Entombed (Alexandra Cooper Series #7)

Entombed (Alexandra Cooper Series #7)

by Linda Fairstein

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Entombed (Alexandra Cooper Series #7) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The interaction between Coop, Mercer and especially Chapman are very real. Having been a detective, I can just hear the conversations and they make me chuckle. All of the books are quick reads that you really don't want to put down. While I'm sure that Fairsten took some leeway with some of the forensic facts the books are truly enjoyable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had a hard time putting this book down.I hope The Kills will be just as good. I will start this one tonight.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all the books in this series so far. This one was good. It was a little creepy with all the talk of being buried alive, but it was a good story and moved along quickly. So far I've enjoyed reading all the books in this series.
BuriedUnderBooks More than 1 year ago
Manhattan sex crimes prosecutor Alexandra Cooper and her detective partners, Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace, are involved in the case of the Silk Stocking serial rapist. At the same time, workers have uncovered a body entombed behind a wall of a brownstone being torn down and Alex is drawn into the dark world of Edgar Allan Poe, who once lived in the house. This particular body, that of a young woman, has apparently been behind the wall for 25 years but seems to have a connection to a more recent murder. During their investigation, the team begins to think these two murders might have some relationship to the Silk Stocking rapist, who has reappeared after four years of inactivity.Entombed Rich in atmosphere, this novel takes us to the Bronx Botanical Gardens. A wild landscape, it’s the perfect place for a deadly chase and the author writes about it in such a way as to make me want to see it someday. The descriptions of this and other less-than-famous New York City landmarks are the heart of this entry in the Alex Cooper series and they overshadow a bit the actual mysteries but not too much. Ms. Fairstein also offers a great deal of history of Poe which I thoroughly enjoyed. A particular episode of the investigation involving Alex is particularly Poe-worthy and chilling (although an inexplicably dumb move on her part helps put her in the situation) but it is a tragic event at the end that elevates Ms. Fairstein. Many mystery writers would never have the nerve to take such a step. I listened to an abridged version but never felt there were scenes missing that were needed to carry the story. Actress Blair Brown is a good narrator with enough intensity as well as restraint to seem as though she really is Alex Cooper. I will be glad to try more books read by her. Great cover, too! Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the book ... Linda Fairstein is at her best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is only one problem with reading Linda Fairstein's novels. I am up so late at night because I cannot put them down and 'Entombed' is no exception! The plot and characters along with the combination of history and the eerie unknown makes this one an enjoyable novel to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't mind a little history to back up some interesting turn of events but I found myself yawning and wondering when the action was going to justify all the education. I kept losing the characters, the plots disconnected. I found I enjoyed the few pages at the end of book about her next novel. I liked the format, however. Bigger book, easier on the eyes...not my favorite LF novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A very good story from Linda Fairstein. I have read all her novels and really enjoy her writing style..enjoy the banter between the major characters and their personal lives. Fairstein does good job of keeping me engaged with the plot...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was able to read all of Fairstein's book in quick succession. I love it when I find an established author and I can sit and read several books in a row! I loved each of these books. I teach high school English, and I have gotten several of my students hooked as well!
DanaJean on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Edgar Allen Poe figures prominently in this Alexandra Cooper mystery. While doing a demolition, workers come across a body that has been entombed in the wall in a home where Poe once lived. Very Poe-ish for sure, but a modern crime. And, the Silk Stocking Rapist (apparently a past character--this is my first Fairstein read) is stalking New York and sex crimes prosecutor Alex Cooper is on the case.I found this an okay read. I wasn't particularly drawn into the story, although the Poe references and historical information were interesting. I'm going to try an earlier Fairstein and see if she can hook me.
pak6th on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Alex Cooper, assistant DA and sex crimes prosecutor, is trying to catch the Silk Stocking Rapist when a body is found entombed in a wall where Edgar Allan Poe once lived. Lots of banter, insight into the life of Poe and his fans, action, and a satisfactory end.
heidilove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a fun read. My introduction to Alexandra Cooper. Witty and literate, a nice addition to the sleuth series. A fine beach book, as I'm certain any of hers would be.
alice443 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A legal mystery set in New York city with many references to Edgar A. Poe. Enjoyable light reading.
smik on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Workers demolishing a nineteenth-century brownstone where Edgar Allan Poe once lived discover a human skeleton entombed -- standing -- behind a brick wall. When sex crimes prosecutor Alexandra Cooper hears about the case, it strikes her as a classic Poe scene...except that forensic evidence shows that this young woman died within the last twenty-five years. Meanwhile, Alex's old nemesis the Silk Stocking Rapist is once again terrorizing Manhattan's Upper East Side. The attacks soon escalate to murder, and the search leads Alex and detectives Mercer Wallace and Mike Chapman to the city's stunning Bronx Botanical Gardens. There, an enigmatic librarian presides over the Raven Society, a group devoted to the work of Poe.This was an engrossing read. There's a lot of detail about Poe (and who knows if it is correct) but certainly we have all read some Poe at some time. I can believe too the claim made in the book that Poe was the originator of the detective novel. . There were parts of the novel which were very Poe-ish in their macabre-ness and suspense. At the same time it moves at a smart pace and there are lots of little weblike links binding it all together.I didn't find this as dark as some of the earlier Fairstein's that I have read. There's some intersting coments too on how modern technology that can help track a culprit down - DNA of course, but Metro transport tickets??
PierresFamily More than 1 year ago
Entombed is another suspenseful murder mystery by Linda Fairstein. As usual, New York City is a major character, and while enjoying a captivating story, we also get to do a little armchair traveling. Edgar Allen Poe is an additional character. I won't give away any spoilers, but suffice it to say that you may think that you think you know Poe, but you don't! Even though this book is part of the ADA Alexandra Cooper series, it can also stand on its own. Characters and dialogue remind me of what I experienced when I worked in the justice system. As always with Ms. Fairstein's work, I highly recommend the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept reading because the story seemed promising; but when I realized reading it had become a chore I was just trying to get through, I quit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please let me not know what's coming by seeing the page number just once. Then it'll be a really great read that accommodates your wonderful imagination in your NY settings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago