Fatality by Firelight (Cat Latimer Series #2)

Fatality by Firelight (Cat Latimer Series #2)

by Lynn Cahoon

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fatality by Firelight 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good characterization. Author keeps you guessing. Look forward to another in series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was another good book by Ms. Cahoon. I really enjoy reading her books. The storyline keeps improving and am looking forward to the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this new story line. Interesting characters and great story lines. No gore....she keeps it light which i love. Can't wait for #3!
Anonymous 4 months ago
Love+her+books.++Have+read+all+of+her+mystery%2Cseries.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Better+than+the+first+story%F0%9F%98%8A
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts Cat Latimer is excited for her 2nd writer’s retreat since she has returned to Colorado and turned the home she and her now deceased ex-husband used to share into a B&B. Her best friend Shauna is by her side as the chef for the retreats and as the person who keeps everything organized so Cat still has time to work on her own writing. Cat has also reunited with her high school boyfriend, Seth, handyman, and chauffeur extraordinaire for the B&B and the retreats. Her Uncle Pete just happens to be the sheriff which comes in handy because trouble seems to follow Cat on a regular basis. This round of authors is an eclectic group. The romance author, Christina, seems to have forgotten what the retreat is about and hooks up with a local guy she met at the nearby ski resort. The problem, he is engaged to another woman and he is now dead. The evidence points right at Christina but she swears she didn’t do it. There’s also a new guy in town who would like to get to now Cat better but she thinks he knew her ex-husband and may know why he died. Her uncle is also hot on the case of a very valuable book stolen from the library. Things seem to be snowballing out of control in Aspen Hills, can Cat rein them in and solve all the mysteries with just a little help from her friends? I am really kicking myself for getting behind on this series because I love these characters, I love the theme, and who wouldn’t love the Colorado setting. Ms. Cahoon’s characters are so well developed, their dialogues flow so easily. They are realistic, engaging and funny at all right times. Cat, Shauna, and Seth make a fantastic team. Uncle Pete is positively priceless. I like that Cat and Seth appear to be a perfect match but that Cat realizes she needs to work out a few things about her ex before she can truly move on. The subplot dealing with Micheal’s demise and what he was involved in prior to his death continues from one book to the next. More clues are revealed in this installment that makes it clear his death what not how it appeared. I enjoy that this string connecting each story. The author does a terrific job of drawing the reader in. The mysteries are intricately woven together in an exciting way. I found the story to be complex and very hard to put down. Learning that “the mob” has a connection to the town that Cat didn’t realize gave the story a very different insight. The excitement ramped up at several places in the book and the ending was really intense. I loved it. The only good thing about being behind on this series is that the next book, Of Murder and Men is already on my To-Be-Read shelf and I can’t wait to start reading it!
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
In this second book in the Cat Latimer series, Cat and her friends Shauna and Seth are gearing up for another successful writer's retreat. After her last session, all Cat wants is a good week with no murder or crazy excitement. Unfortunately that doesn't work out. After spending a day at the local ski resort, one of the retreat guests is caught up in an illicit relationship with the local playboy. When he turns up dead after having a quiet night with Christina, she is the first suspect. Uncle Pete, Cat's uncle who is the police chief, questions her, but believes that she is not the guilty party. There are also story lines regarding a stolen Hemmingway book from the university and a couple of mysterious men wandering around the small town. One is connected to the mafia and seems to have a rather unusual interest in Cat. Could he have something to do with Michael's death? I love the idea of Cat trying to move past Michael's death by using his study and reading his papers. She and Seth seem to be in a good spot with their relationship as well. Shauna was her usual fun self but seems to be getting more involved with Kevin, the owner of the ski resort who also wants her to come and work as a chef for him. And then there is Uncle Pete, a bit of a curmudgeon who wants to take care of Cat. The guests were definitely a group of diverse and interesting characters. They will have you wondering whether one of them is actually a killer. Or could it be someone from the outside? There are a lot of suspects and I did not figure it out until the reveal at the end. There are still some things unanswered from the first book and I hope we continue to get glimpses into the situation until everything is revealed. Another great book in the Cat Latimer series.
bwilhoite More than 1 year ago
Lynn Cahoon did a great job writing the second book in this series. I was so bonded and well known with the characters. I got some questions answered from the first book but Lynn still keeps you hanging on wanting the next book for even more!
bookwomen37 More than 1 year ago
This cozy mystery had some things I enjoyed and some I did not. I like the small town Colorado Setting. The Writer's Retreat is a fun background with new characters always arriving. The mystery was very easy to figure out. There was really only one suspect and there were no twists turns. The on going mystery of Cat's husband is still not resolved. A lot of the book is just the characters sitting around and eating. The visiting authors are not full characters. This series should be read in order and spoiler alert. if you read this book without reading the first one she tells you who did it. I am also not happy when the cover and/or title do not reflect the book. There is no murder in a library in front of a fireplace.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very well written story.
Missisue4 More than 1 year ago
Fatality by Firelight is the second book in the Cat Latimer Mystery book series by Lynn Cahoon and it is the second writer's retreat for Cat, Shauna and Seth. Catherine Latimer was willed the big house in Colorado by her ex-husband Michael and with the help of her friend Shauna and her high school, current boyfriend, Seth she has turned it into a writer's retreat bed and breakfast. For one week a month the house is opened up to authors who spend the week writing, visiting the college library, participating in seminars and receiving insights from Cat who is a published author. On the first day of this retreat Cat and Seth take the guests on a skiing trip to the nearby resort. While Cat and Seth are enjoying the day racing each other down the mountain, the guests have taken to the bar instead. Christina, a romance author, has caught the eye of local boy Tommy and the two have no problem showing some PDA at the resort. Unfortunately Tommy is engaged to Brit, a bartender in town. When Tommy is found stabbed to death in a hot tub at the resort and Christina was the last to see him alive and has Tommy's blood on her clothes, things at the retreat heat up !! Luckily for Christina Cat's uncle Pete is the police chief and on top of everything and if he isn't Cat is.... Valuable Hemingway books are stolen from the library, mobster children are students at the college, Cat is trying to go through Michael's study for clues to his death and closure, they are trying to run a successful writer's retreat, and Cat wants to find out who killed Tommy and keep Christina safe.....All in a day's work for Cat and company. You will instantly love Cat, Shauna and Seth !! You will want to spend lots of time in the kitchen with the girls and sit on the couch in Cat's office on the third floor. The relationships in the story between Cat and Shauna, Cat and Seth, the writing guests for the week are uniquely written and you will long for relationships like these. And I must mention the special hot chocolate and the food that Shauna prepares throughout the story....yummy !! You will be so engrossed in reading this book, that you might find yourself smelling the chocolate..... I am a HUGE fan of Lynn Cahoon and the Cat Latimer Mystery series and cannot wait to get lost in another of the writer's retreats........I know it's going to be a treat !!!!
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Fatality By Firelight - Cat Latimer Mystery Book 2 Author: Lynn Cahoon Publisher: Kensington Books Published: 2-28-2017 Pages: 288 Genre: Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense Sub-Genre: Amateur Sleuths; Cozy Mystery; Women Sleuths ISBN: 9781496704375 ASIN: B01GBAG6VO Reviewed For NetGalley and Kensington Books Reviewer: DelAnne Rating: 4.5 Starts Cat Latimer, owner of Warm Springs Writers Retreat, and her boyfriend Seth Howard have taken their latest guests off to the ski lodge in hopes of jump starting their creative juices especially Cat's, who can't seem to get to minutes to work on her own manuscript. Unfortunately they're more interested in bending their elbows in the bar than their knees on the slopes. Romance novelist meets ski bum when Christina Powers hooks up with Tommy Neil who just happens to be engaged. Cat's uncle the local sheriff shows up to let cat that Tommy was found dead just around the time Christina shows up covered in blood. Not to mention the theft of a very rare Hemmingway novel. Trouble abounds...b By mid way through the first chapter there is no turning back. You will not want to put Fatality by Firelight down. A wide variety of characters paired with a well thought plot and a vividly described scenes bring this story to life. so step into the story and help Cat find a murderer and yty to keep her guest safe. My rating of "Fatality by Firelight" is 4.5 out of 5 stars.
ethel55 More than 1 year ago
The second book in the series centers around Cat Latimer's second writer filled retreat at her home in Aspen Hills, Colorado. I liked the book overall, but hope there won't be too much of a love triangle messing up Cat's life for long. The body that wound up dead seemed a bit odd at first, but it leads the police to one of Cat's new retreat attendees, therefore enabling Cat to nosy around. The history of Aspen Hills and the college is fleshed out a bit more, entwining the present day mystery with some mystery from Cat's ex-husband's past. Quite a bit more of Michael's life is being slowly revealed via the stories, and I hope that Cat will be able to wrap up her conflicted feelings and continue with her life. The descriptions of the town are wonderfully vivid, and it's almost hard to believe these writers are going to accomplish much with all the skiing, dining and investigating that occurs. Framing the book with a retreat works really well, plus Cahoon will always have quirky new characters or suspects to write about.
SewWrite More than 1 year ago
Cat Latimer is hosting her second writing retreat. Unfortunately, one of her retreat guests is the last person seen with a young man before he is found murdered. This second book in the series is full of unique characters and suspense. I particularly like the way each new story continues to delve into the mystery behind Cat's ex-husbands death. I am looking forward to not only a new story but also finding out more about Cat's ex-husband's death in the next book in this series.
CozyUpWithKathy More than 1 year ago
a well written novel that wraps you up in coziness FATALITY BY FIRELIGHT by Lynn Cahoon The Second Cat Latimer Mystery Cat Latimer is ready to put the unpleasantness of her last writing retreat behind her as she gears up for her second. She gets another odd group however, including a writer more interested in researching local history than writing, an intense poet, and a romance writer falling for a local bad boy. When the local bad boy turns up dead and Christina becomes a suspect, Cat knows she needs to step in. Cat gets more than she bargained for as she discovers her quiet Colorado town serves as the educational hub of mob families and her late ex-husband may not have been the louse she thought, instead he may have been working to protect her. As Cat sparks the interest of a connected visitor to the town, she also tries to evaluate her relationship with Seth...and find some closure with Michael. Will she be able to get through her second retreat and still get her word count in without any more dead bodies? Lynn Cahoon delivers another fine mystery in FATALITY BY FIRELIGHT. The characters are well developed with solid backstories. Even the more minor characters are able to give glimpses of their lives beyond the page. The author is able to manage the current murder mystery with puzzles of the past, both compelling, and neither overshadowing the other. FATALITY BY FIRELIGHT is a well written novel that wraps you up in coziness. The frigid Colorado temperatures are countered by the warmth of Cat and her friends, buffeted by the murder and puzzles that surround them. FTC Disclosure – The publisher sent me a digital ARC provided through NetGalley, in the hopes I would review it.
conni7 More than 1 year ago
I liked the first book in this series and was happy to find that the second book was out. What could be more enjoyable for someone who loves reading cozy mysteries than one with a writer’s retreat? The author does a nice job of setting the stage for the story, and I feel as if I really get to know the characters she writes about. She takes the time to show the reader what they are made of. While there are some characters that are hard to like, I think that always makes for a better story than having the feeling that I would love everyone to be my friend. The little details about what it’s like to be a writer are a nice addition. I tend to glamorize the ability to stay at home and write bestsellers when actually keeping up with the necessary word counts for the day, and not always feeling like writing, doesn’t sound that exciting; however, I appreciate that she adds this honest look at the life of a writer. Once more, I tried to solve the mystery; however, things aren’t always what they appear. By the end of the book, the loose ends are neatly tied up. This Lynn Cahoon is definitely one of my favorite cozy mystery authors, and even though this works beautifully as a stand-alone book, I don’t think you should miss a bit of the action.
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
Fatality by Firelight by Lynn Cahoon is the second book in A Cat Latimer Mystery series. Cat Latimer is welcoming a new group of writers to her second writer’s retreat in Aspen Hills, Colorado. After inheriting the beautiful Victorian from her ex-husband, Michael, Cat turned the home into the Warm Springs Writers Retreat. On the first full day of the retreat Cat and her boyfriend, Seth (he is also the handyman) take the writers up the mountain for a day of skiing. After enjoying the slopes, Cat and Seth enter the lodge to find the writers enjoying the bar. Christine, one of her guests, is in a clench on the sofa with local, Tommy Neil. It will not go well for Tommy when his fiancé, Brit finds out. Upon arriving back home, Cat tries to warn Christine, but she does not wish to listen (feels he is the one). The next day the group tours the local library. When they are finished, Christine takes off with Tommy. Cat is awoken in the middle of night by the arrival of her Uncle Pete, Chief of Police. Tommy was found murdered and the last person seen with him was Christine. Christine is not in her room, but she soon stumbles in cold, crying and with blood on her top. Christine insists that Tommy was alive when she left. Cat does not see Christine as a killer and starts asking questions around town. In addition to the murder, Uncle Pete is investigating the theft of a signed Hemingway book stolen from the library (and the librarian is pushing him to find the book). Cat thought that writer’s retreats would be quiet and leave her plenty of time to write! Cat is in for a surprising week in Fatality by Firelight. I thought that Fatality by Firelight was better than A Story to Kill. I found the story easy to read, nicely written, and it has a beautiful setting (I would like to visit). The book has far more going on in it than I summarized above. The romance between Seth and Cat is prominent in the book (just my personal opinion). Cat is not ready for a relationship with Seth. She has yet to resolve her feeling for her ex-husband, Michael. Cat needs to find out what really happened to Michael and why he pushed her away before she moves on with Seth. The storyline regarding Michael started in A Story to Kill and continues in Fatality by Firelight. The storyline of Michael shares the spotlight with the murder of Tommy Neil. I hope the author wraps up this particular storyline soon. I think it needs its own book (book three perhaps). I am curious, though, to see how the mob ties in with Michael's demise. I give Fatality by Firelight 3.5 out of 5 stars. I wish the mystery of Tommy Neil's death had been more challenging. I could identify the culprit early in the book (might as well have been a neon sign hanging over the killer's head). I am having a little trouble liking Cat. She is not happy with how much time she must spend interacting with her retreat guests. Cat did not realize how much time she would have to spend socializing and helping her guests. Cat seems to have formed the idea that guests would spend their time locked in their rooms writing or researching at the library. It seems that Cat did not fully think out the idea of her retreats. Fatality by Firelight is best read after A Story to Kill. I will be reading the next book in A Cat Latimer Mystery series. I am curious to see what happened with Michael and what role Dante Cornelio (a handsome mob guy) will play in the next book.
LisaKsBooksReviews More than 1 year ago
FATALITY BY FIRELIGHT was indeed almost fatal to me. I could have died from lack of sleep from not wanting to put this book down! Book one in the Cat Latimer Mysteries, A STORY TO KILL, was so good, I found it hard to believe that author Lynn Cahoon could improve upon it. Well, that shows you how much I know, because, FATALITY BY FIRELIGHT was superb! All of the character building, and wonderfully descriptive scenes from the first book, added such an rich essence to this tale, I felt like I was back at a favorite getaway instead of between the pages of a book. As superb as Ms. Cahoon is at plotting, planning, and writing a mystery, it’s amazing to know she has only been writing them a few short years (but she was a writer before she started mysteries). As with book one, she drew me deep into FATALITY BY FIRELIGHT, sending me on wild goose chases, and keeping my mind so busy looking for answers, she managed to fool me until the reveal. If you’re looking for a well written, entertaining, keep you up all night reading it mystery, you’ll find it for sure in FATALITY BY FIRELIGHT!
ArizonaJo More than 1 year ago
Fatality by Firelight by Lynn Cahoon is the second book in her Cat Latimer series and continues to reveal more about Aspen Falls, Cat's home town, and the writers retreats that she offers in her bed and breakfast. I enjoyed learning more about Cat, Shauna, Seth and Uncle Pete in this book. The plot is smoothly paced and there were several surprises as a new murder occurs involving one of her writer retreat guests and a local bad boy. Murder, stalking, attempted kidnapping and an eclectic group of writers created a cozy mystery that was difficult to put down. More of the secondary mystery involving Cat's ex-husband, Michael, is revealed. A new character is also introduced in this book, Dante Cornelio, who has sinister "family" connections. Cat also learns that Covington College also has those connections which is quite a shock to Cat. Ms. Cahoon does not disappoint with this second installment. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book from Kensington via NetGalley. I would like to thank Kensington Publishing for the opportunity to read this book.
DKStevens119 More than 1 year ago
When authors show up for a winter writing retreat in the Colorado mountains.. a mystery and a murder begins with enough characters and happenings, well, you could write a book!! I found myself telling Cat Latimer, nooo.. don't go there! Oh no, take someone with you!! I really enjoyed this cozy mystery and could picture myself at the Lodge in front of a blazing fire, sipping hot chocolate and discussing, who dunnit? Kept me guessing for quite awhile. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
KimHeniadis More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I’ve read in the Cat Latimer Mystery series, and really enjoyed it. The premise of turning a giant house into a writing retreat is really great for a cozy series. It is a perfect way to have new characters for each book, while still having consistent main characters. Although this is the second book in the series, Lynn Cahoon gives enough backstory that you can easily catch up with the characters. And for being book two, the characters are already very well developed. Besides having a sweet romance with Seth, there is potential here for a romantic tension filled romance with a dark and dangerous character that we meet in this book. I’m looking forward to seeing how that progresses in upcoming books. I really enjoyed the descriptions of the town and of the house. If I were to ever go to a writer’s retreat, this one sounds fabulous. There are trips to the library, ski hills, presenters, a published writer on hand to chat with, and so much delicious food! As for the mystery itself, Cahoon gave us lots of red herrings, and I didn’t figure out the killer until close to the end, when Cahoon started dropping bigger hints. The mystery of Cat’s husband’s death plays a role in this book, and makes for a second mystery thread that began in the first one, and is still not solved. The dark and dangerous character we meet in this book may have something to do with it, and the fact that he was introduced added another layer to this series that could let the author take the story in a lot of different directions. I am looking forward to seeing how this series progresses, and if I find some time in my schedule I would like to read the first book, A Story to Kill.