The Defector (Gabriel Allon Series #9)

The Defector (Gabriel Allon Series #9)

by Daniel Silva

Paperback(Large Print)

$15.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Defector (Gabriel Allon Series #9) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 239 reviews.
joiseygoil More than 1 year ago
I'm in love with Gabriel and await each new book and am so thrilled that they are all so good. It's impossible to put this one down. I read it in one day and now want to kick myself because whatever I pick up can't be as good as this. He's worth the wait!
sjohnson13 More than 1 year ago
Successful series books depend usually on magnetic characters that pull you inexorably back, like a scent or flavor provoking a fond memory that has aged ever so gracefully. Gabriel Allon, the art restorer and preeminent Israeli secret agent is not that character, nor is any member of his entourage, but the vivid settings, the detailed plots, the covert mission planning details, and the action are more than enough to provide readers of this genre a compass point to which they can repeatedly navigate. This latest offering from Daniel Silva will thrill and captivate and will not disappoint. Followers of the series will fall right into a comfortable pace as Allon and his team enlist the help of Americans, Brits, and dissident Russians to bring a Russian bully and illegal arms dealer to a street-wise type of justice. New readers need not worry. Enough perspective is provided to make sense of the motivations and emotions that drive the action and the plot devices that set the stage. While this book easily stands on its own and will satisfy even the most hard-core action/adventure fan, enjoyment will be enhanced by reading its immediate predecessor, "Moscow Rules."
BOOKFAN14 More than 1 year ago
A year is too long to wait! Thank you for posting a sneak preview on your website! The first chapter is fabulous! Thank you for writing another Gabriel Allon book! How can I wait until July for the rest? For those of you who have never had the pleasure, I have posted a few links to some of Daniel Silva's books here. I read them over and over and you are in for a special treat. No one writes like this. Smart and entertaining. You will be up all night.
Tidbitsofscott More than 1 year ago
In Daniel Silva's latest thriller featuring art restorer/Israeli spy-assassin, Gabriel Allon, The Defector picks up where Moscow Rules left off (but be advised that while it would be beneficial, it is not critical that you read Moscow Rules first). Without going into detail, the plot involves Allon having to return to Moscow when he learns that the former Russian intelligence officer who saved his life in Moscow has vanished without a trace. In typical Silva fashion, The Defector's plot is one of slow-building but non-stop tension and suspense that will keep your eyes glued to its pages. Further, Silva provides new dimensions into his already multidimensional, interesting cast of characters, as well as some very thought-provoking insights into the New Russia. While some reviewers have criticized The Defector for being too formulaic, thus making it somewhat "same-old, same old," my opinion is that Silva's successful formula, which he's used now in most of his twelve books, is kept fresh and interesting through the topical events and settings on which his books are based -- and this certainly is the case with The Defector. As a matter of fact, Silva's ability to continue to successfully execute his winning formula is at the heart of what makes me consider him to the "gold standard" of thriller writers. For me, there has never been a risk involved in reading a Silva book, with the only unknown being whether the book will be very good or excellent; and The Defector is an excellent read.
Darth-Vader More than 1 year ago
Daniel Silva is our generation of John LeCarre much like Vince Flynn is Tom Clancy's successor. Everyone of Daniel Silva's Gabriel Allon series never fail to disappoint. Why Hollywood doesn't make a Gabriel Allon movie I don't know.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Silva has a unique ability to deeply intertwine his characters and events. Early on, he built strong foundations and in "The Defector", he continues to engage readers with Gabriel, Ari, Chiara, and other members of the Office. I would recommend reading "Moscow Rules" before reading this book, as it provides a good background and basis for what happens. All of Silva's books are engrossing mysteries that do not have 'cookie-cutter' plots that are dull and predictable. The vast amount of research he must do for each book is very evident and they leave you wanting to begin the next one as soon as possible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You can never go wrong with one Daniel Silva's Gabriel Allon novels. Thought provoking and emotional.
JCH96 More than 1 year ago
I love a book that keeps me flipping the pages. It's also so interesting to get the bits of history woven in.
JOHNNY-NY More than 1 year ago
DANIEL SILVER HAS BECOME MY FAVORITE WRITER THE PAST 3 YEARS.HIS WRITING STYLE DEALS WITH MUCH OF TODAYS PROPLEMS, AND ISSUES.TOGETHER WITH AN ALL-STAR CREW GABRIEL ONCE AGAIN IS FOUND IN THE MIDDLE OF A HUGE COVER-UP AND MUST FIND THE TRUTH IN SHORT TIME.THE DEFECTOR WILL KEEP YOU READING, AND WANTING ANSWERS. AS YOU TURN THE PAGES, THE MORE INVOLVED YOU BECOME.UNTIL THE END COMES, YOU TOO WILL BE A HUGE FAN OF DANIEL SILVA...
