Fool's Errand (Tawny Man Series #1)

Fool's Errand (Tawny Man Series #1)

by Robin Hobb

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Bantam Spectra Edition)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fool's Errand (Tawny Man Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 148 reviews.
Dragonfriend More than 1 year ago
This whole series picks up where the Assassin's Apprentice series left off. A great read!
Thundar More than 1 year ago
Robin Hobb is a master story-teller. The mystery of the Fool is maintained with snippets of info, doled out as if nuggets of gold. And Fitz is a believable character = a man of humble beginnings (originally an unacknowledged royal bastard) whose sense of honor and duty force him into decisions for the throne that result in catastrophe for himself, again and again. A totally unwilling "hero" if you will. Weaving in bits and pieces of story line from the dragon (Rain Wild) series (reminders for those who have read it) creates a wider tapestry of the world, and hammers home that no man is an island. I want more! =Thundar
BluHawk More than 1 year ago
I find these books so captivating that I completely forget where I am when reading them! Hobb definitely has a way with words and her characters are complex and interesting. If you are a fantasy lover, these books should be on you "must read" list (be sure to start with "Assassin's Apprentice")! If you like this author, you might also like "A Shadow in Summer" by Daniel Abraham, "Through Wolf's Eyes" by Jane Lindskold, and "Thief's Gamble" by Juliet E. McKenna!
Laurel52 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book although I had not read the author's previous series. Having not read much fantasy in the past, I was pleasantly surprised at the depth of the characters, especially the main character. I felt myself thinking about this character for a long time after finishing the book. I especially enjoyed the special skills he had that allowed him to communicate with his wolf. This relationship was the most fulfilling and touching part the book and written in a believable way that respects both human and animal feelings. I will defnitely read the rest of the series and recommend it to anyone who wants a story with unforgettable characters who learn and grow, and the escapism that fantasy novels offer but without a lot of violence.
Grandpa More than 1 year ago
Fifteen years have gone by Fitz and Night Eyes have wandered the world and finally ended up in an out of the way cabin in the wilderness. Starling the Minstrel visits now and then, sparking up emotions and memories. One day she brings a small child, "Hap", she found on the streets, to live with Fitz, hoping to fill his lonely days. Fitz sees "Hap" as himself growing up with no one to care for him and tries hard to teach "Hap" how to survive on his own. This fills the first half of the book, not a lot happening but day to day experiences. Enter Chade, who pays a surprise visit and asks Fitz to come home to Buckkeep and teach Prince Dutiful the wit and skill. Fitz hesitates until he is paid another surprise visit from an old friend, The Fool, who after staying a while almost convinces Fitz to return to Buckkeep. Then a messenger arrives with an urgent request from Chade to return immediately. Prince Dutiful has gone missing. Now begins a long, long trek first to find the Prince, then bring him home. They are in for a few surprises along the way. I thoroughly enjoy all of Hobb's work. She develops characters who live and you care about. This book has a good, if not action packed, story line that keeps you reading. I was very sad at one part in the story, because it was very similar to one of my life experiences. This trilogy is definitely worth getting,especially if you have already read The Assassin's Apprentice, as it carries on the story with the same characters. I am starting The Golden Fool as I write this, and suspect this trilogy will come to a great and satisflying end as always.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, the cover and first chapter seem to coincide against the marvel of this book. Once you get into the heart of the story, Hobbs magic takes over again and you are once again immersed into the Farseer world again. You will be amazed at how many puzzle pieces fit together if you read the Liveship Trader series before Tawny Man. I believe it is essential to the full story. Enjoy!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the Farseer trilogy and hated when it ended. I was overjoyed to discover that Ms. Hobb has decided to revisit those great characters and begin a new trilogy. I have just finished ' Fool's Errand' and loved it. I stayed up many nights to read it and actually cried when one of the characters I loved died (Sorry, I don't want to spoil anything but I had to say it) I am sure any true fan of fantasy will love this new trilogy, too! Thank you Ms.Hobb and keep on writing...if only the story of Fitz could go on forever!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had previously read the Assassin trilogy, and for one reason or another I found it intolerably depressing. Reading this book reawakened me to Robin Hobb's writing; I am rereading the Assassin trilogy... and enjoying it this time. Immensely. The detail put into the environment is impressive enough, but truly unsurpassed are Hobb's characterizations. There is, in her books, a feeling of reality that is lacking in most fantasy. When I first encountered her work, I was unprepared for anything but fairy-tale fantasy where the Good Guys are Invincible Heroes who inevitably smite Evil in a Great Big Fight at the end, then go on to live happily ever after. I am glad my tastes have changed, and in such a timely literary era: A new generation of fantasy authors are changing the genre. People like Robin Hobb, Robert Jordan, George R.R. Martin, Guy Gavriel Kay, and others are bringing to the fantasy genre a literary quality not seen since the great J.R.R Tolkien.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am currently half-way through 'Fool's Errand'. Love it!! I have read the 3 'Assassins' books from the 'Farseer' series; and the 3 'Ship of Magic' books from The Liveshp Traders series. They are all fantastic, unable to put them down when reading. I was excited to read of a connection in 'Fool's Errand' between these two series of books. Anxiously await the next story of The Tawny Man. Robin Hobb is a wonderful author. She absolutely pulls you into the story - always a real page turner!! These books are a MUST READ. I know I'll read them again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is beautiful. Truly, there is no other description of it. It continues to weave the story of Fitz, the Fool, Nighteyes, and the entire Farseer kingdom in an enchanting way. I usually don't like my heroes being as old as Fitz is in this book, but I truly loved it anyway. A wonderful addition to the 3 Farseer books already in print!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very+engrossing+page+turner
plunkinberry on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fascinating and complex, intricate and well written. A compelling story that was hard to follow and difficult to put down. Somewhat slower reading than many stories due to the complexity but quite good. I will definately read the rest of this trillogy. I wonder if I am missing much of the stories interwoven fabric by not having read the Ship trillogy that comes between the first three and this set.Again, I picked this up because of my relationship with Fitz. I still like the Fool & Nighteyes. I am compelled to see Fitz struggle with his overly complex relationships with everyone. Can't wait to see how the story unravels. I was absolutely rocked by the situation with Nighteyes at the end - I can only imagine how that twist bodes for the remainder of the story.I'm glad the Prince returned willingly to Buck and will await how that develops.
littlegeek on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy Robin Hobb's Elderlings books, but this one is a little "small" after the epic scope of the Liveship Traders series. Partly it's the first person narration, I think. I enjoyed it, but not as much as that series. Not enough Fool, who is the best character ever.
Eohna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A good start to a good trilogy. Robin Hobb once again starts us on a magnificent journey across a beautiful world. Picking up from the Farseer Trilogy it continues Fitz's tale. The Fool comes back from the Liveship Traders trilogy and his catalyst is caught up in events beyond his control. It continues the character development of the previous two trilogies very well and sets the scene for quite a bit of rising action.
eddy79 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It was good to get back to the Six Duchies, but I felt that the charactyer of Fitz was very different from the one I left at the end of Assassin's Quest, and that wasn;t a particulalry good thing IMO. Whilst being completely understandable taking into account everythig he went through in the previous trilogy, i longed for the days of the young Fitz finding his way in the Keep. Maybe I should have read the first book again..? I'm not sure there was enough of a story for a second trilogy, and maybe this would have been better as a one-off to catch up and conclude the story of Fitz.
mfoltz80 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was a good start to the second trilogy. I've noticed that there is a lot of "quiet space" in the book as it leads up to the exciting bits near the end. I actually enjoy it as it lends more time to get to know the characters. The book can be pretty sad at times, b/c no one ever gets to truly do what they want or be with who they want, at least not the main character. But this book opens up the possibility of somewhat happy endings (or at least the hope for them).
willowcove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Just as good as the original trilogy!
AnnaOok on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've read this book without having read the previous trilogy. I disagree with the other review that says that doing so would mean finding the first 200 pages boring and/or confusing: I definitely didn't. It is a slow book, with a slower start, but one that kept me fascinated and glued to the page throughout. It is a slow book in a good way. It was pretty obvious that it continued a previous story: but this made for a deep, layered background that was revealed bit-by-bit without blatant summary/exposition, and not in a linear way. In fact, I enjoyed this aspect a lot: I do prefer being fed tidbits and having to piece them together myself rather than having it all laid out for me like See Spot Run.A very satisfying read, and I will definitely look for the continuation of this series. Then I may go back and read the previous trilogy. (I don't mind that I already know "what happens": but I like the characters as they are now, and I might like them less as younger people.)SPOILER SECTION BELOW: and I do mean it, don't read it if you haven't read the book yet. It's only gossip anyway, and unlikely to affect anybody's decision to read the book or not....I was smitten by the Fool from his first appearance. That's when the book changes from pleasant retirement story to Sensawunda Fantasy. And then I spent the rest of the book wanting him and Fitz/Tom to fall into bed together. Which is peculiar because I'm not generally given to slash: in fact, I think it's the first time I've ever done this "seriously", as opposed to "wouldn't it be funny if...?" I do believe that the author is teasing readers about it, seriously. Alas, by the end of the book this outcome seems unlikely (even in later books). But wouldn't it be great? :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entertaining, great characterization, my only complaint is that at some points the subtext is a bit obvious, I haven't read a book by this author I didn't like!
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
This book brings us back to Buckkeep And the Fool, Chase and Fritz. The story is exciting, spellbinding, and very sad. What a great start to the next epic trilogy in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sybie More than 1 year ago
The only problem with this series is you can't put it down. I almost have to set time limits. You get lost in this beautiful story and almost feel as if you are part of it. Robin Hobb is one talented writer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago