Early Bird: A Memoir of Premature Retirement

Early Bird: A Memoir of Premature Retirement

by Rodney Rothman

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Early Bird: A Memoir of Premature Retirement 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
JoeVaughan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kind of a fun book. Lots of meaning for those of us who live in a retirement community. It reminds one of retired people shown in TV shows like: The Odd Couple and Seinfeld. Caricatured people, but pleasantly done. I read this book over and over.. at least the first part.. but I don't know if I'll ever finish it. Even though I like it, it loses me.. surely some fellow senior citizens can't be so rude.. or so dumb!
lefty33 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was an interesting insight into the world of retirement and elderly people. Rothman spends more than six months in a retirement community to get a feel for what retirement is like. The book made me feel empathetic towards the elderly, allowing me to glimpse life from a new perspective. I liked getting to know the cliques within the community as well as the individuals who formed the cliques. Rothman's writing style is casual, allowing for a personal account of the time spent in the retirement community. It was an unexpectedly good read.
Othemts on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book starts off with a 28 year old Rothman losing his job as a television comedy writer and deciding to "retire early" to a senior community in Florida. The premise reads like the plot of a dumb sitcom and the cornball style of writing in the early going of this book almost made me put it down. Somewhere along the way the book changes its tone. First, Ro thman finds himself unable to leave after the joke has played out and second he begins to see the humanity of the elderly people living in retirement in South Florida and even makes some friends. He also makes some wry observations of the cliques and petty gossip in the community that should disabuse anyone of escaping these things with the wisdom of old age. Overall, its enjoyable book with some funny bits and some insightful bits that makes it just good enough to barely overcomes its weak start.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
You know, I liked it, BUT it was a little to planned out. I would have enjoyed this much more if it was written as an afterthought. Looking back and finding humor and obsurdity would have been better. Knowing up front that the book was the plan, he spent too much time looking for the humor, instead of just letting it happen to him and reflecting on it later.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Rotham wrote a truely entertaining book. I think every 20 something to 30 something should read. Especially those in the workforce.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is a layered perspective that is so clearly a reflection of this segment of the population...and within this story is comedy and pathos...a real telling of the dynamics, characters and nuances of this age group...just so powerful......
Guest More than 1 year ago
absolutely loved this book. It is a humorous and touching take on retired life from a twenty-something point of view. AMAZING!!!! A must read.