Die in Plain Sight (Rarities Unlimited Series #3)

Die in Plain Sight (Rarities Unlimited Series #3)

by Elizabeth Lowell

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - First Avon Books Paperback Edition)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Die in Plain Sight (Rarities Unlimited Series #3) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lacey Quinn has painted all her life ¿ she grew up following in the footsteps of her talented grandfather who served as her mentor and inspiration. Upon his death, she inherits all the beautiful landscapes he had done along with paintings depicting gruesome scenes of murder. As striking and masterful works, David¿s paintings also create quite a stir when Lacey submits three of them to be appraised by renowned artist, Susa Donovan, while at a charity benefit auction.

Ian Lapstrake is taken by Lacey at their first meeting at her shop, Lost Treasures Found ¿ a combination antique store and second hand shop. When he sees Lacey at the benefit, he is even more intrigued when La Susa is certain they have been painted by another artist, causing Lacey to question whether her grandfather was really a forger. And why do these paintings cause the wealthy and influential Forrester family to sit up and take notice of a heretofore-unknown artist? Do they hold the key to three mysterious deaths from over 40 years ago?

Suddenly, Lacey and Ian find themselves barely escaping from the mysterious fire at her shop and soon after they are also investigating the theft of not only Susa¿s paintings she¿d done for the auction but also the theft of Lacey¿s grandfather¿s paintings. The attraction between Ian and Lacey is strong, hot and instantaneous. The romance starts early in the book and doesn¿t let up until the very last page. Ian is definitely alpha but he isn¿t domineering ¿ although he knows that Lacey is in danger, he and Lacey work together to find out the who¿s, what¿s and why¿s of these puzzling events.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
skywriter_types More than 1 year ago
Some of the other Rarities titles are too "fey" for me (way too much emphasis on the psychic or druidic, and not enough on the contemporary). This title is one of my favorite Lowell books. I've read lots of reviews of it that point out it's pretty predictable (name me a Lowell book that isn't for the main plot points?) Others have objected to the information about plein air painting. I found the way she weaves the painting process into the story interesting and convincing. It made me care about the characters and got me tangled into the plot. I live (a long time ago) in the area she describes - if you've never been to Southern California, she captures it so well I can almost smell the sea again. Recommended for those who enjoy R-rated romantic thrillers. Not only a Rarities title, it also crosses over into the Donovan series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm a big Lowell fan and she's done it again. sure it's very similar to the other books of hers, but that just makes it all the more interesting the see the lovey dovey side of someone who might of been portrayed differantly in the other books from the series. Besides Ian has the best lines ever!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book was great! it fits right in with the rest of the donovan family books. the romance was fun and entertaining, although the family saga in the book was a little confusing and could have used some clarification. otherwise a great read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome, the only problem with it was the ending died off to quickly. I wanted a little more 'after the fact' story that just wasn't there. BUT the book was definetly worth reading, I loved it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
She knows how to write a story that just keeps you turning the pages..then you wish it would not end!! Lacey and Ian were just wonderful and keep things going! And to hear about Rareties, was a gift!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fans wanted Ian Lapstrakes story... and here it is. Wonderful book, great suspence and as always a touching love story. You will even see a few Donovans from her earlier books pop up for a cameo. Can't wait for the next book from Elizabeth Lowell.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am getting disappointed with E.L. work. The basic plot was good, but she's giving up character development for fast moves--her work is going from what used to be a little racy to just plain crass; from edgy to sleazy. (If my boyfriend talked to me like that, I'd knee him.) I loved the Amber Beach series, but her stories are just getting tired.
Guest More than 1 year ago
don't get me wrong, it wasn't a bad book, it just wasn't quite up there with some of lowell's other work. I found some points of the mystery part of the book to be so obvious from a readers standpoint that it was annoying when the characters didn't automatically grasp what was happening. other things just seemed too coincidental and illogical. the romance part was okay but the rest seemed to drag.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The beginning was ok, but then the author just ran out of good ideas. The characters were two dimensional, the plot weak and improbable. Lowell needs to stop using the cookie-cutter format that allows her readers to correctly guess the ending after reading less than one third of the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You should read it and learn something you may or may not hear of it before about the paintings and history!
harstan More than 1 year ago
In California, renowned artist Susa Donavon will paint a canvas in front of an audience. Her work will be auctioned as part of raising money for the Friends of Moreno County. Additionally Susa will appraise any works brought in by patrons of the arts with the money raised also donated to the Friends of Moreno County.

Art buyer and artist Lacey Quinn brings in paintings done by her late grandfather in the 1920s for Susa to evaluate. Susa feels that the works owned by Lacey are from highly regarded plein air artist Lewis Marten. Though she doubts it, Lacey, already interested in the life of her relative, cannot resist researching the darker portrayals of murder, but soon finds evidence that the homicides occurred and that history repeats itself.

Insight into the California art scene adds a taste of reality to a suspense-laden tale. The heroine is a delight as she seeks her place feeling like the outsider in her family especially when compared to her two siblings. The murder mystery is thirty plus years old with frozen tundra trails yet Lacey relatively easily solves them, which takes credibility away from a well written fun story that readers will still value.

Harriet Klausner