Death Dance (Alexandra Cooper Series #8)

Death Dance (Alexandra Cooper Series #8)

by Linda Fairstein

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Death Dance (Alexandra Cooper Series #8) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up purely on the fact that the mystery took place at the Metropolitan Opera House where I once worked as a stagehand. I wanted to see for myself how factual and exact Mrs. Cooper had portrayed the backstage and I am happy to say she was right on!!! I am sad to say that story was bland and slightly exagerated. I was left with questions and fighting to stay awake as I struggle to turn the pages. If you're looking to pass some time away between old releases and new releases then I recommend grabbing a copy for yourself or you can watch American Idol to see whose been voted off!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great plot but unfortunately page after page of the Met history & ballets make it very dull and boring to those of us not in the New York art scene.
edwardsgt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An Alexandra Cooper, head of the sex crimes unit in NY, novel. This time set at the Met Opera.
jepeters333 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Asst DA Alexandra Cooper has always been fascinated by the stage, especially the Metropolitan Opera. When a world-renowned Russian Ballerina is murdered at the Met shortly after her performance, Cooper quickly launches into an investigation, eager to go deep behind the scenes. But she soon discovers that the clues - and the suspects - are as complex as the corridors that zigzag throughout the great opera house.
debnance on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
How can I fairly judge Death Dance? Though I once read only books, it is rare now that I read a mystery. Last year, out of the 158 books that I read, only two were mysteries.So what would make me, a rare mystery reader, pick up this book? The same things that would make me pick up any book. I look for characters that interest me and a story that is compelling. The blurb on the back offers up the story in a way that appeals to me; I was intrigued by the idea of dancers. That's enough for me to pick up the book, but it's not enough to keep me reading. To keep me in the book, the author has to surprise me. Death Dance did not surprise me. I forced myself to read through the book, but it felt more like assigned reading than pleasure.
skinglist on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A decent Alex Cooper mystery, but they're all getting samey. Only question is how Alex is going to get herself into trouble and who's getting her out of it. Interesting twists this book: Mike's recovery and Dan Bolin, unfortunately the latter disappeared as quickly as he was mentioned.I liked that this was partially set at the Met, I know City Center and am curious as to whether any of this is true. I think that's what the best about Linda Fairstein's stories, the "other" New York.
briony on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy Linda Fairsteins books, and this was no exception.
Bookmarque on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Why was Alex part of this investigation? There was no sex crime involved with the death of Galinova. The DA just assigned her to it because she asked, which seems really dumb since she probably had a lot of other work she could have done. I didn¿t buy the fact that she was necessary.And I didn¿t really care about the dead woman. No effort was made to help me to do so, either. She was written as shrill, manipulative and uncaring woman past her prime, still grasping at some sort of fame. I think I would have killed her, too. In the end, it was Mona and Mona¿s boyfriend who killed her, but I can¿t remember why. Probably money.I did enjoy the subplot revolving around the doctor who drugs women so he can rape them while they are unconscious. He was a guy worth writing about and I felt sympathy for the victims of that case. But it was just a subplot and not given much ink.The friendship between Alex and her investigators is fun to read about and almost seems like it could be real. Almost. The smooth way they fit their lives together and the non-sexual banter is really false. They¿re always finding some swanky restaurant to eat in, or a bar just in time to hear Final Jeopardy or flitting off to Alex¿s house on the Vinyard. It seems a little too slick, but comforting somehow. Even a fictional perfect world is that, I guess.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All the books in the Alexandra Cooper series by Linda Fairstein are really good, and this book is no exception. Cooper gets into seemingly very dangerous situations and always survives. She is a very strong and likeable protagonist plus the reader gleans a lot of knowledge about New York City. I would highly recommend this series to everyone who enjoys reading entertaining, page-turning suspense, and highly intelligent characters. The detective named Mike also adds humor to this series so it is also funny at times. Overall, all these books are great reads no matter what one likes to read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Predictable at times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fairstein is great. Very entertaining and educating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cynbel More than 1 year ago
First time I read a book by this author. Sorry, never again. I love mystery/ thrillers. This was just a bore. Struggled to finish it. Nothing likable about characters and the plot just wasn't there. Nothing happened until the end and the ending was a disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm the type of reader that enjoys a good series. The characters in theses series are so touching and so heartwarming. I love every book in the series and am always checking to see when a new one is out, so that I can add it to my collection and spend a day full of none stop page turning excitement!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I confess what I enjoyed most about this mystery were the loving and well-researched descriptions of the Met and the City Center, where much of the action takes place. I didn't find any of the characters particularly likable, for some reason, but the story line is strong, if somewhat flawed by the silly cliffhanger ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The best investigative trio of Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace, both NYPD and Alex Cooper, Assistant DA, begin this story with the rape of two Canadian women who are attending a conference in New York. They had been drugged and raped while under the influence of the drug. Then they trio gets a call from the Lincoln Center¿s Metropolitan Opera House. A famous ballet dance has gone missing. Between trying to get the rapist for his crime and realizing how HUGE the Opera House really is, Alex and company have a big job ahead of them. First, they collect evidence from the rapist¿s home which shows the drug that was used. While waiting to get the rapist back from Turkey where he fled, they find the body of the dance. Now the question is who wanted her dead and why. Was it her husband who is miles away? Was it her agent or her sponsor? Any, of course, there is always the question of WHY. Linda Fairstein actually was a chief prosecutor in the Manhattan DA¿s office, Sex Crimes Unit, so she has first-hand knowledge of what she writes about. A story is always so much better when you can actually draw from real-life experiences and it shows in her writing. This is a great book, well written and one you shouldn¿t miss. The reader, Blair Brown, is clear but doesn¿t use ¿different voices¿ for each character. This makes it a bit hard to follow but you are still able to figure out who is who if you listen carefully.