Death by Meeting: A Leadership Fable...about Solving the Most Painful Problem in Business

Death by Meeting: A Leadership Fable...about Solving the Most Painful Problem in Business

by Patrick M. Lencioni

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.53 $24.95 Save 46% Current price is $13.53, Original price is $24.95. You Save 46%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Death by Meeting: A Leadership Fable About Solving the Most Painful Problem in Business 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
OPsteve More than 1 year ago
What makes a meeting bad? Through the first half of Death by Meeting the reader will most certainly figure this out on his own and yet Lencioni will take another thirty pages to explain it to him. The character named Will is the most interesting part of the entire novel. His genuine concern for the company allows the reader to connect with him, while his ingenuity in problem solving awes the reader. He rarely disappoints in his quest to save Casey's business; however, the consulting of his "business guru" mother weakens the character and wonders the reader into asking "why?" While this book was not exactly a page turner, it was extremely helpful in providing an example to follow and build upon. He is correct in his assertion that a meeting must be dramatic and structured. However, this is true for most organized events such as a class. When a teacher just lectures the entire class and does not allow for input or opposing views then a student might as well just read the book and skip class. Lencioni took about 250 pages to relay this message. If you have not figured this out on your own yet, then Death by Meeting is perfect for you. If you have, then I recommend a more compelling book, possibly on how not to waste your money on pointless prose.
brandonu More than 1 year ago
Though the book could have just been the last few chapters, it very interesting and exciting story made it a fun and quick read. The author added a fictional story to explain why each idea this book is important and how each meeting idea works in a real life sitution. It really hit a number of angles both for the skeptics and easily persuaded. Anyone has sat through a painful meeting would benefit from this book and even more if a copy of left for meeting leaders.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Continuing the current hot trend of couching business counsel in fables, author Patrick Lencioni takes on the ogre of the deadly dull meeting and through story and advice, wrestles it to the ground. The book is in large part about boring meetings and the author manages to reproduce their tone exactly. The protagonists are the boss, Casey, and an employee named Will who eventually loses his temper in the face of one more stifling, useless meeting. The author plants lessons about meetings throughout the story, revealed by the characters' experiences. However, after the fable comes an undiluted section of advice: about 40 pages of straightforward, expository prose about how to have more effective, engaging meetings. If you want useful workday advice and prefer to save fairytales ¿ even those with built-in lessons ¿ for bedtime, start there. We welcome this solid guidance on how to make meetings work better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lencioni's best yet. This work of business fiction provides an easily read lesson on how to deal with time wasting meetings. Organizations that learn from this story will immediately become more productive. Every organizational leader should read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this author and book - referred to me by a co-worker - to be a totally worthwhile read. Fun to read - in a business book?! - but more importantly really helpful to me as a manager. I have since bought it for others in my group.
Guest More than 1 year ago
All of Pat's books have been a pleasure to read. However Death By Meeting had a significant impacton my organization within 24 hours. Pat lays out a easy way to make all those dreaded meetings fun and productive...quickly. We have ordered over 20 books to date and have been giving them out like candy to our staff and our customers.
Anonymous 8 months ago
Great
lorin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bad meetings can be brutal. Lencioni has some ideas on how to make them better.
gkwells on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great Book - really fresh concepts on how to bring your meeting alive and create an atmosphere people are anxious to come to - in fact one they don't want to miss. Mr. Lencioni has some very fresh ideas on an oft ignored topic that plagues us all almost everday...
bsanner on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A masterly crafted story, Death by Meeting challenges leaders to make meetings matter ¿ to release the drama, tension, and debate that are innate in most workplace discussions, and yet subdued by pretense, office politics, and lack of unifying purpose. Lencioni calls teams to commit to the dramatization and contextualization of meetings. First, let discussion stir passion. Mine for conflict. Embrace disagreement. Secondly, one must understand the division of labor among meetings. Lencioni highlights four unique types of meetings: the daily check-in, the weekly tactical, the monthly strategic, and the quarterly off-site. Each meeting is focused, purposeful, and deliberate. Lencioni is clear and compelling. A
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This strategy for meetings has the potential to revolutionize your organization. It's so simple anyone can understand and implement it. The story format makes it particularly easy to envision how it might look where you're at.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I fell asleep during the first parts of this book that I had to skip to the end.  I tried my hardest not to.  I tried to follow along to get the 'point' but he took way too long to get to the point. This book was not for me.  It didn't give practical detailed suggestions that I was looking for.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This brings out all the items team members think but dont say. Easy read, good easy aways to make simple change.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago