Fowl Weather: How Thirty-Nine Animals and One Sock Monkey Took Over My Life

Fowl Weather: How Thirty-Nine Animals and One Sock Monkey Took Over My Life

by Bob Tarte

Hardcover

$21.56 $23.95 Save 10% Current price is $21.56, Original price is $23.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fowl Weather: How Thirty-Nine Animals and One Sock Monkey Took Over My Life 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
NellieMc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed in this book, because I thought it was heavily mis-advertised. Based on the title, blurbs, etc. this book was supposed to be a funny look at the superiority of animals when they're encountered a well-meaning but less savvy human, much like Gerald Durrell and James Herriott. I have all the books those two authors wrote, and this is nothing like them. It is far more about the author dealing with depression and some sort of belief in the paranormal and, frankly, I ended the book wishing he and his wife would find good home for the animals and focus on fixing themselves (his wife has chronic back problems) before taking in any more animals. I didn't find a good laugh in the book and had to force myself to finish, since I found it so depressing.
DavidLErickson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This isn't the kind of book I normally read, but the cover was intriguing and since we've populated our current lives with cats, dogs and chickens, it looked as if it might be an entertainig read. The protagonist, I assume this is all about Bob, is a character frought with foibles and genetic limitations and attributes far too common. I truly feel for his long suffering wife and enjoyed the fact that the creatures populating his tale shine with individualism. Each of our chickens, bird brains that they be, have their own personalities, likes and dislikes. While the story didn't contain a true story arc and actually seemed to end simply because Bob chose to stop writing, it was entertaining, often light hearted, but often depressingly real. I didn't feel a strong compunction to pick up the book, but did enjoy each moment I spent with it. I won't seek out his other works, but if I stumble across one at a used book sale, I'll surely pick it up.
bookymouse on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"How 39 animals and 1 sock monkey took over my life."Bob Tarte opens a window into his world, a world of feathers, whiskers and floppy ears. Bob and his wife, Linda, live in Michigan with countless ducks, geese, rabbits and cats and are plagued by an old schoolmate who enjoys funerals, butting in and rehousing pampered ducks. Bob Tarte shares 5 years with us, some moments laugh-out-loud funny and others heart breakingly poinant.From the first page I was hooked. I found myself laughing, crying and unable to put this book down. Through the loss of his father and his mother's battle with alzheimer's disease, Bob clings to his sanity with the help of Linda and the zoo they live in. This book is a must read for all animal lovers, whether you are owned by a single goldfish or "39 animals and 1 sock monkey".
mckait on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bob Tarte's second book about his life with ducks, ( cats, parrots, bunnies and more) was just as compelling as the first. I enjoyed learning more about his wife Linda and his best friend Bob. This book was a little more about finding his way in in the world while in the throes of depression after losing his father and more members of his animal kingdom. He appears more vulnerable and unsure, but never fails to have his life brightened and gilded by Linda and his pet family. Those of us who have grappled with depression can find many ways to connect with his feelings, and the occasional feeling that his life was whirling out of control. He is more fortunate than some, with a good support system of family and friends. Both of these books will make you laugh out loud, and shed a tear. I know that they did that for me.
omphalos02 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Uneven non-fiction that looked like it might be a fun read. Bob Tarte and his wife are overloaded with birds and animals at their home in western Michigan, so the starting premise could be promising. But I felt that the writing fluctuated between clever and amusing to morose and meandering. I'd not be interested in reading more by this author.
jugglingpaynes on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a harder read than its predecessor, "Enslaved by Ducks." The author seemed to be dealing with a lot, so the mood was very dismal through most of the book. I could empathize, having gone through many human and animal sickness and losses myself. My complaint is that the line above the title "How thirty nine animals and one sock monkey took over my life" was misleading here. This has less to do with his pets than the people in his life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Firsty first first
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Linda_in_LA More than 1 year ago
It's like stepping into another world -- strange, silly and far away yet so very much like my own household having a pet population of just one -- a single Golden Retriever dog. After finishing Bob Tarte's first book about his menagerie, "Enslaved By Ducks", I rushed down to my local Barnes and Nobel to order "Foul Weather". When it arrived I started reading and was again immersed in Bob-and-Linda-world and their homestead full of (mostly) feathered friends. It's a strange world but also very comfortable. Anyone who has ever loved a pet will intimately identify with the Tartes. And yet, these folks share their home with an assortment of critters that I could never imagine in my suburban neighborhood. In Foul Weather Bob also writes about the many human critters in his life and shares his weaknesses, anger, fears, frustration and gratitude toward parents, siblings and friends. I am looking forward reading Bob Tarte's next installment that I hope will feature more of his feline friends including Moobie the size x-large but lovable house cat.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fowl Weather is a very, very, very funny book but that is almost misleading. In these days, when meanness is mistaken for wit, it is a startling work of art that sees the great and small passages of life, with humor. Bob Tarte has written a very brave, funny book. It is very difficult to say precisely what it¿s about because it is about life unfolding or maybe unraveling. It¿s about those moments, parents, pets or even things that make up our notion of self and how they can be taken away and the little things, like the sound of a bird or a spider¿s web, that can make it endurable. It¿s a book that deals with daunting issues like mortality with graceful wit. Many of the incidents in this book, say sock monkeys, a purse, or parrots, have never been juxtaposed in the history of literature. It is an outstanding read.