ISBN-10:
089106074X
ISBN-13:
9780891060741
Pub. Date:
03/05/1995
Publisher:
Mobius
Gifts Differing: Understanding Personality Type / Edition 2

Gifts Differing: Understanding Personality Type / Edition 2

by Isabel Briggs Myers, Peter B. Myers
Current price is , Original price is $18.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Gifts Differing: Understanding Personality Type 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have found the Myer-Briggs psychometric test to be incredibly insightful; really the best test out there. The results captured my personality outstandingly well. I would recommend this book to just about anybody; you can learn so much about yourself, that you may be shocked at how well the book knows you. However, it can be difficult to maneuver the book because the sections are not well organized-- it would be best if there were a section on determining your personality type and then a separate section for each of the 16 types. Also, I felt that it lacked clarity in many parts. For example, I wasn't sure if i was Sensing or Intuitive because both sounded like they could apply to me. Other than that, it's a great book, and the research within it has become quite famous.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Isabel really clearly illustrates here how we can use the power of our own personalities to help our relationships, work and life; for example, a Sensing friend might realize our iNtuitive nature and adjust their factual and practical mind to accept that we like to theorize and daydream. Or an Extraverted sister might understand our Introversion and not volunteer us to go on stage at the local magic performance. Mrs. Myers helps us to understand our differences and adjust our own traits to accommodate those traits to help us understand a cousin or colleague, or even use our differences to help each other balance out and combine our strengths to make something wonderful happen. I am an ISFP and though I'm usually quite soft-spoken, this book helped me to open up and become slightly more comfortable with talking. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. It was easy to understand, enlightening, helpful, and very usable in everyday life. I recommend it very much!
PastorBob on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While ironically not as strong as Kiersey's "Please Understand Me II", this basic introduction to the MBTI by the original Isabel Briggs Myers and her son Peter is nevertheless a useful book to have on hand. Based on Jung's personality types, Isabel Briggs Myers and her mother Katherine Briggs developed a means of expressing and analyzing the types in relation to people's normal lives. This book pursues that aim with chapters discussing not only the various personality types, but also as they may apply to education, career, marriage and children.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RolfDobelli More than 1 year ago
Isabel Briggs Myers, who had no training as a psychologist, broke new ground when she applied Carl Gustav Jung’s psychological types to healthy individuals. She writes that each person has unique innate gifts, and that makes human interaction singular and challenging. This classic textbook – though repetitive, scholarly and laden with technical tables – can help you understand how to deal with personality types that differ from your own. Briggs Myers (in collaboration with her son, Peter B. Myers, who wrote the preface) developed this text as an outgrowth of the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, which she created with her mother, Katherine Cook Briggs, to help place women in jobs when World War II took most able-bodied men out of the US workforce. Most of its information is enduringly useful, though the chapter on marriage seems mired in an earlier time. getAbstract recommends this book’s insights and communication lessons; it can help readers better understand themselves, their bosses, their staff and their loved ones.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LunarCamel More than 1 year ago
If viewed as supplemental to understanding the personalities around you, not as a fixed slate of conformity, "Gift Differing" is extremely interesting and insightful. It is based on the theories of Carl Jung, yet more humanized in many respects, it could be read to improve understanding of his theories also. Overall, if you are interested in gaining insight into other(possible0modes of thought, the book is great. I found it useful for finding new character traits in Novels as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago