Fool's Quest (Fitz and the Fool Trilogy #2)

Fool's Quest (Fitz and the Fool Trilogy #2)

by Robin Hobb

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$8.63 $8.99 Save 4% Current price is $8.63, Original price is $8.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fool's Quest 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The levels of emotion portrayed and communicated were astounding and passionate. So wrapped up in the story, was I, that I felt I could see through Fitz's eyes. The only bad thing I can say of this book is that it ended. Robin Hobb, please don't dawdle on the third installment of The Fitz and the Fool.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My only complaint is that the book isn't 700 pages longer. I suppose I'll have to start showering and eating again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved book 2, and am very sad that I now have to wait a year for book 3. But Fitz and the Fool... oh how I have missed them. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hobbs work is lyrical, sensitive and gripping. Her stories continue to be woven skillfully together and characters grow in unpredictable ways. I love Fitz and Bee. I cannot believe I have to wait until March to find out how it ends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AMAZING read. ...and I'm a snob, fyi. (Erikson, Abercrombie, RR Martin)
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
Epic, wonderful, tragic. What a story. I can't wait to read the final book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entire Series has kept me enthralled. Robin Hobb has quickly become one of my favorite authors. I'll be going crazy till next month when the new book comes out.
Kratos1 More than 1 year ago
What a great story and great author! I really enjoyed both books in this trilogy so far, I agree that I'm sorta disappointed that I have to wait for the conclusion! I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and have warmed to them entirely!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really excellent. Book 1 didn't seem amazing and I was so frustrated with Fitz' willful blindness to so many things. All is forgiven with book 2! Can't wait for 3!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE all of the books in this series. I get so immersed in this story. I would recommend all of Robin Hobb's books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Keep writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MadelineEM More than 1 year ago
{I received an eARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.} I completely stumbled upon Robin Hobb's Farseer books when I started using the Overdrive app through my library. I listened to the Assassin's Apprentice and quickly worked my way through the rest of that trilogy. Hobb has built a rich universe with complicated and diverse characters, all with a little magic, humor, and sarcasm thrown in. The intricate plot with twists and turns only continues in Fool's Quest, the second book in the Fitz and the Fool Trilogy. The Farseers are a family that passes magical skills through the generations and rules the Six Duchies. The Fitz and the Fool Trilogy is the third from Hobb set in this universe, so you'll want to start with The Farseer Trilogy, then The Tawny Man Trilogy, though you could pick up this series and read it on its own, as well. In this installment, we find FitzChivalry Farseer struggling with who he has become in a world that wants more from him than he is willing to give. He has to find a way to protect all of those he loves, but can't seem to find a way to do so without sacrificing himself and reliving the mistakes and tragedies of his past. I read this book with rapt attention, wanting Fitz to find his way and somehow reach some peace and safety. After all these books, I still feel completely invested in these characters and respect the writing that maintains and fosters that connection. By the way, this book really got me into some trouble. Before I could read Fool's Quest, I had to read Fool's Assassin, the first in the series. 600 pages later, I was ready to dive into the book I had promised to review. Then I realized there was a whole other series in between the one I recently finished in this universe. The Farseer Trilogy, and the Fitz and the Fool Trilogy. It's called The Tawny Man Trilogy. So now I'm in for another 2,228 pages (688, 723, and 817 pages, respectively), plus the third in the Fitz and the Fool Trilogy whenever it comes out. Let me tell you, dear reader, this is a good problem to have. 4/5 Stars
MaraBlaise More than 1 year ago
All hail Robin Hobb Queen writer of fantasy! Seriously this book was so amazing good that I now sit here writing and knowing that I will never be able to put down it words how fantastic the book is. For everyone that has read Rob Hobb before and not yet read this book or the one before will I say that you will love this series, the books just keep getting better and better and Hobb still knows how to surprise her readers. To those that have never Read a Hobb book, do it, hell do it even if you are not a fantasy fan. They are well written, the story will pull you in completely. Just start with The Farseer trilogy of course, always best to start from the beginning. Anyway this book is better than the first book in The Fitz and the Fool trilogy, but that doesn't make the first book bad, this one just have a lot more action it, more going ones, more Fool. And, having Fitz and the Fool reunited again was just was marvelous as in Fool's Errand (first book in the Tawny Man trilogy) when they met again after several years apart. This book story continue the story from the first book with the Fool hurt and dying and Fitz tries to save him, but it seems futile, but you should never say never and solutions can show up where you least expect them. And, little Bee, Fitz daughter has been taken, but it will take some time for Fitz to know that, but when he does, then he will do everything in his power to get his daughter back and punish the bad people behind the kidnapping. This book is around 750 pages long, but it could have been twice as many pages because it is so good, it is never boring, the pace is just perfect, not a single thing that happens in the book is boring, no skimming of the text, hell there are moments when I had to reread sentence because they are so good written and they go straight to my heart. I loved this book. I have lived with the story, with Fitz and the Fool and the rest of the characters for a couple of days and now I have to leave it for a while and it is almost painful to not have more to read. Luckily for me, I still have some books written by Hobb that I still haven't read, alas no Fitz and Fool book waiting, but I can always reread the earlier books with them if I want to.
BluHawk More than 1 year ago
After loving Robin Hobb for so long, I kept thinking there’d come a point where her work would stop dazzling me at every turn. That maybe I’d get used to it or something. What I didn’t expect was to love her more and more with every book, and Fool’s Quest was one of her best yet! After following Fitz’ journey for eight books now, I am at the point in the story where every minute revelation about the characters or the world (and the history and magic within it) strikes me as profound. I find myself completely immersed in the pages, eagerly seeking my next discovery – discoveries that percolate in my brain and keep me thinking about them months, even years later. But that’s just the kind of brilliant storyteller Robin Hobb is. I remember with the same vivid clarity things that happened in the first trilogy as I do those that happened within the last book. The ending of Fool’s Fate rocked my world so much, it’s partially responsible for why I started a book blog (I just HAD to talk about it). I think part of the reason these books have such an impact is the culmination of story. What made Fool’s Quest so profound is that it finally converged Fitz’ tale with Hobb’s other stories (Liveship & Rain Wild) that were only on the periphery up until this point – and it was AWESOME in the truest sense of the word. It’s as if all that came before was one long buildup to this brilliant moment where everything finally converges… AND THEN THE BOOK ENDED!!! And I’m on the floor sobbing because I have to wait another year to experience the final book in the trilogy. What makes these books hard to wait for is what also makes them so special to me. They evoke real emotion and a sense of love and loss that is almost unparalleled by anything else I’ve ever read. Hobb continues to make a very compelling case to claim the spot as my favorite author. When I think about my reading experience, I’m always grateful for her books and how they’ve shaped me as a reader, reviewer, and writer. Overall, if you like fantasy, I consider Hobb a must-read. The slow pacing of her stories allows you to savor every moment and become completely immersed in this world and these characters. I always come away with a fulfilled sense of having lived another life. I can’t help but recommend them as often as I can – start with Assassin’s Apprentice, you won’t regret it! Niki Hawkes – The Obsessive Bookseller
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome as always!
Lisa-Lou More than 1 year ago
"Review: Fitz and the Fool Trilogy #2: Fool's Quest"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down . Wonderful As always leaves you wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It did drag a bit in the middle of the story, but it's a good read and worth buying. It was nice seeing many old characters again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When will the next book be available ?