The Flame and the Flower

The Flame and the Flower

by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss

Hardcover(REISSUE)

$20.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Flame and the Flower 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 297 reviews.
Heather Hagert More than 1 year ago
I read this book several years ago and was excited to finally be able to find it and read it again. Yes it is erotic; however, there is an extra element of surprise as it marries patient endurance and chastity with passionate love. I'm not really into romance that includes the betrayal of one lover for another one, which is another reason this novel stands out for me, since it is entirely absent of this. Even what may appear to be a betrayal is more of a severing of old and rather loose habits; this in trade for the stability of true devotion is benefitial to all. Apparently, Woodwiss created a whole new type of the historical romance genre with this, her first novel! It holds a quality that is often absent in other romance novels. I would highly recommend this tender morsel!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book around the time it was published. Now, years later, I still think about this story. As I read it I felt as though I was there with the characters, watching everything unfold before my eyes. This story has remained so vivid to me unlike any other book I have ever read. Honestly, I have read plenty of books in my lifetime, but none have ever moved me like 'The Flame and the Flower'. If you haven't read this book yet please don't pass it by.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is seriously the first book I ever read and I love it! I am always rereading it! I will keep that book forever! It is just so good! I love Brandon and Heather! I also love Jeff in this book and in his own book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wouldn't call this the best romance novel I've ever read, but I still couldn't put it down at the end of the day. I didn't want to read this book at first because of some previous reviews about rape. I'm not into that and I find it very unromantic. I thought reading it would ruin all other woodiwiss novels for me. I say give it a try anyway. This 'rape' is not what you think. I thought I would be outraged, but the way the story unfolds I wasn't that upset. It brings some reality to the story. Real life is not always full of boy meets girl, boy falls for girl, boy and girl live happily ever after. This twist makes it real because life isn't always a fairytalle. Give this book a try and I'm sure you could forgive Brandon as Heather does.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with this book on the first page. I can, and have read this book over and over again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best romance novel ever. It is the novel that got me stuck on reading romances. It may not be for the faint of heart due to the beginning, but it really is a story that gives the message that love really does overcome all obstacles.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was utterly flawless. When I finished it, it felt like I had been holding my breath it was that exciting and good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book 3-4 times over the last 20 years. Woodiwiss is a great story teller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is not well written, has unbelievable plot lines, has multiple characters who think womwn are simpletons, excuses rape, etc. In spite of all that it is oddly fascinating. According to wikipedia, this book, published 1972, changed the romance genre forever by introducing fairly steamy sex scenes, a full length format, and a complicated plot including murder, betrayal, travel over oceans, mistaken identities, blackmail, and virtually every other romance novel plot device you have come to know and love. The story starts off Cinderella fashion with the beautiful young girl being worked like a slave. Every time a woman is alone in this book...and I mean every time...someone tries to rape her, even in the middle of the day with other people near at hand. The first time she stabs the culprit. The next time it is the hero who is the culprit. After that our hero just rips the would be rapists off our heroine and pummels them. Well true love takes awhile because all plot devices have to be explored, plus there are all these would be rapists and murderers to dispatch. The author obviously has watched Gone with the Wind a million times. I swear a lot of the dialog is lifted directly from it...especially for Hatti and Heather. It is full of historical inaccuracies...but could be worse. My favorite character is the brother Jeff. He is the only one who seemed real. Overall I'm not going to read anymore in this series, but I might try more recent books by this author as this is her first and very rough. Of course I have a weakness for the preposterously dominant hero.....but hey..it's not real, thank God!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some reviews stated they didn't like the beginning of the story. If you stick with it and keep reading, it's well worth it! I love stories about bearded sea captains that meet a woman that "gets" to them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This IS the best book I have ever read, I could not put it down, read the whole book in 1 day. I liked it so much I have read this book 4 times over the past several years!!!! and i'm planning on reading it again!!! Kathleen Woodiwess is a wonderful wrighter. This is a book not to be missed, I also love Petals on the River and have read it twice!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am now reading this book for the second time and love it just as much as the first time! I couldn't put it down. I love the teasing sexiness of Brandon and Heather's relationship. Very sexy indeed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not a plausible story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first romance novel I read, and I immediately became hooked! I have, over the years, returned and reread this novel 20+ times since. One of my all time favorites!