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous 8 months ago
another good one
PghDragonMan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Gabriel Allon and his team are back. Daniel Silva gives these characters a high tension drama to move in. As is usual with successful spy novels, the story borders on believability. Silva creates a believable fiction around some very possible scenarios: a Russian defector living in England, a Russian arms dealer megamillionaire and old friends in Allon¿s spook network. Just to ratchet the tension up a little more, the bad guys make a serious mistake in kidnapping Allon¿s wife.All the elements are in place for a rather mundane story of espionage, betrayal and revenge. Daniel Silva elevates these plot elements into a truly gripping novel with the right blend of violence and brains to create a spy novel, and a character, worthy of standing next to Ian Fleming¿s James Bond or John Le Carré¿s classics. While the plot is based on relatively current events, Allon and his people are old school spies: their brains and their actions get them out of tight spots, not high tech gadgetry.Highly suggested for fans of the classic spy novels mentioned above. If you are more of a high tech spy fan, this story may not do it for you, but action fans will be intrigued.
readafew on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Defector is the 9th book in the Gabriel Allon series. Gabriel and Chiara are recuperating at a villa in Italy, Gabriel is refinishing a painting for the Vatican. Both are laying low, off Ivan Kharkov¿s radar, whose family defected from Russia and from him who was helped by Gabriel and his team. Out of the blue Grigori Bulganov, another person who defected at the same time as Ivan¿s family, disappeared from Britain and it appeared he left on his own violation. Gabriel didn¿t buy it and decided to look into it and keep a promise he made.While Gabriel was looking into Grigori¿s disappearance and checking on other people who could be in on the hit list, when his wife Chiara is kidnapped. Gabriel knows who did it and why. The question he wants answered is can he get her back alive?This was my favorite Gabriel Allon book and it kept the action and suspense up there without getting overpowering. In this one Gabriel is a man with a mission and it is deeply personal. He has an enemy who is rich and powerful and knows he¿s coming. I relate this to a `man on fire¿ kind of book, someone has crossed the line and Gabriel plans on making them pay. Lots of action, lots of excitement and a great spy story on top of it all.
theportal2002 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another edge of your seat, heart pumping story. In this book Gabriel Allon ventures into Russia to pull off another exciting mission. This time it gets personal, very person, then the blood begins to flow. In this story Gabriel can't afford to hold back or let his conscience get in the way...I feel sorry for those who did...
LeaAnn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was the best Silva I've read in a while. I felt Moscow Rules fell a bit flat, but the Defector did not disappoint. Silva is never really one for serial novels, and for the most part you don't have to have read Moscow Rules to follow the Defector, but having read both makes the story here that much richer. Suspense throughout and this time an emotional connection to a very real danger. I don't want to give too much of the plot away, but I will say even though I suspected what was coming, it still kept me turning page after page in anticipation. I also liked how the Defector rewarded Silva's fans by reintroducing characters from earlier stories: Herr Becker from Death in Vienna for instance. It's a reminder of the journey the fan has taken with Gabriel Allon through the years.
bacreads on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have read all of the Gabriel Allon series and I think they are a good "beach" read. Suspense, subterfuge, and twists are always present. The downside is that there is a lot of violence and taking of life.
MSWallack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Silva's streak of excellent novels continues. Though I'd probably rank The Defector a touch below the last few novels, it was still excellent. I particularly liked the way that Silva handled his protagonist when he got angry. In addition, it dawned on my as I read this book that Silva has done a marvelous job of capturing the Israeli mindset; his characters "feel" Israeli.
