Paperback

$15.44 $16.99 Save 9% Current price is $15.44, Original price is $16.99. You Save 9%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

FaceOff 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I must confess, I had been looking forward to this publication for many months and perhaps that may lend a little to my reluctance to give this 5 stars. Not a major fan of short stories, this was a bit of an adjustment for me. I read almost all the authors included and follow their character series almost 100%. I found myself feeling shorted at the end of almost every story. I don't think there was ever a point I felt the traits of the individual characters came through the storyline. Their interaction was simply that. It was not characteristic of the writer's character personality in their stand-alone plots. Having said all this, it was still easy reading and enjoyable to turn page after page. I don't think you are going to run out and purchase an ebook from one of the authors you haven't read prior based on the character usage but it helps broaden your knowledge base of fictional characters roaming or literary world!
KathywithaK27 More than 1 year ago
Ever wondered how your favorite literary characters would fair in a Celebrity Death Match with each other? I feel like this collection of short stories was exactly that. Twenty Three of the best thriller writers set out to create unique experiences with characters that all of their fans will know. Faceoff was something I never saw coming and I am terribly happy that I agreed to read this title because I came away with some delightful reads and a few shocks along the way. From Michael Connelly's detective hero Harry Bosch coming to my own backyard Boston to run into Dennis Lehane's Patrick Kenzie to the King of all horror madness R.L. Stine creating a crazy story with Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston, these aren't stereotypical stories thrown together because they just read the same. Each story was unique and interesting, while still giving you that jolt of energy and surprise that most thriller junkies have come to expect from these masters of trade. It's very clear that these are masters of their trade form page one to the end. That being said, I have to tell you that as someone who normally doesn't read a lot of this genre, I wasn't lost and confused. In fact most of these regular characters I really knew nothing about coming into this book and it never intimidated me. I could tell there were nuances about characters that I missing but I feel like a fan of an author would get it and like that incorporation, while another reader that has never read something by that same author isn't going to be scared off because they don't have prior knowledge of a character. That was the biggest part I was scared of when picking this book up and it was time wasted worrying because I didn't put it down for two days. This is exactly what I expect to find in a book with such a long list of credentials backing it up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was not familiar with some of the authors, but now I want to read all of them. The ones I am familiar with==it is fun to see that you know where each one contributed. Great fun to read.
StephWard More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars 'FaceOff' is an completely unique anthology that puts favorite literary heroes from today's bestselling thrillers against one another in a collection of eleven short stories. I found it to be a really fun and easy read - mostly due to the fact that it's a collection of short stories and because of the fantastic writing and fast pace of all the stories. I felt like it was a reader's version of video games that pit superheroes or villains against one another to see who would win. Only this time we're putting top notch main characters from big series against each other! It was thoroughly original - I haven't come across anything like this before in my reading experiences. I'm a huge fan of thrillers and suspense novels, so I was familiar with the majority of the authors and the characters featured, which only added to my enjoyment of the book, because I could cheer on my favorite heroes in each story. Even if you aren't normally a reader of the genre, these stories are packed full of action and suspense - and I feel they appeal to fans of several genres. The quality of the writing was evident in each story. I was pulled into each one right away, which normally doesn't happen for me with short stories. The pace was always fast with a natural flow and fantastic attention to detail - all the things that make these authors and their books so popular. I was happily surprised at how much I enjoyed this book; it definitely exceeded any expectations I may have had. Highly recommended for fans of all genres, especially those who enjoy mystery, suspense, and thrillers. Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just plain fun. Will try a few new authors after reading their short story.
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
A faceoff in hockey occurs when two opposing players face each other in a circle or at center ice and attempt to direct the puck to a teammate when the ref tosses it between them. In other circumstances, a faceoff implies one or more forces facing each other, usually in opposition. So at the very least this, the third book to be published on behalf of the International Thrillers Writers, comprising some of the best-known authors of the thriller-mystery genre, whose proceeds fund the organization, is a misnomer. It is edited by David Baldacci, who wrote an introduction to each of the 11 short stories included in the volume. The idea was to pair each author’s iconic protagonist with that of another, cooperating in the plot to solve a crime or mystery. It would not be fair to mention some of the authors and not others, since they are of equal stature. Some of the stories are interesting, others less so. In facing off, neither the authors nor the protagonist do. They work together, sometimes even beyond the law or ethics. Among the many problems developing stories under the concept includes working out where the two lead characters will operate, since most were domiciled in separate locations, sometimes on opposite sides of the country. Needless to say, the writing and creativity are the result of the top writers in the field. It’s just too bad their hands were tied behind their backs by the premise. One would think with the best minds in the business, a better idea could have been developed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't usually like short stories, but these are the best.
Anonymous 9 months ago
terrible book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How is &stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting which duos clicked and which struggled
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some were good, some were boring. Different sort of read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good authors got together for sloppy easy-reading...put together by email on a lunchbreak...Good idea bad Book..each piece.too short to catch your interest...
Andrew_of_Dunedin More than 1 year ago
What would happen if Dorothy and the Scarecrow visited Narnia? How about James Bond assisting the Impossible Missions Force, or perhaps rubbing shoulders with Mossad legend Gabriel Allon? Such crossovers can occasionally be worked out, but are typically impossible due to having to get the various writers together, and worse, getting their PUBLISHERS to cooperate with each other. Enter the International Thriller Writers. As a fund-raiser for the organization, they DID manage to get authors to collaborate on putting their characters together in a short story. SO … Raymond Khoury's Sean Reilly can meet Linwood Barclay's Glen Garber. Lee Child and Joseph Finder can tell of the time Jack Reacher met Nick Heller. Lucas Davenport's and Lincoln Rhyme's joint investigation can finally be told by their creators, John Sandford and Jeffrey Deaver. Ian Rankin's John Rebus and Peter James' Roy Grace can both find themselves on the same case (my favorite story in the book, I admit). And – in the one of the most bizarre pairing I could imagine, Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child can pit Pendergast against R.L. Stine's Slappy, the Ventriloquist Dummy. I found that some stories worked well, while others were a stretch. (Most readers may feel the same thing, but have different stories in their own plus and minus columns.) However, it's an admirable effort to even TRY to accomplish what the authors and their organization were able to put together, and it's worth a read. You will have the opportunity to read a new, untold adventure of some of your favorite characters, and perhaps be exposed to some you were unfamiliar with, as well. RATING: 3 1/2 stars, rounded up to 4 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi every one ho are you to day my name is lilly and forgive my fins is one of the best dooks i jave a ever read in my life. I highly recomend it to every one who liks romance and thrill seaking adventure Hop you injoy this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this format. Several of my favorite authors took part in this book and it gave me a chance to preview some authors I hadn't yet tried. Now I know of some more authors that I would be willing to try out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago