Dogtripping: 25 Rescues, 11 Volunteers, and 3 RVs on Our Canine Cross-Country Adventure

Dogtripping: 25 Rescues, 11 Volunteers, and 3 RVs on Our Canine Cross-Country Adventure

by David Rosenfelt

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dogtripping: 25 Rescues, 11 Volunteers, and 3 RVs on Our Canine Cross-Country Adventure 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Jamie6 More than 1 year ago
David Rosenfelt's account of a cross country relocation of 25 dogs via RV is warm and entertaining. Rosenfelt often finds the humor in the situations he and his wife (and a few volunteers) encounter along the journey.
IzzyBIB More than 1 year ago
A truly touching story about a dog rescuer and his hilarious trip across the country to save a pack of dogs. A must read for animal lovers.
EG678 More than 1 year ago
This is a darn good book. It details David Rosenfelt's journey across the country with 25 dogs in an RV. What really works with this story is the humor that the author peppers the story with.
irishclaireKG More than 1 year ago
An Incredible Story of Incredible People. It is very hard to describe what lengths Rosenfelt and his wife have gone, and go to, in order to rescue thousands of dogs that, for the most part, have been cruelly thrown away. As a passionate animal lover, not only did I enjoy this dry and self-deprecating read, but I was thoroughly enchanted (and relieved) to know that not only do people like the Rosenfelts exist--but there are people out there who share my view of/love of animals and their place in the world: or should I say OUR place in THEIR world. The author and his band of volunteers sacrifice God only knows how much money, physical/personal comfort, and so much more to rescue and care for these creatures. This is the sort of read that helps restore my faith in (some of) humanity.
AprilGobbLR More than 1 year ago
A nicely done memoir that will tough the hearts of any dog lover. Great material presented in a well told fashion.
BeddySF More than 1 year ago
Very well written and covers all emotions! Even if you aren't a dog person you'll appreciate all aspects of the trip, from the planning stages to the trip itself. A great story and one of true human compassion and kindness. A must read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has so much humor and compassion in it. What a trip he had! If you love dogs this is a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved the book! Humorous, touching and very uplifting!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the book!!!!!!!!!!!! Could't put it down
Anonymous 6 months ago
This is definitely a book for dog lovers. It's a light, easy read with short chapters. I enjoyed it tremendously.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a fun and moving story. I'm not sure I could of handled the trip but smiling a lot would have helped. I love his dry sense of humor and DO think of him as a "real" man. ?
kayek1 More than 1 year ago
The name tells a lot about the book "Dogtripping, 25 rescues, 11 volunteers, and 3 RV's on Our Canine Cross-Country Adventure", and yes the trip and the planning that went into it was fascinating, funny, and well worth the read. But the background about the Tara Foundation, that David and his wife Debbie founded, which was named after their first Golden Retriever and was the reason behind becoming a rescue, was touching. The stories about the dogs was humorous, touching, and occasionally brought a tear to my eye. All in all, it was a great read, and I enjoyed every single page.
Jani8 More than 1 year ago
This book is not fiction, though the situation sounds like it should be. David Rosenfelt, the author of the Andy Carpenter series and his wife started rescuing dogs while they lived in Southern California. I think the largest group they had at one time was 39. Thirty-nine dogs! They took golden retrievers along with other larger dogs from shelters before they would have been euthanized. Some of them were then adopted by others, who were carefully screened to make sure the dog would be in a good home. The rest were theirs. They decided to move to Maine. To get there they used 3 RVs, 11 people and 25 dogs. It was mind boggling! In between the narrative of the move, he wrote short chapters on some of the dogs they have had over the years. I love his voice with all the self-deprecating humor and obvious love for the dogs. It was a very funny book with a lot of sweetness thrown in. Kudos to David Rosenfelt and his wife, Debbie Myers. You will enjoy going on the road with the “Woofabagos”!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A laugh a minute and a few tears. Must read for dog lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's impossible not to laugh-out-loud while reading this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first time I have been disappointed in on of Mr. Rosenfelt's books. Being in rescue myself, I have lived most of these stories personally. Given the name and the description of the book, I thought the book would actually be about the trip itself. We finally gave up after the first 100 pages or so. Not much trip, just individual rescue stories. I feel like I wasted my money. I still very much enjoy the Andy Carpenter stories so I hope he goes back to writing those.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved reading about all the rescues. This couple have truly given their lives including time, cleanliness and personal comfort for these sweet dogs. I wish there were a few more details about the actual journey, however.
Bookfool More than 1 year ago
I have read all of David Rosenfelt's books and liked them a lot. Especially "Heart of a Killer" and his Andy Carpenter series. Dogtripping was not what I expected. Most of the book was about dogs that he and his wife have rescued and not that much about his trek from California to Maine. I was disappointed in the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
scoda More than 1 year ago
As the owner of a Golden Retriever, I laughed out loud in places (mostly because of the shedding and hair problems). Rosenfelt is a great story teller with a big heart. I normally read only fiction but this was a must read for me. I enjoyed every mile!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entertaining, as David Rosenfelt always is!