skinglist on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite lines from the Defector. "The bodyguard had not been able to hear what had just transpired but he was certain of one thing. The Old Man was still the one in charge. And he had just put the fear of God in Sergei Korovin". Shamron will always be in charge. My heart broke for Chiara and Gabriel in this one. It was one of my favorite Gabriel Allon books but at the same time it's also the one that nearly made me quit the series on the spot. While I knew RA was out and truly do not think that Gabriel would go on without Chiara, at the moment she was taken I had to go look up a description for Rembrandt Affair to be sure Chiara had survived. If she hadn't? I don't think I'd have finished the book. I think her being taken hit me harder than Shamron's injury a few books back. She, maybe even more than Gabriel is the reason I keep reading. I like how Silva used her to tie together gabriel's past and future: visiting Leah, Lior & Mottti being buried by Daniel on the Mt. of Olives... I worry for Ari even more than ever now. He was physically hurt in the car bombing some books ago but he was emotionally destroyed by his "children" being in danger. He's strong and he is Israel, but he cannot go on forever. I fear that his or Chiara's death will be the end of gabriel. I like that Gillah took care of Chiara while Allon was taking care of business in Europe. I don't think for a moment that Chiara or Gabriel are done with the Office but I'm glad Ari didn't hold Gabriel to his promise. Only Ari can fire him. But this isn't the end. Not just because there are two books left. Not sure why I'd stopped reading this series but I'm glad to be "home", heartbreak and all.--(after reading other reviews)I'm really not feeling the predictability. Maybe because I've been away so long. I was far more burned out on Patterson where Alex seems to get himself in the same mess say in and day out. To me this is different. Taking Chiara? I think that will shape Gabriel for a long time to come. At the same time? They're still office. They know these risks.
kd9 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Although this book is really the second half of the previous Gabriel Allon book, Moscow Rules, there is enough background material inserted that most people should be able to follow the twists and turns of this spy thriller. However, I strongly recommend going back to the very first book in this series and read them all the way through. Only then can you really understand the politics and the personal sacrifices that each character has made in order to safeguard the state of Israel, the Israeli secret service and the men and women who serve. Here Gabriel Allon, once a promising painter and now a art restorer, is drawn back into his career as an Israel spy by the kidnapping of a Russian spy, Grigori Bulganov, who Gabriel had smuggled out of Russian along with the wife and children of Russia's largest and most ruthless arms dealer, Ivan Kharkov. England is convinced that Grigori has redefected (and was always a double agent), but Gabriel and Olga, an ex-Russian journalist escaped to England, know that would never be the case. Instead Grigori was lured into a trap by the arms dealer using Grigori's wife as hostage. But more dangerously, Ivan has kidnapped Gabriel's wife, Chiara, in exchange for the return of Ivan's children.Yes, there is bloodshed and feats of courage, but equally importantly is the picture of the politics of Russia and Western Europe and Israel. A world made much more unstable by the collapse of the global economy.I always appreciate the books that illuminate parts of the world that I have not visited and explain points of view that I may have not considered, especially when well written and suspenseful.
Talbin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Defector, the ninth book in Daniel Silva's series about Israeli spy Gabriel Allon, continues where his last book, Moscow Rules left off. In the previous book, Allon had confronted Ivan Kharkov, Russian arms dealer, and in the process Allon helped Grigori Bulgarov, Olga Sukhov and Kharkov's wife, Elena, defect to the West. As The Defector begins, Bulgarov disappears from London. The London authorities think he has re-defected back to Russia, but Allon knows differently. He begins looking into the case, finds evidence that shows that Bulgarov's disappearance was not voluntary, and goes on the hunt for him. As things progress, an Israeli colleague is kidnapped, and Allon must work with the English and Americans to bring down Kharkov and rescue the people who have been kidnapped.This was a fast read, quite plot driven. I still consider Silva to be one of the best writer/stylists of the best-selling book crowd. As his books have progressed, he has played with voice and style, and he continues with a bit of that here with the narrative voice. Because I find it hard to read a book that may have an interesting story but is poorly written (think The Da Vinci Code), I appreciate Silva's novels as a good way to escape reality without annoying the heck out of me.However, I would say that The Defector is not Silva's best book. In most of the series, each book allows the reader to find out more about Gabriel Allon. However, in this latest installment, Allon seems flat, without nuance. Earlier books have a fascinating combination of intelligent puzzle-solving (often involving Allon's work as an art restorer) and adrenaline-spiked action. Unfortunate for The Defector, is almost all about the action and very little of the spy craft.So, overall, a solid enough book as far as these types of books go, but certainly not one of Silva's best.
joanj on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good series - fast-paced intelligent spy novel - sequel to Moscow Rules
Lillian3 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I guess it all depends on what you are reading for. Lots of action, killing, predictable sequence of events here. This is the 9th book in the series, and I agree with those who say these are getting "Pattersonesque". Chiara, Venice, and Allon's art restoration have gotten short shrift in the last two books. I still like the idea of the Gabriel Allon ... but he is turning into a generic character.
repb on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Silva is one of favorite authors but I am getting weary of his Gabriel Allon series and hope this will be the last one. A good read if Silva is a new author to you, but to a fan like myself, they are getting very repetitive. He needs a new angle altogether!
terk71 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This novel will pass as an ordinary spy thriller, following the adventures of a vengeful protagonist as he pursues targets throughout the world, unless the reader decodes the contents to understand the knavery and symbolism afoot within. Daniel Silva¿s book is a masterful construction and an allegorical writing.The story begins with the sudden disappearance of Grigori Bulganov, a chess-playing Russian defector living in England. The format of the book indicates Silva¿s game play within. The 77 chapters are loosely divided within five segments, the first indicating ¿Opening Moves¿¿the opening gambit for Silva¿s chess match. This strategy suggests that the entire work will conclude within ¿The Reckoning¿ section: the moves toward the endgame of this match. The middlegame is pursued through ¿Anatoly,¿ ¿All Even,¿ and ¿Resurrection Gate,¿ which are the competition wherein pawns (numerous lackeys), knights (Vladimir Chernov), bishops (Anton Petrov) are surrendered and finally dispatched. Meanwhile, the protagonist Gabriel ventures through zugzwang¿a forced move¿of his wife¿s kidnapping that compels him to rescue her, which he does only to be trapped in a zwischenzug¿a counter move¿forcing the endgame wherein the king (Ivan Kharkov) will be capitulated.Silva¿s symbolisms begin with Bulganov¿s first name: Grigori. In Biblical lore the Grigori are the watchers or holy ones of the fallen angels (Kharkov¿s henchmen). Silva¿s opening ploy in the struggle of good and evil is embellished through the names of the characters involved in this global contest. Parsing their names enriches their allegorical functions within this story.Ari (¿Lion of God¿) Shamron is introduced as the Memuneh (A deputy angel and dispenser of dreams, through whom the Universe operates) of the Israeli intelligence unit operating on King Saul Boulevard in Tel Aviv, familiarly termed ¿The Office.¿ Shamron¿s White game pieces include:Gabriel (God¿s Archangel Messenger to humans) Allon (¿Oak Tree¿ and perhaps a reference to the son of Jedaiah who expelled the Hamites from Gedor)¿the protagonist operative and son of Shamron. Gabriel is said to stand on God¿s left hand, which is the sinister position that is significant to the undercover, wet jobs that earthly Gabriel alone accomplishes.Uzi (Israeli submachine gun innovated by Uziel Gal in the 1948 Arab-Israeli War) Navot (Shlomo Navot was an Israeli ace pilot during the same conflict)¿Shamron¿s other son who is the Office¿s impulsive muscle.Mikhael (Michael, Archangel in command of God¿s Army) Abramov (¿Son of Abraham¿)¿Gabriel¿s chief aide in many Israeli-sanctioned, clandestine operations.The Black opponents or the dark side is led by kingpin Ivan (Ivan the Terrible, Russia¿s destructive tsar) Kharkov (Ukrainian city that was devastated through German-Soviet hostilities between 1941 and 1943) has enriched and empowered his castle by plundering the resources and wealth of the toppled Soviet Union. He employs malignant minions that include:Vladimir (Vlad the Impaler) Chernov (Slovak meaning Black)¿Kharkov¿s hired gun and chief assassin who shamelessly rids Kharkov¿s opposition.Anton (Anthony as in Julius Caesar¿s Mark Anthony) Petrov (Peter, also Petrov¿s Defense is a duplicitous chess strategy)¿the middleman handling Kharkov¿s directives and Chernov¿s money who becomes Kharkov¿s turncoat.One entity that seems to be missing is Raphael (Archangel of healing), although this might be inferred tangentially with Gabriel¿s attempts at refurbishing Vatican paintings or perhaps it could allude to Gilah Shamron¿s therapeutic ministrations to Gabriel¿s wife. There are other lesser name associations at play in this novel. Gabriel¿s first wife Leah (¿Delicate,¿ ¿soft¿) is mental
khiemstra631 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Daniel Silva, please, do not send Gabriel Allon to Russia in any forthcoming books. I do not believe my nerves could stand another of these trips. This book will make the hairs on your body stand on end while you read it. Silva is a master of suspense who just keeps getting better with each book. I do not think there is a weak title in the series. This is a book not to be missed and one that will not do all that much to encourage tourism to Russia.