Love in the Time of Cholera

Love in the Time of Cholera

DVD

$14.11 $14.99 Save 6% Current price is $14.11, Original price is $14.99. You Save 6%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Love in the Time of Cholera 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aglaia More than 1 year ago
Love In The Time Of Cholera is such a great book, it really brings you in and doesn`t let you go. Well, the same cannot be said about the movie, which I found mediocre overall. Perhaps it is because the strenght of Marquez` novel is in the power of his voice, and the compelling force of the love that shines through in the end. That, of course, is impossible to convey through the screen. The story is all over the place, and even the most enthusiast fans can lose interest at some point. I certainly did (but I did watch it through). The actors are good, Javier Bardem slightly creepy (but then he is supposed to be so, so no blame for that), and I never thought much of Benjamin Bratt, but I think he really did well in this movie. The colours are also beautiful. But when it comes down to it, the movie really fails to live up to the novel, as I said earlier. After I finished the novel, I was so engrossed in it that for several days, I didn`t read anything else, hanging on to the words in the book. When I saw the movie...well, that was it, I turned the page. Maybe some books aren`t meant to be made into movies, and are better left the way they are.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For devotees of Gabriel García Márquez this unprofessional adaptation of his sweepingly romantic novel 'El amor en los tiempos del cólera' will sadly disappoint. Ronald Harwood's screenplay is a patchwork quilt that attempts to tell the story of longing for love in the manner of a novella/travelogue and despite the presence of some very fine actors in the key roles, director Mike Newell forgets to grasp the atmosphere that makes the original novel ethereal. Young Florentino Ariza (Unax Ugalde) is a poor dreamer working as a telegraph operator and sees and falls in love with young Fermina Daza (Giovanna Mezzogiorno), daughter of a wealthy mule trader Lorenzo Daza (John Leguizamo) who upon hearing of the infatuation whisks Fermina away as Florentino pledges undying love and fidelity to Fermina. Florentino's mother Tránsito (Fernanda Montenegro), his uncle Leo (Hector Elizondo), and his friend Lotario Thugut (Liev Schreiber) comfort him and try to encourage his mating with another woman, but as Florentino matures (now Javier Bardem) even the long list of sexual encounters cannot turn his mind away from Fermina. Fermina marries Dr. Juvenal Urbino (Benjamin Bratt), travels widely, has his child and ultimately discovers her husband's infidelity. Florentino inherits his Uncle's shipping wealth, becoming one of the wealthy class that would have made him an eligible suitor for Fermina when he originally met her. But time changes everything except Florentino's commitment to Fermina and after the death of Dr. Urbino, he has the chance to realize his long awaited dream of being with the now 70+ year old lover. The story spans fifty years in an unnamed city in Columbia (here Cartagena) and across the beauty of both South America and Europe. All of the basic elements are in place: the important missing piece is the magic of Gabriel García Márquez's prose. The huge cast is wasted on a script that is less than pedestrian: Javier Bardem tries to make Florentino a credible sympathetic character but is stuck in the mud of his lines the brilliant Fernanda Montenegro attempts to paste together the pared down role of Florentino's mother an unremarkable Giovanna Mezzogiorno fails to make Fermina worthy of Florentino's devotion John Leguizamo is grossly and embarrassingly miscast fine actors such as Unax Ugalde, Liev Schrieber, Catalina Sandino Moreno, Ana Claudia Talancón, Hector Elizondo and others are little more than cardboard caricatures of the original creations. One wonders how Newell and Harwood could have strayed so far from the mark of the potential that this beautiful novel promised as a cinematic transition. But what resulted from their collaboration is an overlong, boring, and sloppy version of the original story. Sad to see fine actors wasted in this film. Grady Harp
Guest More than 1 year ago
Keep in mind that this is a romance story. Those who rate this movie poorly don't understand it. There are some amusing moments that add light to an otherwise heart-wrenching tale. I was especially moved by Javier Bardem's portrayal of hope amid such deep sadness.
drbcabarete More than 1 year ago
A well acted and directed piece but certainly not at the level of the book. More sensational and sexually depicted than needed but an interesting piece to view. The author's words , even in their translated form, are so much more than the movie could be that one should definitely read the book, before or after viewing the movie.
cait_girl More than 1 year ago
I love this movie!...those who dont understand, must watch the whole thing, not just one simple part. Its not a movie that you can only watch part of. Fermina was a fool to not marry him when she came back, but in the end they find the love that brought them together the first time. Love In the Time of Cholera is an unforgettable story of one mans love over the centuries, in which Cholera is rampant. You will cherish this movie for always and forever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This movie is based on the book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Therefore, the script is very good. It is the first movie I have ever bought in my life. That can tell I really liked it. It has lots of memorable quotations. It is a great movie. It makes you think about the meaning of love and its value.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was so confusing and just plain boring. I didn't really understand any of it. I normally would like romantic-type movies, but this one wasn't any good. To me, it had very little REAL romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago