Eastern Standard Tribe: A Novel

Eastern Standard Tribe: A Novel

by Cory Doctorow

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.55 $16.99 Save 8% Current price is $15.55, Original price is $16.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Eastern Standard Tribe 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
SteveTheDM More than 1 year ago
A quick tale about mental institutions and business partners who cheat, all set in a tomorrow where online communities cluster around time zone more than anything else. Doctorow basically starts in the middle and then uses a "now" timeline and a "flashback" timeline to keep the tension high. It's a good trick, and works well. This was a fun book, and very fast to read. 4 out of 5.
tyroeternal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book hits the ground running. Falling into the groove of understanding the story took a moment, but once the story got rolling I quite enjoyed it. The ending came much faster than I would have expected, and left me a bit disappointed. Much of the book felt as if it needed to be fleshed out much further, and would benefit from a larger page count. All said, however, I quite enjoyed this story. EST made for an enjoyably light, fast paced, fun read-through.
anderew on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I work in an organization very much like the one where the protagonist of this book executes his agent-provocateur activities. Suddenly it all makes sense! Agents of our enemies are destroying us from within by corrupting our UI and business processes! I laughed out loud many times reading this book and found it very thought provoking. I like the fact it feels so real, has a just beyond the cutting edge view of the way technology affects us and at the same time has such human characters in it.I have recommended it to several of my colleagues who also enjoyed it. I have even found myself quoting passages in design meetings when it all gets a little too surreal.
jshrop on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another great "near future" drummed up by Doctorow! I have enjoyed everything I have read of his and Eastern Standard Tribe doesn't dissapoint. The base concept, of "tribes" within each time zone trying to make their domain the best, most interactive, most engaging, while putting rougue tribe members into other time zones to purposely sabotage the experience of those in their domain is fantastic. I liked the dual perspective used, telling the story of the same characters timeline broken up so that we reach the two climaxes in the story at the same time, even though they happen weeks, maybe even months, apart in time. Even without as much "high-tech" as Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom, there are enough forward thinking ideas and "tech" to keep you feeling like you are living in the future, but not so distant that it might start happeneing as soon as next week.
JonathanGorman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Pretty engrossing. The main character has a nice geeky feeling that not surprisingly reminds me a bit of myself and people I know. Lots of ideas for tinkering and improving things.One thing I'll say is the blurb is a little misleading. I was expecting something Illuminatus like from the blurb, with different groups attempting to cause radical change in the real world through a variety of mechanisms. Not a bad book, but I'd like to see Doctorow write that one someday too ;). Also, there's some stuff about tribes, but I don't know if someone who hasn't been involved in a similar thing would get the feel. Obviously the geeks who've spent time in an irc channel will understand, but I don't know
joeteo1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The concept of time zone tribes did not strike me as plausible but the protagonist of the book is likable and the story well paced. The story tries to make a statement regarding the repercussion of our increasingly online existence and how it changes the ways in which humanity interacts. Its refreshing to see a story that tackles such big questions while still being very entertaining.
plappen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Here is a near-future novel about an industrial saboteur who finds himself on the roof of an insane asylum near Boston.In a 24-hour, instant communication world the need for sleep is the only thing that hasn¿t changed. The world is splintering into tribes based on time zones; those in other time zones will be at lunch or sleeping when you need them. Only those in your own time zone can be depended upon.Art lives in London, and he works for a European telecommunications mega-corporation. His "real job" is to make life as difficult as possible for those in the Greenwich Mean Tribe by inserting user-hostile software wherever he can. Of course, other tribes are doing the same thing to Art¿s "home tribe," the Eastern Standard Tribe.Art is also working on managing data flow along the Massachusetts Turnpike. Most cars have some sort of onboard computer on which songs are stored, sometimes tens of thousands of songs. Art comes up with a system for wireless transfer of songs between cars, while they are driving on the Mass Pike. Art¿s business partner, Fede, sends him to Boston to sign an agreement selling the system to a local company. After several days of being told to wait, while ¿details¿ are being finalized, Art realizes that he is being screwed by Fede, and Art¿s girlfriend, Linda. The two met when Art hit her with his car in London. That is how Art finds himself on the roof of a forty-floor insane asylum near Boston; Fede and Linda had him committed there.As with any Doctorow novel, this book is full of interesting ideas. It¿s easy to read, very plausible and very much recommended.
PiAir on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When I started reading the book I at first was confused. Who was this Art and what was he doing on the roof? And it took me a while to get the two story lines straightened out. After that I really wanted to find out how he ended up there and what had happened.Like the other Cory Doctorow books, the story is staged in the not too distant future, making it feel more believable, though the idea of music sharing described in the book isn't that innovative. Unlike the suggested use of the tracking bracelets for patients.
dvf1976 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After reading "Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom", I wanted a 'whuffie detector' (to say nothing of immortality)This book has comms which function about the same.Doctorow should have an 'embedded fund' that he expects to create his future.
aethercowboy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When I met Cory Doctorow, he was speaking at my school as part of a conference on the web (WWW@10). Hearing him speak got me interested in his background, and I discovered that he had recently published a book. So I bought it (even knowing that I could get it for free online).This book, just barely a novel in length (I think it's about 60k words), paints a not-too-distant future in which people join "tribes" that correspond to different regions. These tribes distinguish themselves by adjusting their biological clocks to their respective zones, regardless of their geographical location. This is perfectly understandable in this information-dense future, in which your grandma, who may be all the way across the globe, is only a phone call away.Art, our protagonist, works for the EST while trying to sabotage the GMT0. He gets a great idea, but finds himself in a bit of trouble trying to market it back to his home tribe.This book is hilarious satire, if you're in the mood for reading satire, or just a quick glimpse into the future, if you're feeling divine.It will most likely appeal to readers of minimalist or new weird authors, or fans of Doctorow's other works (including his contributions to the BoingBoing.net blog).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OUT! I HAD THIS PLACE FIRST! AT A DIFFERENT SEARCH! MINE! OUT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Trudged in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A third star appears in the sky. Tears enter her eyes as she relises that mys be her only parent her mom wing with no feathers.