Embedded

Embedded

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Embedded 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
williewonder More than 1 year ago
I have recently bought a NOOK and would like to see as many titles as possible converted to the NOOK format. This is a great story and has an interesting twist at the end that will leave you wanting to search for the next book in the series. Is there a next book? I hope so!
Dajo95 More than 1 year ago
I've recently started reading again. Something I probably should have done long ago. I actually really enjoyed this book. It wasn't your typical Hero from planet Zog fiction junk. It was a well thought out original plot with just enough hard hitting action. It's obvious Abnett is more of a battle sequence writer but again, he does a great job seamlessly moving the original plot forward and explaining things that simply should not be explained as well as he does them. Don't want to spoil it though. Short but entertaining. Enjoy.
duncanmakk More than 1 year ago
I wish there was more to this story line. It's a Hellofa ride that has action, comedy, and the ending is wrapped up nicely. Highly recommend this read if you're looking for a quick, fun jaunt into the future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a pretty typical novel for Abnett: An action oriented, mil sci-fi genre novel, good read but not a lot of weight to it. It's fast to read and entertaining, but ultimately somewhat shallow. It hits on a couple big issues---e.g., post-global corporate states, tele-mind control, and the relationship between media and government, particularly in war. But it doesn't dig into any of them, or even really hint at some of the complexities lurking there. Further, it employs very much a 1980s conception of war, boosted by just a little high tech but in meaningless ways. Drones, genetics, many of these things are more than just minor tactics adjustments, but they're not present and the contradiction of a very high tech society but comparatively low tech military is unexplained and somewhat glaring. All in all, a good light read for fans of the genre, otherwise not overly compelling.
tottman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was fortunate to receive an early review copy of Embedded by Dan Abnett. The story is about a cold war gone hot on an alien world and the reporter who is there to experience it.Embedded is military sci-fi with a couple of innovative twists. It is told through the eyes of a reporter, Lex Falk. Falk is a successful, jaded reporter who has bounced around from planet to planet. He becomes convinced there is a story at his latest stop, a big story. When he gets the run-around from the military authorities, he agrees to a secret radical procedure that allows him to share the consciousness of a soldier in the field. An accident leaves him in control of the soldier¿s body and forces him to attempt to get to safety while at the same time discovering the secret to what turns a centuries long cold war into a real one.Some of the story techniques were more annoying than clever. New words are made up with their meanings left to be intuited, but they are not very intuitive and are never defined. None of the characters have a great deal of depth, but a few of the female characters are especially thin. They show up with minimal explanation, move the story along a little and then disappear. The description of the planet was good, but could have been explored more. It felt half-finished. A little less reporter angst and a little more world-building might have been a better balance.The action sequences are fairly well done and carry the story along at a pretty good clip for the last half of the book. The description of sharing consciousness with another person was also very well done; especially a sequence where Falk is lost in the memories of the soldier leaving both Falk and the reader somewhat disoriented. The technology is sufficiently futuristic making for battles that are a lot of fun to read. The concept of military sci-fi told through the eyes of a non-soldier is an interesting one. The story doesn¿t quite deliver on the intriguing premise, but is still a worthwhile read.
TadAD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dan Abnett has a large following for his military science fiction, so I gave one a try. I guess I'd say that it passed a few hours.It had a fairly interesting premise: a jaded veteran reporter, Lex Falk, tries a new technology that allows his mind to ride piggy-back in the mind of a combat trooper, Private Bloom. An ambush damages Bloom's mind, so Falk must try to survive in hostile territory with the muscle memory of a combatant but only his own¿decidedly non-military¿mental skillset.As far as action goes, this book delivered reasonably well. From the time the mission begins until just a couple of pages from the end, it's a fairly non-stop shoot 'em up. Abnett sets up a rational premise for the conflict, makes the ensuing scenes fast-paced and somewhat breathless, and manages to stay comfortably out of the danger zone of "Oh, come on...no way they got out of that!" About the only black mark I'd give the plot is the ending, which is very abrupt and doesn't provide a feeling of closure on everything that has happened.From a character point of view, the novel has a bit less to offer. The characters are flat, stereotypical grunts or flat, stereotypical government bureaucrats or flat, stereotypical...you get the idea. Even Falk's hard-bitten reporter persona is only given a skim coat at the beginning of the book and then goes on autopilot. About the only depth that does occur is that we get to watch Falk struggle a (small) amount with the moral question of having his link to Bloom severed, probably saving his own life, versus trying to get Bloom's body to safety so that doctors can try to save him.Abnett does make a few token passes at media responsibility, big business cover ups, government corruption and the like, but they are really just pro forma and don't really impinge upon the reader to any great extent.Beyond that, I have to say that I found the concept of mental implants that allowed corporations to use your speech as an advertising medium quite funny.This isn't a book with any depth, so my recommendation would depend upon what you are looking for. If you're looking for a quick beach read, this is light enough that you might want to give it a try. If you're looking for the better quality military science fiction, the kind that makes you think a bit, you might want to browse further.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good pace but wrapped up too quickly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great action
Chukar89 More than 1 year ago
This review is for the nook version. There is no problem with the formatting or glaring spelling problems in the file, so that is a plus. If you like thriller sci-fi's with a bit of mystery, this is the book for you. Embedded has an interesting concept and the world Abnett has created feels believable. The book flows well and it's not too long either, so that's a big plus. However, I do feel it drags a bit towards the middle, and some characters are introduced only to be forgotten or made less important later. I had trouble recalling some character's names or keeping them straight beyond the main character. Regardless, I enjoyed reading this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like this author, and was looking forward to this book when I found it. However, I was a little disappointed. It read fast, and ther is a lot of well written action. There is a lot of build up, but then it kind of just plateaus. Then, it just kind of ends. I don't know what I was expecting, but that was not it. Overall it was a decent read, bu by far not the best work by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very unexpected and original pov. I'll read more of mr. Abnet for sure. Outstanding in its realism of groundpounders.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my favorite book but it wasn't a waste of time, I suspect I just wasn't in the right mood for this one. Dan Abnett is a huge favorite of many other readers. I enjoy military sci fi a lot but this is the second Abnett book I wasn't overjoyed with. At least I finished this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First time reading Abnett. Good solid book with some amazing battle scenes, and an interesting twist to the story. Will have to read another book by Abnett.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of Dan Abnett's writing, and he delivers again with "Embedded." Fast paced, military sci-fi that makes ithard to put the book down. Highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CharlieHeidal More than 1 year ago
As a Former military guy, I'm very glad that higher command can only see through cameras and hear through speakers on my kit. Having someone in the back of my skull looking out my eyes and hearing with my ears would pretty much weird me out. Dan Abnett writes great military science fiction and this is no different. Recommended read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago