Dying For A Date

Dying For A Date

by Cindy Sample

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dying for a Date 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best stories I have read in a long time. The mystery, and hint of romance to come, kept me fully engaged. Not to mention the sprinkling of laughs and finally the cover design, which first caught my attention. Looking forward to reading all in this series!!!
christytilleryfrench More than 1 year ago
Laurel McKay, a recently divorced soccer mom who works as a mortgage loan underwriter, signs up for a six-month membership with a dating service called The Love Club. Her first date ends abruptly after she breaks her date's nose when he gets too frisky. Laurel's ready to give it up but can't justify losing her money, so decides to try once more. But before that occurs, she finds herself the number one suspect when her first date's body is found in his car with his head bashed in. If that isn't bad enough, Laurel's definitely feeling something for the hot detective investigating the case but can't tell if the heated looks he's sending her are reciprocal or skeptical. When her second date dies during their dinner together, the police have a large target painted on Laurel's back, which sends her into panic mode. Before they come for her with handcuffs, Laurel, along with her mother and a couple of friends, decide to do some amateur sleuthing, leading them down a hazardous road filled with danger. Dying for a Date is packed with zany characters, humorous situations, and laugh-out-loud narrative. Laurel McKay is amusing, her antics entertaining, and her interactions with her family and friends bring smiles as well as nods of recognition. There are several standout characters but this reviewer's favorite is Laurel's mother. The relationship Laurel has with her mom, who is a bit jaded and critical, is not only realistic but hilarious. The sizzling chemistry between Laurel and Detective Hunter adds a nice touch to this comedic mystery. Consider reading this book in one setting, because once you start, you will be reluctant to put it aside.
mystery_reader96 More than 1 year ago
There are those days when all I want to do is slink home from work and curl up on the couch with a good book until I feel better. One of my friends recommended this book to me, so I had it on hand after a particularly sucky day. I found myself laughing and having a good time, flipping page after page. I liked the characters, was glad she was on the interesting dates instead of me, and I learned things about the mortgage industry. I like books that give me a little insight into other people's worlds. Highly recommended!
Anonymous 9 months ago
Loved+this+book+from+start+to+finish%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the mystery mixed with romcom.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good. Lml
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very+well+written.++A+great+storyline+with+humor+stuck+in+here+and+there.++I+didn%27t+figure+it+out+until+the+author+told+me.+
ctfrench on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Laurel McKay, a recently divorced soccer mom who works as a mortgage loan underwriter, signs up for a six-month membership with a dating service called The Love Club. Her first date ends abruptly after she breaks her date¿s nose when he gets too frisky. Laurel¿s ready to give it up but can¿t justify losing her money, so decides to try once more. But before that occurs, she finds herself the number one suspect when her first date¿s body is found in his car with his head bashed in. If that isn¿t bad enough, Laurel¿s definitely feeling something for the hot detective investigating the case but can¿t tell if the heated looks he¿s sending her are reciprocal or skeptical. When her second date dies during their dinner together, the police have a large target painted on Laurel¿s back, which sends her into panic mode. Before they come for her with handcuffs, Laurel, along with her mother and a couple of friends, decide to do some amateur sleuthing, leading them down a hazardous road filled with danger. Dying for a Date is packed with zany characters, humorous situations, and laugh-out-loud narrative. Laurel McKay is amusing, her antics entertaining, and her interactions with her family and friends bring smiles as well as nods of recognition. There are several standout characters but this reviewer¿s favorite is Laurel¿s mother. The relationship Laurel has with her mom, who is a bit jaded and critical, is not only realistic but hilarious. The sizzling chemistry between Laurel and Detective Hunter adds a nice touch to this comedic mystery. Consider reading this book in one setting, because once you start, you will be reluctant to put it aside.
JFHilborne on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I stayed up until almost 1am to finish this book. I loved it from the very first line. As a mystery writer myself, I struggle to put humor and homicide together. In this book, Cindy does it brilliantly. The story is excellent, the characters are so endearing, and it's also set in the real estate world, my arena. I laughed all the way through, humorous lines on almost every page. I thought I figured out the killer, delighted to discover I was wrong. Brilliant read. I highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy reading, likeable characters,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another winner from Cindy Sample. Read it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me stuck in my reading from start to finish
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy read with comical characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this mystery. It pulled me right in. I had no clue as to who dunnit, making progress in guesses as the plot moved forward. I was surprised at the denouement. The romance added a nice touch that lightened the read. I loved the main character's relationship with her mother. I can't wait to read another Laura McKay mystery!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed it
Dizneyfreek More than 1 year ago
Good mystery with a twist. Most characters are good & believable. I hated "Barbara" but that might be because she's too close to people I know that are really obnoxious!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book , just hit my funny bone .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fun read. I loved the characters, enjoyed the mystery and laughed a lot!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ABrantley More than 1 year ago
OMG, you are going to LOVE Laurel McKay! I was sucked in from page one and couldn't put the book down. I loved the character and all her crazy thoughts. This is a case where the character makes the story. Not that the story isn't good. Who could resist a cozy mystery in which the men Laurel starts to date wind up dead? Throw in a sexy detective and you've got the perfect reason to turn off those CSI reruns and curl up with a good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An engaging & cozy mystery. Also a fun read! My new fav. author. Just bought the next 2 books in the series. (517 pgs.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shawn_Hansen More than 1 year ago
It's been along time since a book made me laugh out loud, and I was treated to a handful of those moments while reading Cindy Sample's *Dying for a Date*. I would have been satisfied with this book had it merely kept its initial promise: read me and you'll laugh; however, the good news about *Dying for a Date* doesn't stop with the well-placed puns, humorous asides, and downright funny moments. There's a genuine mystery going on, and before you know it, you've connected with Laurel McKay and want her to uncover the truth about who's systematically knocking off her prospects and making her look guilty in the process. The structure of the book doesn't disappoint either: the characters remain true to themselves, the pace is consistent, and the plot remains solid. Pleasantly absent is the mid-book lull, and that makes *Dying for a Date* a rare gem in the land of mystery. One final note: I am not a mother, nor am I divorced, yet I had no trouble connecting with Laurel McKay because while those things are a large part of who she is, they don't define her completely. If you love a fast-paced, well-crafted mystery, and you enjoy an honest laugh, *Dying for a Date* is for you.