Flight or Fright

Flight or Fright

Hardcover

$6.98 $27.95 Save 75% Current price is $6.98, Original price is $27.95. You Save 75%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Flight or Fright 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic read. Loved all the stories and it sure makes you think twice about flying. I think I'll stay grounded for awhile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have bought anything by Stephen King since 1982. Was surprised and delighted that this was short stories from a couple very interesting authors including Stephen King and Joe Hill. Enjoyed and have found some new authors to read.
Anonymous 3 months ago
An excellent read. Everyday people going about life when air travel takes them to a different "plane"! Don't start reading before your flight or on a layover. You MAY not make it to your intended destination.
Anonymous 6 months ago
All good stories except 2 I won't spoil it and say which 2
Selena 11 months ago
A very intense and interesting collection of 17 short stories. Each story is by a different author (one being Stephen King and another Joe Hill) and the book was edited by Stephen King and Bev Vincent. All the stories are centered around flight and they are sure to give you a fright. Happy reading my friends!
Anonymous 11 months ago
The only truly great stories in this book were from Joe Hill and Bev Vincent. Even the one from Stephen King fell flat. I patiently waited for this book to come out with expectations of some great scary stories as that was what was promised by Stephen King, but what a let down. I dont recomend anyone buying this book, especially if theyre looking for true horror stories. As I said before, the ONLY two authors that delivered were Joe Hill and Bev Vincent.
diane92345 12 months ago
A collection of fifteen previously published stories plus two new ones fill Flight or Fright. If you haven’t read Nightmare at 20,000 Feet, or seen the iconic Twilight Zone episode, join one man’s solo terror when he sees a man (or does he?) trying to destroy the wing of his plane. One of the stories original to this collection is You are Released by Joe Hill. It is a too-close-to-true story about air travelers during a possibly nuclear incident. Stephen King’s original story, The Turbulence Expert, is about a mysterious organization that perhaps Mr. King is a member of in real life? The stories are varied enough for most readers’ taste. There are a few stories written when flight was still brand new and are more curiosities than entertaining. There are stories about time travel, terrorism, and even a poem about a real life incident. The majority are horror stories. Spend an enjoyable few hours reading Flight or Fright and you won’t be sorry. Joe Hill’s story alone is worth picking up the book. 3.5 stars rounded up to 4 stars! Thanks to Scribner and NetGalley for a copy in exchange for my honest review.
Dianne57 More than 1 year ago
Remember that Stephen King didn't write this whole book, he wrote one story, the introduction to the book and a short introduction to each 'chapter'. All in all, a good book of short stories. Some are better than other's, but that is to be expected. Mr. King did an excellent job of introducing each author, which gave me the ability to understand some of these better. This is really not a horror book per se, although some of them do hit that 'horror' mark. I have to admit I was much impressed with Mr. King's story. I once had a problem when nobody told me that taking off from Denver had issues with turbulence. I was sobbing, my husband was trying to comfort me, and the stewardesses just stared at me... 1) "Cargo" by E. Michael Lewis - Interesting but not heart pounding. 2) "The Horror of the Heights" by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle -Meh. 3) "Nightmare at 20,000 Feet" by Richard Matheson I think I liked the Twilight Zone version ever so much more. 4) "The Flying Machine" by Ambrose Bierce - Truly a boring story that had no fright value. 5) "Lucifer!" by E.C. Tubb - I liked the premise but the ending, while frightening, just didn't do it for me. 6) "The Fifth Category" by Tom Bissell - So very political. More politics than anything to do with flying. This tale had a scary ending if you believe in Karma! 7) "Two Minutes Forty-Five Seconds" by Dan Simmons - Why oh why did so many of these stories have to be so technical. I'm not an aviator, and I don't know anything about planes. I started losing interest in this story as soon as I couldn't understand what they were talking about. However, it did end up being another good Karma story 8) "Diablitos" by Cody Goodfellow - This was the freakiest story so far in this collection. Again another Karma tale, but done with enough grossness to make me a happy camper. 9) "Air Raid" by John Varley - An enjoyable Sci-Fi that would make an excellent long novel. 10) "You Are Released" by Joe Hill - A scary 21st-century story in that this may someday very soon may all come true. Again, I must say that this was a bit more politically incline than I feel comfortable with. 11) "Warbirds" by David J. Schow -This was about WWII and was most uninteresting until the very end. It took a little too long to get to the point, but the point was quite clear. 12) "The Flying Machine" by Ray Bradbury I believe this was an allegory. Simple but thought-provoking. 13) "Zombies on a Plane" by Bev Vincent -I'm not a particular fan of zombies, which is so popular nowadays. But though short, this was an interesting story that would have made a great full-length book. 14) "They Shall Not Grow Old" by Roald Dahl -The idea of this story was quite clear and an interesting one, but the execution of the story was a little too long in my opinion. I ended getting a tad bored before it ended. 15) "Murder in the Air" by Peter Tremayne -Since I am reviewing these as I read each story, I must say that this one is my favorites so far. I do so love a good 'locked door' mystery! 16) "The Turbulence Expert" by Stephen King -Okay I demand a book based on this story!!! Well, I suppose I really can't do that can I? Maybe a novella? NO? Oh well, this was by far the most heart-pounding story in this anthology for me. 17) "Falling" by James Dickey - Generally, poetry does not interest me, and neither did this. *ARC supplied by the publisher.
FrancescaFB More than 1 year ago
Twink More than 1 year ago
I fully admit it - I hate flying - or rather flying scares me - a lot. So why in the world would I want to read '17 turbulent tales' about flying? Well, I do love a good, scary read! Flight or Fright is edited by Stephen King and Bev Vincent and features 17 tales (and one poem) from King himself, his son Joe Hill and fourteen other noted authors. There's a wide variety ranging from modern day horror writers such as Dan Simmons and Richard Matheson to historic writers such as Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and a wealth in between. I loved the intro from King - his story of flying only cemented my unwavering fear. The stories range from horror to mystery to sci-fi, so there's a little bit of something for everyone. I do love short story collections - you can read or listen to one when you have a limited amount of time and still have the satisfaction of an ending. And the same applies to listening. I did listen to Flight or Flight. There are eleven different narrators, some of whom I was familiar with and some new to me. This was a great opportunity to sample new readers. King prefaces each story with an introduction to the author and a quick overview of the tale. Favorite story? Hmm, hard to pick but I have to say I really liked Joe Hill's You Are Released. My next two faves were The Horror of the Heights by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. A fascinating tale considering air travel was quite new at the time of writing. (1913) And of course King's The Turbulence Expert. Listen to an excerpt of Flight or Fright. And by the end? Yup, still scared of flying....perhaps even more....
357800 More than 1 year ago
Welcome Aboard....or maybe not. It all begins with a scary as hell intro by KING. Yikes! What a horrific flying experience he had! As for me, back in the olden days of 1969 on the way to Japan, we briefly stopped in Alaska and slid off the runway all the way to the fence. May not sound it, but it was indeed frightening (don't remember any warnings). And, once on a flight from Los Angeles to Detroit...also in the late 60's....I experienced flying in a horrendous thunderstorm with lightening that seemed to last forever. We rocked and bobbed up and down; at times it felt like an elevator, but that wasn't the scariest part. I was flying without a companion and the big jetliner was practically empty....truly practically empty. Really felt alone....ominous flight for me. Anyway, FLIGHT OR FRIGHT is a variety of horror, sci-fi and murder-mystery....plus one poem. There are plenty of spooked passengers (for various reasons), zombies, aliens and some super weird and creepy monster stuff as you travel these skies. My top six of seventeen favorites: 1) Joe Hill's - YOU ARE RELEASED. By far, the best. (for me) Real life fear. 2) Roald Dahl's - YOU SHALL NOT GROW OLD. Memorable time travel. 3) Arthur Conan Doyle's - THE HORROR OF THE HEIGHTS. Wait till you see what's way up there in the danger zone! 4) Richard Matheson's - NIGHTMARE AT 20,000 FEET. Remember the freakish Twilight Zone episode? Here you go. 5) E. Michael Lewis' - CARGO. Creepy sad. 6) Stephen King's - THE TURBULENCE EXPERT. Mortal fear of flying required! Overall, a pretty fine anthology of old and new. Oh and....Would I fly again. Absolutely! Just hope I don't forget to pack FLIGHT OR FRIGHT! ------------- ----------- ---------- ----------
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When+Cemetery+Dance+Publications+first+announced+they+were+publishing+an+anthology+with+stories+from+great+writers+such+as+Arthur+Conan+Doyle%2C+Joe+Hill%2C+Dan+Simmons%2C+Ray+Bradbury%2C+Richard+Matheson+and+the+master+of+the+macabe+himself+Stephen+King+%28who+also+co-edited+the+anthology%29+I+couldn%27t+contain+my+excitement.+I+counted+the+days+until+its+release+only+to+put+it+down+in+disappointment+after+I+read+its+336+pages+of+content.+This+anthology+is+bland%2C+lacking+of+creativity%2C+and+not+in+the+least+bit+scary.+The+authors+mentioned+above+are+the+only+ones+with+standout+stories+that+kept+me+entertained.+James+Dickey%27s+poem+Falling+was+absolutely+horrendous+both+in+content+and+format+and+should+not+have+been+included+in+the+collection.+If+you%27re+a+Stephen+King+and+Joe+Hill+collector+then+this+anthology+will+be+a+good+addition+to+that+collection+but+be+warned%2C+this+is+a+book+that+will+be+read+once+and+then+left+to+collect+dust+on+your+bookshelf+as+it+quickly+escapes+from+your+mind.