The Face of Deception (Eve Duncan Series #1)

The Face of Deception (Eve Duncan Series #1)

by Iris Johansen

Hardcover(Large Print)

$27.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Face of Deception 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 195 reviews.
Carl80 More than 1 year ago
Smoothly written, interesting plot, some really good action. Part of the problem with this book is its length which contributes to the episodic nature. Once we are set up with Eve and John mostly at each others throats, and not in a romantic way, it becomes necessary to periodically inject a crisis or major disruption to maintain tension. Eventually Eve Duncan got on this reader's nerves and she became a bit predictable. Some readers will be put off by the references to former President John Kennedy. I was not. I also found John Logan beginning to wear thin. A shorter, tighter story would have been an improvement.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this was the first book I had read by Iris Johansen. And Let me just say it definatly will not be the last. I couldn't put it down! I suggest everyone read this book. I even got my husband to read it. And he usually doesn't read anything that doesn't involve cars. So, every go out and get this book!!
Drea82367 More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I've read by Iris Johansen. I became interested in her books after watching "The Killing Game" on LMN. After reading some of the reviews, I was leary about reading the book, but am glad I followed my own instincts! The book was a good read and I can't wait to get to the 2nd book in the series (although i may have to skip it since I've already seen the movie).
stunning More than 1 year ago
This book was a good read. The book got cheesy every time her daughter talked to her as a ghost. They could have cut that out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am glad this was not my first Iris Johansen novel. I would never have picked up another. Eve Duncan and Joe Quinn are the most annoying characters. Joe gets upset about anyone talking to Eve....and he's married!!!! I am all for a strong, independent women but Eve Duncan has been taken overboard. Her daughters death keeps getting beaten into the readers head. Needless to say, I won't be buying the Eve Duncan series anymore.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I ever read by Johansen. It was thrilling, exciting and suspensful. Worth reading! Does anyone happen to know the sequel books? I know the killing game is next but what's after that? Thanks for the help!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It holds the reader from start to finish. I will definitely read the series.
sincyn More than 1 year ago
I started reading Iris Johansen' books over the past several years and have loved her Eve Duncan series. I enjoyed this book very much and could not put the book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved everything about it from the beggining to the end. I couldn't put it down, not even for a second! The suspense was great it had me buried in the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
love+her+books+keeps+ya+in+suspense+and+a+great+page+turner
kysmom02 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the first book featuring Eve Duncan, and the only one that I hadn't read. I don't usually start in the middle, but it just happened, and then I didn't go back to catch up. Well, now that I've done it, I'm actually disappointed! I had hoped that I'd learn more about what happened to Bonnie, other than what's been hinted at or talked around in all of the novels. This book wasn't about Bonnie at all.This is the book that introduces John Logan and Eve. John conned Eve into helping him identify a skull and wound up getting her into a big mess instead. But, they worked together and with the help of Joe Quinn, Eve's long time friend, they manage to escape. There wasn't much romance in this book, at least not as much as others, but it didn't seem to matter.I love this author, and love this series. I'm anxiously awaiting the next book coming out later this year, and then another in 2010. Her books read fast for me, but still give me something to ponder and look forward to. She always leaves me wanting more. I enjoyed this story and am glad that I picked it up, but it's not my favorite.
caro488 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Johansen, Iris, The Face of Deception, Eve Duncan, forensic sculptor, works in secret to rebuild the face from a skull- who really resembles the still living(supposedly) president. Deception goes to the highest levels. N Eve's life is in danger.
onyx95 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Surviving the disappearance and probable murder of her daughter gave drive to Eve Duncan. The need to keep busy and her own tragedy gave Eve a perspective that some of her collogues in the professional field of forensic sculptor didn¿t have. Being the best in the field caught the attention of wealthy businessman John Logan when he received information about a skull that he desperately needed confirmation on the identity of. Utilizing every resource to persuade Eve to help him, Logan and Eve finally confirmed the identity of the victim only to find themselves targeted to be the next victim on the list. Book 1 ¿.. With all these cop or forensic type shows and books out now, it is difficult to come up with a new idea. This may not be a completely new idea, but it is sure done well. Quickly jumping into the action and the characters lives. Each of these characters come through great, especially John Logan - he reminds me a little of another Eve¿s man (Roarke - and that is a good thing). Actually really liked Eve¿s reluctance to help at first, not every heroine is made to jump in the middle of things. I anticipate the relationship with Logan and the growth of Eve¿s character the most when I read the next book, The Killing Games.
jepeters333 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Forensic sculptor Eve Duncan is talked into reconstructing a skull which turns out to be the President of the US
Darrol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a well written book, and one cares about the characters. However, the premise is a little unlikely. But Johansen pulls it off without the over the top explanations that muddy the narrative of some unlikely scenarios.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my first Iris Johansson novel and I have to say it's official a great start. Can't wait to read some more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not as good as I thought it would be. It could have been a lot better I thought.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great start to a fantastic series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really love all of her books! A huge fan!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boring
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent novel, especially as the first in a series. The main character is particularly well developed and the plot just keeps you wanting to read more rather than hurry up to the end. Without a doubt, I will be reading the rest of this series. Stephanie Clanahan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago