed “perfect” doesn’t exist). I love her personal anecdotes, because the way she is vulnerable in them, and still has the courage to tell them, is truly practicing what she preaches. I can imagine a lot of the people in my life reading this book and taking different things from it. To someone who doesn’t value human connections as the be all end all of our existence here, it might not carry the same weight. As a writer and someone who values compassion and empathy and connectedness, though, every bit of it was impactful. It’s the kind of knowledge that you know would just completely fix the whole world, if everyone would just open their hearts enough to let it in. I’m hoping to read Daring Greatly next, because I suspect it might have some good pointers on how to parent wholeheartedly. Thank the gods for Brene Brown and her research, and that she can share it so effectively in her writing with the rest of us.
Anonymous 8 months ago
Such a great book! Easy to comprehend but do much harder to put into practice!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Life changing
GShuk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I liked the way she poked and prodded at what wholehearted living is. She does it in an entertaining way using many personal stories that you can relate to. Wholehearted living is about engaging in our lives from a place of worthiness. Her expertise as a researcher on shame, authenticity, and belonging gives her experiences more depth. This is not a how to guide and she raises as many questions as she answers. Highly recommend this audio and her Ted Talks.
melmore on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Though presented in the straight-forward, chatty manner of a self-help book, I found this work compelling and full of nuance. She's not really saying anything the Buddha didn't, but it's all true. I'm definitely going to be rereading this.
porch_reader on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
At work, I'm doing some research on authenticity. When are people willing to be fully authentic at work? What are the benefits to authenticity? What are the costs? I read Brown's book to inform my own research, but I ended up finding a lot of insights that are relevant for my own life as well. Brown's work is based on a number of interviews that she has done with people who are living wholeheartedly. (She calls herself a story catcher!) From studying these people, she found that living authentically and wholeheartedly can make people feel vulnerable. It is sometimes the path to shame and fear, but it is also the path to joy and love and connection. The key is to cultivate a sense of worthiness. The first few chapters describe the process of living wholeheartedly generally, while the remaining chapters provide 10 guideposts - practices that support living authentically and forming authentic relationships. I loved this book. Brown writes eloquently about embracing who you are and letting go of shame and fear. She draws not only from her research interviews, but from her personal experience as well. "Be yourself" may sound like simple advice, but Brown digs deep to explore the courage that it take to live authentically.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just a complilation of other writer work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE IT! Super easy read that will keep you thinking long after you are done! As a mental health provider, I strongly suggest it to teens and up!