LadyIsis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I first read this book in 1975. I had just graduated high school and was looking for something to read. The story rocked my world becuase it was so different from anything I had read up to that point. I have read all of the books that Ms. Woodiwiss published and have loved all most all of them and enjoyed the rest. I will warn younger readers that this is one of those bodice rippers that became very popular in the 70's and 80's. While it is fairly mild in sexual content it was very racy at the time. I love the interaction of the characters as they learn to accept one another and come to terms with their new realities. I also enjoyed that Ms. Woodiwiss did her homework and provide and slice of history for all to enjoy as they read the book. This is a well written story that is worth the time.
jdquinlan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Rating: 0 Stars out of 5This was my first experience with a true "bodice ripper" and it will be my last. In the first chapter the heroine kills a man defending herself from attempted rape, runs for her life and ends up with the "hero" who then rapes her himself, repeatedly. And I don't mean a case of "your lips say no but your eyes say yes", I mean lips, eyes, fists and feet all say no. I didn't make it to chapter two. I skimmed a few pages here and there through the rest of the book. I actually found it very disturbing. Millions of copies of this book have been sold? Why?? There was a time when women actually found reading about rape-based relationships appealing?
pollytipsy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
1st romance i read at about 15 i loved it
Bookish59 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the first romance books I read in another life - LOL. Just the thought of books like these make me shudder. But I suppose at a certain age (adolescence) they serve a purpose.
Lostshadows on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I found this book off a 3 for a $1 table at a book store. I then got a ten percent discount on it. I still feel I over paid.The writing is abysmal. The "romance" starts off with the hero raping the heroine, and that's about as far as I got.
La-Plume on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Yeah well, I think it's the first and last time I'll ever read a book by this author. The main girl is simply an empty shell. Apart from her beauty there's absolutely nothing to see - She sure loves clothes, she's sooooooo vain - and the main guy is completely laughable.This would put off anybody but since I wanted to read this book for the sake of knowledge - heard she "revolutionized" the romance genre with this one.I still had to know the end of the love story of a girl who was raped by a handsome man and who fell in love with him. We all would like to be raped, have a violent and authoritarian husband who would only be interested in "the curve of our bosom", "the curve of our thighs" and " the curve of our buttocks" and care only for our baby and our wonderful husband. After all, a woman is only good for weaving and making herself pretty. And Brandon is so generous, he doesn't care if she's stupid, she knows how to look with admiration at her husband and is good looking! He can boast everywhere the pretty thing is his, HA! Not to forget, he buys her CLOTHES! God! Women are so easy to please.I'm not even speaking about the way she speaks of slaves as "servants".I personally doubt Blacks looked in awe at the "generosity of their masters" and that their Masters' happiness was their happiness. Well there is Hati, the old Black governess, she's apparently treated like family and can express herself freely in the house EVEN if she disapproves of her master, she can even MAKE FUN of him OPENLY: Yeah well, I COMPLETELY BUY IT! If you set your story in 1799, please make it realistic, this is ridiculous!There's that very funny passage when Hati criticizes a white man who apparently had been living a rather depraved life, anyway in front of her master she says " White trash, that's what he is."Yeah right. One thing I know for sure, is that even the filthiest White was always less filthy than the most proper Black. And even if the "master" agreed, do you seriously believe he would have supported a Black saying that? Come On, get real! Let's say the story was set in the North, Northern People weren't that tolerant, they may have been against slavery, but still, Blacks are Blacks, Whites are Whites right? Cruelty's wrong, but still you have to keep them at their place.It was pure torture to finish that one. I would give that book an "A" and a "D" all together for "Abysmally Dreadful". Can't believe more than 2 million copies got sold when it first got out. Boring and completely superficial.
cyderry on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the first book that I have read by this author and I could read it again and again. I loved the plot and the love story as well as the main characters that were so entertaining. I was absorbed by the feelings of Heather and Brandon that seem to jump off the page to me.I have to put this at the top of my all-time favorite list.
tiilagum on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have ever read from Kathleen E. Woodiwiss. I fell in love with it the first time I read it..
MsNikki on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book when I first read it. I was in high school at the time, and thought it was the sexiest thing ever! Not to sure if I'd like it still, but I'd read it several times when I was younger.But if you just want to kick back and relax with a book, this would be a good pick.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago