Fall of Angels (Recluce Series #6)

Fall of Angels (Recluce Series #6)

Audio CD(Unabridged CD)

$54.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fall of Angels (Recluce Series #6) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Karlstar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Depending on how you order this series, this is the story of the beginning of the Recluce series, telling how the 'angels' of Westwind fell from the skies. Like most of the series, the characters in this book drag you in and take you along.
agibbs on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is my personal favorite of the Recluce novels. The science fiction to fantasy overlap done at the beginning is not a conceit that I particularly enjoy, but Modesitt moves past it quickly as he begins to tell the story of stranded crew of the Winterlance, a starship blasted into the unfamiliar world of Recluce. The bulk of the story is about the attempts of the Winterlance's captain and chief engineer, Ryba and Nylan, to (at times literally) carve out a home in a world that detests them because most of the crew are women.Despite the numerous battles and the staggering death toll racked up, this is really a story about building. Constructing buildings, constructing a new way of life, and struggling with the elements and with themselves to survive in a foreign and hostile situation.Of all the Recluce novels, and I own them all, this is the one that I have picked up the most often.
UR12 More than 1 year ago
A great read that leaves you waiting for the future sequel. If you have read the previous Recluse books by L.E. Modesitt it leaves you considering as you read of the possible results of the Mage using magical forces without any training or knowledge of the source of power. The rise of power by the, "Angels" on the roof of the world is interesting but somewhat disconnected from previous stories in the series. Nevertheless the growth of power by women given the societal structure of adjacent realms is a great examination of evolutionary changes that practicably could take place. As usual the author gives almost visual clarity to something as simple as a meal where given the usual suspension of disbelief can leave your mouth watering. Although a bit plodding at times eventually the goal of whatever construction Modesitt creates eventually is actualized. I always come back to the author’s works that are many in number and always find them to be a good investment in my reading experience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Althor18 More than 1 year ago
Excellent series..loved it all and I am on Book #11 now
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very exciting and kept my interest. The characters were some of the best in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books in the Recluce Series. The book is fast-paced and very exciting which makes this book impossible to put down. The blend of Sci-Fi and Fantasy makes this book excellent and everyone should read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In my opinion, this is the best book of the Recluce Series. There is a nice blend of science fiction combined with fantasy which makes The Fall of Angels an outstanding book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In my opinion the Recluse series stops at with Fall of Angels. The Magic of Recluse was an excellent start to what could have been the next major fantasy fad, but with the introduction of spaceships and futuristic weapons my tastes ran sour. Although I will credit the author on his splendid job of taking a world through many time periods with relative ease.