Folly

Folly

by Laurie R. King

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.31 $16.00 Save 4% Current price is $15.31, Original price is $16. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Folly 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
LoveToReadAK More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've read. The author has a knack for making one feel that they are "in the moment". A true thriller with a multitude of twists & turns.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A book which slowly, but not too slowly, lets us into the mind of a talented, gutsy and disturbed woman who challenges her despair. Wonderful and sensitive work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great Book!!!! This book is a cut above the average mystery book. It has depth, depth, and more depth. The background of mystery, human nature, mental illness, woodworking art, and wonderful descriptive words describing the island and house makes all the ingredients necessary to stir up a wonderful book. Buy it...you'll love it!!!!!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Though he bravely fought in Europe during World War I, Desmond Newborn knows his efforts darken his soul. When he returns home he suffers from battle fatigue and leaves his wealthy California family to roam the countryside until settling on a barren island in the San Juan Straits. Just when he finishes building his home, a fire destroys the edifice. Desmond vanished, never to be seen or heard from again.

Desmond¿s grandniece Rae Newborn suffers from clinical depression. She inherits Desmond¿s island, dubbed ¿Folly¿. She intends to rebuild the house all by herself, as she believes that might help her cope with the loss of her husband and child and the resultant stay in a psychiatric ward. If she fails at this monumental task, Rae plans to end it all.

Laurie R. King is known for her police procedurals and thrillers. However, stepping into a different genre, the versatile author looks at one person¿s fight with a crippling mental illness that threatens to engulf her grip on reality. Readers will walk alongside and encourage Rae as she gradually takes one step forward only to stumble back two steps. Folly is an inspiring tale that brings the hope that in the darkest night daylight remains attainable.

Harriet Klausner

CatieN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Excellent crime mystery; great character development. Will read more by this author.
Meredith47 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As well as writing two outstanding series, Laurie R. King writes some amazing stand alones, and this is one of them. Rae Newborn is putting the pieces of her life back together, or trying to, by going to an island in the San Juans of the Northwest and rebuilding the house which belonged to her great uncle.That is the framework for the novel, but in many ways it is a study in connection, loyalty, family and the healing powers of art and creativity.I am strenuously avoiding giving away much of anything of the plot, because any new reader deserves to have every little twist show up for them. It is a great treat of a book.The suspense is so well done that I had to commit The Reader's Sin: I peeked at the ending. I love, love, love this book.
pinkozcat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This should have been a boring book.It is about one woman's fight to resume a normal life after several bouts of suicidal depression. Rae decides to rebuild the house which her great-uncle Desmond built on a small island off the north west coast of America.The house had burnt down and Desmond had disappeared; now the island belonged to Rae.Most of the book catalogues the slow clearing of the site and the rebuilding of the house, guided by a photograph taken 70 years before. But it also describes her relationship with others who come to the island; the sheriff and the wild-life warden, the prickly relationship with her daughter and her passionate desire to keep contact with her beloved grand-daughter, Petra.Were the sounds which she heard and the feeling of being watched hallucinations or was someone really a danger to her? This is the story of a woman's determination to prove to herself and others that she is sane and able to fight her demons without the use of drugs; that she is not insane ...It is not a boring book after all. King is able to balance the rather mundane description of the gradual growth of the house with the tension Rae feels as she comes to terms with the reality of what she finds on the island, not least her sanity.
Bookmarque on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very well done. Suspenseful without going for the cheap thrill. Romantic without mushy platitudes. During much of the narrative, nothing happens, but the story is interesting enough so that we want to get to know Rae through these moments. The use of great-uncle Desmond¿s journal entries were very good, too, and illustrated parallels in her life as well as in the life of someone she doesn¿t actually meet until the end of the story. I loved the parts when she was building the house alone. When she was excavating the cellar and found all those artifacts and began to piece together Desmond¿s stay on the island. Her love and devotion to the house¿s restoration. The pleasure she took in her art and her craftsmanship (craftswomanship?). She sounds like a person I would like to know even though she doesn¿t sound easy to get to know or like once you have. She¿s abrupt and uncharitable sometimes. Kind of like me.
MrsLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I limit my collections due to space in my home, otherwise this would be a keeper. It was a neat little mystery set in the Pacific Northwest. Great characters, tough problems. An interesting if unsettling insight into the depths of melancholia. Unsettling because some of it hits too close to home.
OlyGirl More than 1 year ago
This was a Book Club selection but an enjoyable read as it was set in WA state where I live and am knowledgable about the areas described. Good character development and plot was such that i had difficulty putting it down! We are actually discussing it at tonight's meeting so I will know more of what the entire group thought..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Denise-A More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this story of a middle-aged woman who rebuilds a house on a remote (fictional) island in the San Juan Islands area of Washington state. The main character's mental state was very well-drawn and there was enough suspense/ thrill elements to move the plot along nicely, although it wasn't as gripping as many of the author's other works. The supporting characters were well-drawn also. I find myself still thinking about the metaphors of the house as self and the concepts of compression and tension in relation to both building and mental health/ daily life. Well done!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To start but worth wait