Apocalypse Now

Apocalypse Now

Director: Francis Ford Coppola Cast: Marlon Brando, Robert Duvall, Martin Sheen

Blu-ray (Special Edition / Wide Screen)

$24.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
One of those movies that you should see. At least once anyway. I've heard a lot about this one over the years but never watched it. Finally saw it and it was dark, interesting, depressing but at the same time you want to know what happens at the end. The cinematography alone is really well done and sets the tone of the setting and movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I encourage anyone reading this to avoid all spoilers, all descriptions, all opinions of this film!!! You will NEVER have another opportunity to experience this atmosphere without bias, without knowing what to expect. If you need to know certain info before buying it, then don't buy it yet! Go rent it for free from your library, or rent it elsewhere. Robbing yourself of your opportunity to be shocked, disgusted, fascinated, intrigued, & amused will never be undone. Refuse & resist our modern culture's obsession with telling you how to feel, how to interpret, & what to think. Trust in those who made this film. Trust in yourself to take the ride. Read the reviews after you form your own opinion. Regarding purchasing this Box Set, it is the most all encompassing collection to date. At $20 it is a must. At $25 you must weigh your love for extra features. There are 3 discs filled with 7.5hrs of content in Blu Ray HD. If you don't care about any features but the film, you can find the bare bones version for $5 elsewhere. I bought this Box set on sale for $20 during the holidays. I recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This brilliant movie gets only better in Blu Ray
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite movies. It does a great job of showing the horrors and stupidity of war. You can see Laurence Fishburne as a 14 year old actor.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Francis Ford Coppola has constructed a masterpiece here that boasts great acting, a great script (even though Marlon Brando Famously, after paying $1000000 to play the part, said he wouldn't read the script)and a marvalous director. Apocalypse Now is probably the best war film to date and even though the set was about as hectic as you get this film, I think, was helped by that.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is by far one of my favorite movies of all time. I do suggest that you read the book it's based on before you watch it though. The first reviewer obviously didn't as he has the mind of a rich movie critic and believes that anything he thinks is "un-american" shouldn't be seen or heard. This movie is stunning and gripping and guaranteed to trip you out. Especially the circus scene. The book is a tough read. My fellow seniors at my highschool had to read it and take a test on it in order to pass. Its only 100+ pages and took months for my classmates to finish. I was done in 2 weeks. Read it before you watch the movie and comapre and contrast for yourself. It is one of the best films to date. Period.
Guest More than 1 year ago
the 2nd best war movie ever, i was in shock of how good this movie is, Martin Sheen is fascinating and Robert Duvall is hardcore. I extremely recommend this movie for whoever loves war movies
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This fantasy is simply two-plus hours of anti-American, anti-war nonsense. It is destructive because so many people take this ridiculous portrayal as an accurate depiction of the Vietnam war and American soldiers. There is absolutely no basis in fact or history for the main premise (an officer has gone insane and set himself up as a local god-like figure) or any of the characters or events portrayed. I realize it is not billed as a documentary -- but the movie does try to pass events as realistic and many believe it. Contrary to this movie, American soldiers did not randomly murder civilians, surf in combat zones, attack USO performers, operate without any command structure, or almost every other activity in this movie. Perhaps some will enjoy it as a nightmarish fantasy - but it's pure fiction and not in anyway relevant to understanding the Vietnam War of the 1960's and 70's.