Midnight Express

Midnight Express

Director: Alan Parker Cast: Brad Davis, Randy Quaid, John Hurt

Blu-ray (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Midnight Express 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a very atmospheric, emotional, well acted motion picture. The cinematography is superb, the acting is very believable. It points out a lot of unjust things that happen in the world whether justified or not. It has nothing to do with ''Turkish People'' as the previous reviewer would have you think. This could have taken place in any other foreign country or even America for that matter. Just see it for the emotion, entertainment value and leave all else behind. Excellent movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie has great dramatic acting (yes, randy quaid!), excellent character development, and paints an incredibly bleak exsistance of life in a foreign prison. In has the ability to keep you on the edge of your seat. And to counter the poor rating given by our turkish rater (same person twice no doubt), this is turkey of 30 years ago, when relations between the us and turkey were poor. Remember, there are good Mississipians, but that doesn't mean that Mississippi Burning is automatically a bad movie. If you enjoy drama, this is definitely worth the time. There is a reason it won an Oscar.
Guest More than 1 year ago
no doubt about it, ths movie was a shocker. the perfomances were above average, the story was based on real events, and oliver stone's screenplay won a well-deserved academy award. don't miss this movie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this movie was really cool and good. some parts i was like whoa. it was just heavy to watch,especially for a 13 year old. and i can`t believe that it`s a tru story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Few movies have mesmerized me in my lifetime (Braveheart, Deer Hunter, The American Dream); but, none left me numb as Midnight Express did. Brad Davis is superb. He depicts a person with deep convictions by not yielding to the 'partner-wanna-be', but still realizes his wrong-doing with the hashish. I would recommend this movie to anyone unless you're looking for laughter. A very deserving Oscar depiction of Turkey-American relations 25-30 years ago.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Taking a different route from other reviewers, I'd like to point out the moot point made about homosexuality in the movie. It's obvious that males are shown feminine and about to kiss each other in almost every scene. Walking around in their underwear probably is no help avoiding sexual confrontation. If you are a lover of flower children of 70's with homosexual tendencies and have a grudge against the "state" I would recommend this movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Good acting due to poor scenario(why true events are always boring on screen inc. pappilion ?) and bad turkish language .In my opinion the movie deserves the awards. and I MUST SAY i live in turkey and love my country and belive that History is history no way to change it. Everyone one knows what the STATE made to the new PrimeMaster (i dont like him either).
Guest More than 1 year ago
in this movie all Turkish caracters are not Turkish.they dont speak turkish like turkish people andthey are lying about them.i have many turkish friend and i went to Turkey many times.Turkey isn't like that.its a beautiful country.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Alan Parker`s movie is a propaganda movie against Turkey and Turks. After his tragic movie; many people behavior have changed for Turks and Turkey even tough they have never visited to Turkey or never have a Turk friend. I urge you to go Turkey or have Turk friends and than watch this tragic movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago